## Preface

This year's International Workshop on Networked Group Communications (NGC) was the third event in the NGC series following successful workshops in Pisa, Italy (1999), and Stanford, CA, USA (2000).

For the technical program this year, we received 40 submissions from both academia and industrial institutions all around the world. For each paper, we gathered at least three (and sometimes as many as five) reviews. After a thorough PC meeting that was held in London, 14 papers were selected for presentation and publication in the workshop proceedings. The program continues the themes of previous years, ranging from applications, through security, down to group management, topological considerations, and performance.

The program committee worked hard to make sure that the papers were not only thoroughly reviewed, but also that the final versions were as up to date and as accurate as could be managed in the usual circumstances.

This year, the workshop was held in the London Zoo, hosted by University College London (the tutorials having been held at UCL the day before the start of the paper sessions). The proceedings are published by Springer-Verlag in the LNCS series.

There are signs that the scope of the NGC workshops is broadening to include hot topics such as group communication and content networking. We expect to see more submissions in these areas, as well as other new topics, for NGC 2002, which is to be held at the University of Massachusetts at Amhurst, chaired by Brian Levine and Mostafa Ammar.

We hope that the research community will find these proceedings interesting and helpful and that NGC will continue to be an active forum for research on networked group communication and related areas for years to come.

November 2001

Jon Crowcroft and Markus Hofmann

#### Workshop Co-chairs

Jon Crowcroft	University of Cambridge
Markus Hofmann	Bell Labs

#### **Program Committee**

Kevin Almeroth Mostafa Ammar Supratik Bhattacharyya Saleem Bhatti Ernst Biersack Kenneth Birman **Bob Briscoe** Dah Ming Chiu Jon Crowcroft Walid Dabbous Christophe Diot Jordi Domingo-Pascual Wolfgang Effelsberg Serge Fdida JJ Garcia-Luna Mark Handley Markus Hofmann Hugh Holbrook David Hutchison Roger Kermode Peter Kev Isidor Kouvelas Guy Leduc Helmut Leopold Brian Levine Jorg Liebeherr Laurent Mathy Huw Oliver Colin Perkins Radia Perlman Luigi Rizzo Clav Shields Ralf Steinmetz Burkhard Stiller Don Towsley Lorenzo Vicisano Brian Whetten Hui Zhang

UC Santa Barbara Georgia Institute of Technology Sprint ATL University College London Institut Eurécom Cornell University BT Sun Microsystems University of Cambridge INRIA Sprint ATL Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya University of Mannheim LIP6 UC Santa Cruz ACIRI Bell Labs Stanford/Cisco Systems Lancaster University Motorola Microsoft Research Cisco Systems Université de Liège Telekom Austria University of Massachusetts University of Virginia Lancaster University Hewlett Packard USC/ISI Sun Microsystems Università di Pisa Purdue University TU Darmstadt ETH Zurich University of Massachusetts Cisco Systems Talarian Carnegie Mellon University

## Local Arrangements Chair

Saleem Bhatti

University College London

### Local Organization

Jon Crowcroft Saleem Bhatti Tristan Henderson University of Cambridge University College London University College London

# Supporting/Sponsoring Societies

COST 264 ACM SIGCOMM

# Supporting/Sponsoring Companies

