Preface

The Seventh Australasian Conference in Information Security and Privacy (ACISP) was held in Melbourne, 3–5 July, 2002. The conference was sponsored by Deakin University and iCORE, Alberta, Canada and the *Australian Computer Society*.

The aims of the annual ACISP conferences have been to bring together people working in different areas of computer, communication, and information security from universities, industry, and government institutions. The conferences give the participants the opportunity to discuss the latest developments in the rapidly growing area of information security and privacy.

The reviewing process took six weeks and we heartily thank all the members of the program committee and the external referees for the many hours of valuable time given to the conference.

The program committee accepted 36 papers from the 94 submitted. From those papers accepted 10 papers were from Australia, 5 each from Korea and USA, 4 each from Singapore and Germany, 2 from Japan, and 1 each from The Netherlands, UK, Spain, Bulgaria, and India. The authors of every paper, whether accepted or not, made a valued contribution to the conference.

In addition to the contributed papers, we were delighted to have presentations from the Victorian Privacy Commissioner, Paul Chadwick, and eminent researchers Professor Hugh Williams, Calgary, Canada, Professor Bimal Roy, ISI, Kolkota, India (whose invited talk was formally referred and accepted by the program committee), and Dr Hank Wolfe from Otago, New Zealand.

In addition we would like to thank Beom Sik Song, Willy Susilo, and especially Ken Finlayson for the vast work they put into getting this volume together in the time available.

July 2002

Lynn Batten Jennifer Seberry

ACISP 2002

July 3-5, 2002, Melbourne, Australia

General Chair

Lynn Batten, Deakin University, Australia

Program Co-chairs

Lynn Batten, Deakin University, Australia Jennifer Seberry, University of Wollongong, Australia

Program Committee

Colin Boyd Queensland University of Technology, Australia Mike Burmester Florida State University, USA Queensland University of Technology, Australia Ed Dawson University of Science & Technology, Hong Kong Cunsheng Ding Paul England Microsoft, USA Dieter Gollman Microsoft, United Kingdom Thomas Hardjono VeriSign, USA Kathy Horadam RMIT, Australia Kwangjo Kim ICU, South Korea Lars Knudsen Technical University of Denmark, Denmark Royal Holloway, United Kingdom Keith Martin Atsuko Miyaji JAIST, Japan Sangjae Moon Kyungpook National University, South Korea Macquarie University, Australia Yi Mu Eiji Okamoto Toho University, Japan Josef Pieprzyk Macquarie University, Australia Greg Rose QUALCOMM, Australia Rei Safavi-Naini University of Wollongong, Australia Qing Sihan Academy of Science, China Adacel, Australia John Snare Vijay Varadharajan Macquarie University, Australia University of Calgary, Canada **Hugh Williams** University of North Carolina, USA Yuliang Zheng

External reviewers

Joonsang Baek, Monash University, Australia

Asha Baliga, RMIT University, Australia

Niklas Borselius, Royal Holloway, United Kingdom

Serdar Boztas, RMIT University, Australia

Laurence Bull, Monash University, Australia

Bernard Colbert, Telstra Research Laboratories, Australia

Robert Coulter, Deakin University, Australia

Ken Finlayson, Wollongong University, Australia

Goichiro Hanaoka, University of Tokyo, Japan

Marie Henderson, RMIT University, Australia

Matt Henricksen, QUT, Australia

Yvonne Hithchenson, QUT, Australia

Hartono Kurino, Wollongong University, Australia

Hiroaki Kikuchi, Japan

Jun Kogre, Fujitsu, Japan

Tanja Lange, Ruhr University, Germany

Bill Millan, QUT, Australia

Kenji Ohkuma, Toshiba, Japan

Marcus Peinado, Microsoft, USA

Ian Piper, Wollongong University, Australia

Chengxi Qu, University of New England, Australia

Matt Robshaw, Royal Holloway, United Kingdom

Nickolas Sheppard, Wollongong University, Australia

Igor Shparlinski, Macquarie University, Australia

Leonie Simpson, QUT, Australia

Masakazu Soshi, JAIST, Japan

Ron Steinfeld, Monash University, Australia

Karolyn Sprinks, Wollongong University, Australia

Willy Susilo, Wollongong University, Australia

Mitsuru Tada, Chiba University, Japan

Kapali Viswanthan, QUT, Australia

Yejing Wang, Wollongong University, Australia

Huaxiong Wang, Macquarie University, Australia

Tianbing Xia, Wollongong University, Australia

Masato Yamamichi, Japan

Jin Yuan, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Fangguo Zhang, ICU, Korea

Xianmo Zhang, Macquarie University, Australia