Preface

This volume is the eighth in the Intelligent Agents series associated with the ATAL workshops. These workshops on "Agent Theories, Architectures, and Languages" have established themselves as a tradition, and play the role of small but internationally well-known conferences on the subject, where besides theory per se also integration of theory and practice is in focus. Specifically, ATAL addresses issues of theories of agency, software architectures for intelligent agents, methodologies and programming languages for realizing agents, and software tools for applying and evaluating agent-based systems.

ATAL 2001 featured two special tracks in which both the more theoretical / formal and the more practical aspects were present, viz. "Formal Theories of Negotiation", organized by Frank Dignum, and "Agents for Hand-Held, Mobile, or Embedded Devices", organized by Tim Finin. There was also an extra session on RoboCup Rescue, organized and presented by Satoshi Tadokoro and Ranjit Nair.

ATAL 2001 attracted 68 papers from over 20 countries all over the world, of which 30 were selected for presentation at the workshop and publication in this volume. We invited two outstanding speakers: Fausto Giunchiglia (Trento, Italy) and Tom Dean (Brown, USA). The following authors / papers were given an award, sponsored by Springer:

- BEST PAPER: Sadri, Toni, and Torroni, Dialogues for negotiation: agent varieties and dialogue sequences
- BEST STUDENT PAPER: Felix Brandt (paper written jointly with Gerhard Weiss): Antisocial agents and Vickrey auctions

Finally, we would like to take this opportunity to thank all the persons involved in the realization of the workshop and this book: authors, invited speakers, PC members, additional reviewers, the associate chair, special track organizers, steering committee, the audience of the ATAL 2001 workshop, the people from Springer-Verlag, and last but not least our sponsors Springer-Verlag and the ESPRIT AgentLink2 Network of Excellence.

April 2002

John-Jules Meyer Milind Tambe

Workshop Organization

Organizing committee

John-Jules Meyer (Co-chair) Utrecht University, The Netherlands Milind Tambe (Co-chair) University of Southern California, USA David Pynadath (Associate chair) University of Southern California, USA

Special track organisers

"Formal Theories of Negotiation":

Frank Dignum Utrecht University, The Netherlands

"Agents for Hand-Held, Mobile, or Embedded Devices":

Tim Finin University of Maryland Baltimore County, USA

Steering committee

Nick Jennings Southampton, UK Yves Lesperance York, Canada

John-Jules Meyer Utrecht, The Netherlands

Joerg Mueller Siemens, Germany

Munindar Singh North Carolina State, USA

Milind Tambe USC-ISI, USA Michael Wooldridge Liverpool, UK

Program chair

John-Jules Meyer Utrecht University, The Netherlands Milind Tambe University of Southern California, USA

Program committee

see listing on next page

Additional reviewers

Sasikanth Avancha, Jim Blythe, Harry Chen, R. Scott Cost, Esther David, Luke Hunsberger, Lalana Kagal, Vlad Korolev, Cheryl Martin, Foster McGeary, Maria Miceli, Jill Nickerson, Charlie Ortiz, Fatma Ozcan, Marek Sergot, Steven Shapiro, S. A. Terwijn, Maksim Tsvetovat, Leon van der Torre

Program committee

Chitta Baral Arizona State Univ., USA
Suzanne Barber Univ. of Texas at Austin, USA
Michael Beetz Univ. of Bonn, Germany

Cristiano Castelfranchi CNR, Rome, Italy Lawrence Cavedon RMIT, Australia

Phil Cohen Oregon Graduate Inst., USA

Rosaria Conte IP-CNR, Italy
Giuseppe De Giacomo Univ. of Rome, Italy
Keith Decker Univ. of Delaware, USA

Frank Dignum

Mark d'Inverno

Alexis Drogoul

Ed Durfee

Jacques Ferber

Tim Finin

Utrecht Univ., The Netherlands

Univ. of Westminster, UK

Univ. of Paris VI, France

Univ. of Michigan, USA

Univ. of Montpellier II, France

Univ. of Maryland Baltimore County

Klaus Fischer DFKI, Germany
Michael Fisher Univ. of Liverpool, UK
Stan Franklin Univ. of Memphis, USA

Fausto Giunchiglia Univ. of Trento, Italy

Piotr Gmytrasiewicz Univ. of Texas at Arlington, USA

Barbara Grosz Harvard Univ., USA

Henry Hexmoor

Wiebe van der Hoek

Marc Huber

Univ. of North Dakota, USA

Utrecht Univ., The Netherlands

Intelligent Reasoning Systems, USA

Nick Jennings Univ. of Southampton, UK
Anupam Joshi Univ. of Maryland, USA
Hirofumi Katsuno Tokyo Denki Univ., Japan
David Kinny Univ. of Melbourne, Australia

Sarit Kraus Bar-Ilan Univ., Israel

Ora Lassila Nokia Research Center, Boston, USA

Yves Lesperance York Univ., Toronto, Canada Alessio Lomuscio Imperial College, London, UK Michael Luck Univ. of Southampton, UK

John-Jules Meyer Utrecht Univ., The Netherlands (co-chair)

Joerg Mueller Siemens, Germany Hideyuki Nakashima AIST, Japan

Simon Parsons Univ. of Liverpool, UK

David Pynadath USC-ISI, USA

Anand Rao Mitchell Madison Group, UK

Luciano Serafini Univ. of Trento, Italy
Onn Shehory IBM Haifa Res. Labs, Israel

Carles Sierra CSIC, Spain

Munindar Singh North Carolina State Univ., USA Liz Sonenberg Univ. of Melbourne, Australia

VIII Organization

Peter Stone ATT Labs, USA

Katia Sycara Carnegie Mellon Univ., USA Milind Tambe USC-ISI, USA (co-chair)

Jan Treur Free Univ. Amsterdam, The Netherlands Tom Wagner Univ. of Massachusetts at Amherst, USA

Wayne Wobcke Univ. of Melbourne, Australia

Mike Wooldridge Univ. of Liverpool, UK

Peter Wurman North Carolina State Univ., USA

Makoto Yokoo NTT Labs, Japan

Eric Yu Univ. of Toronto, Canada