Preface

The Third International Conference on E-commerce and Web Technology (EC-Web 2002) was held in conjunction with the DEXA 02 in Aix-en-Provence, France. This conference, first held in Greenwich, United Kingdom in 2000, is now in its third year and is very well established. As in the two previous years, it served as a forum bringing together researchers from academia and commercial developers from industry to discuss the current state of the art in E-commerce and web technology. Inspirations and new ideas emerged from intensive discussions during formal sessions and social events.

Keynote addresses, research presentations, and discussions during the conference helped to further develop the exchange of ideas among the researchers, developers, and practitioners who attended.

The conference attracted more than 100 submissions and each paper was reviewed by at least three program committee members. The program committee selected 40 papers for presentation and publication, a task which was not easy due to the high quality of the submitted papers.

We would like to express our thanks to our colleagues who helped to put together the technical program: the program committee members and external reviewers for their timely and rigorous reviews of the papers, and the organizing committee for their help in the administrative work and support. We owe special thanks to Gabriela Wagner and Maria Schweikert for always being available when their helping hand was needed.

Finally, we would like to thank all the authors who submitted papers, authors who presented papers, and the participants who together made this conference an intellectually stimulating event through their active contributions.

We had a successful conference and hope that you enjoyed the hospitality of Aix-en-Provence.

September 2002

A Min Tjoa (TU Wien, Austria) Gerald Quirchmayr (Universität Wien, Austria and University of South Australia)

Program Committee

General Chair

Kurt Bauknecht, University of Zurich, Switzerland

Program Chairs

Gerald Quirchmayr, University of South Australia A Min Tjoa, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Program Committee

Karl Aberer, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland Antonio Badia. University of Louisville, USA Chaitan Baru, University of California San Diego, USA Bharat Bhargava, Purdue University, USA Anjali Bhargava, TRW, USA Sourav Saha Bhowmick, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Martin Bichler, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA Walter Brenner, University of Essen, Germany Stephane Bressan, National University of Singapore, Singapore Woiciech Cellary, The Poznan University of Economics, Poland Roger Clarke, The Australian National University, Australia Asuman Dogac, Middle East Technical University, Turkey Eduardo Fernandez, Florida Atlantic University, USA Elena Ferrari, University of Milano, Italy Farshad Fotouhi, Wayne State University, USA Yongjian, Fu, University of Missouri-Rolla, USA Chanan Glezer, Ben Gurion University, Beer Sheva, Israel Rüdiger Grimm, Technical University Ilmenau, Germany Kamalakar Karlapalem, HKUST, China Hiroyuki Kitagawa, University of Tsukuba, Japan Wolfgang Koenig, University of Frankfurt, Germany Vijav Kumar, University of Missouri-Kansas City, USA Karl Kurbel, Europe University Frankfurt (Oder), Germany Winfried Lamersdorf, University of Hamburg, Germany George Lausen, University of Freiburg, Germany Alberto Leander, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil Juhnyoung Lee, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA Ronald M. Lee, Erasmus University, The Netherlands Tan Kian Lee, National University of Singapore, Singapore Oing Li, City University of Hong Kong, Chin Ee Peng Lim, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Huan Liu, Arizona State University, USA Heinrich C. Mayr, University of Klagenfurt, Austria Michael Merz, Ponton GmbH, Germany

Bamshad Mobasher, DePaul University, USA Mukesh Mohania, Western Michigan University, USA Gustaf Neumann, Vienna University of Economics and BA, Austria Wee-Keong Ng, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Rolf Oppliger, eSECURITY Technologies, Switzerland Stefano Paraboschi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy Osacar Pastor, Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain Evangelia Pitoura, University of Ionia, Greece Gerald Quirchmayr, University of South Australia, Australia Kai Rannenberg, Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK P. Krishna Reddy, University of Tokyo, Japan Alexander Roehm, University of Essen, Germany Elke A. Rudensteiner, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA Tomas Sabol, University of Technology Kosice, Slovakia N. L. Sarda, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India Bernd Schneider, University of Muenster, Germany, Peter Scheuermann, Northwestern University, USA Stephanie Teufel, Université de Fribourg, Switzerland Paul Timmers, European Commission DG XIII, Belgium A Min Tjoa, Vienna University of Technology, Austria Aphrodite Tsalgatidou, University of Athens, Greece Krishnamurthy Vidyasankar, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada Hans Weigand, Tilburg University, The Netherlands Hannes Werthner, University of Trento, Italy Andrew B. Whinston, University of Texas, USA Vladimir Zwass, Fairleigh Dickinson University, USA

External Reviewers

Anya Sotiropoulou George Lepouras Thomi Pilioura **Torsten Priebe Torsten Schlichting** Fredj Dridi Holger Grabow Markus Hütten Natwar Modani **Biplav Srivastava** Manish Bhide **Fabien Petitcolas** Heiko Rossnagel LIAU Chu Yee Altigran Soares da Silva Paulo Braz Golgher Wagner Meira Junior Edleno Silva de Moura Radek Vigralek L. Braubach D. Fahrenholtz A. Pokahr C. Zirpins Joan Fons Silvia Abrahao Yan Wang Ruediger Zarnekow Zoran Despotovic Wojciech Wiza Jarogniew Rykowski Thomas Schlienger Andreas Erat Martin Steinert