Preface

The OOIS series of conferences has provided a forum for the presentation and exchange of academic research and industrial experiences within the field of information systems, based on object-oriented technology.

The 8th International Conference on OOIS was held in the University of Montpellier from 2nd to 5th September 2002. The conference focused on the design, maintenance and implementation of web-based information systems. The first day consisted of preconference workshops. The workshop themes included the specialization/generalization hierarchy, reuse, optimization in web-based information systems, and model-driven software development.

The main conference program also included four invited papers, namely "Corporate Semantic Webs" by Dr. Rose Dieng, INRIA, France, "A Framework for Defining E-business Models" by Prof. Yves Pigneur, University of Lausanne, Switzerland, "GRID in E-business" by Pierre Sablonière, IBM, France, and "The Latest Development on Cognitive Informatics" by Dr. Yingxu Wang, University of Calgary, Canada.

The conference attracted 116 papers from more than 20 countries and the program committee accepted 34 regular papers and 17 short papers. The selected papers included the following themes:

- advanced object-information systems,
- web-based information systems,
- knowledge management in object information systems,
- CORBA.
- e-business.
- software metrics,
- object databases.

We would like to thank the members of the program committee and all the other referees who gave up their valuable time to review the papers and helped in putting together an exciting program. We would also like to thank the invited speakers, authors and other individuals who helped, without whom this conference would not have been possible. Finally, our thanks go out to the local organizing committee and all the institutions and organizations that provided financial support.

June 2002

Colette Rolland Zohra Bellahsène Dilip Patel

Organization

General Chair

Colette Rolland (Université Paris-Sorbonne, France)

Program Co-chairs

Zohra Bellahsène (LIRMM, France) Dilip Patel (South Bank University, UK)

Program Committee

Sihem Amer-Yahia (ATT Reaseach, USA)

Motoei Azuma (Waseda University, Japan)

Franck Barbier (University of Pau, France)

Zohra Bellahsène (LIRMM, France)

Elisa Bertino (University of Milano, Italy)

Jean-Louis Cavarero (University of Nice, France)

Sergio de Cesare (Brunel University, UK)

Christine W. Chan (University of Regina, Canada)

Islam Choudhury (London Guildhall University, UK)

Claude Chrisment (IRIT, France)

Christine Collet (LSR-IMAG, France)

Robert B. France (Colorado State University, USA)

Brian Henderson-Sellers (University of Technology of Sydney, Australia)

Danièle H'erin (LIRMM, France)

Keith Jeffrey (CLRC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK)

Donald Kossmann (Technical University of Munich, Germany)

Zoe Lacroix (Arizona State University, USA)

Pece Mitrevski (St. Kliment Ohridski University, Macedonia)

Noureddine Mouaddib (IRIN, France)

Moira Norrie (ETH, Switzerland)

Maria Orlowska (University of Queensland, Australia)

Dilip Patel (South Bank University, UK)

Shushma Patel (South Bank University, UK)

D. Janaki Ram (Indian Institute of Technology, India)

Mike Papazoglou (Tilburg University, The Netherlands)

Colette Rolland (Universit'e Paris-Sorbonne, France)

Michael Rys (Microsoft Research, USA)

José Samos (University of Granada, Spain)

Jeff Sutherland (CTO PatientKeeper Inc., UK)

Zahir Tari (RMIT University, Australia)

Yingxu Wang (University of Calgary, Canada)

Anne-Marie Vercoustre (CSIRO, Australia)

Roberto Zicari (Johann Wolfgang Goethe-University of Frankfurt, Germany)

External Referees

Xavier Baril
Jean Bézivin
Jean-Michel Bruel
Gennaro Bruno
Stefano Cerri
Max Chevalier
Costas Calcanis

Luciano Garcia-Banuelos

Olivier Guyotot Mountaz Hascoet Gilles Hubert Marianne Huchard Michelle Joab Daniele Maraschi Hervé Martin José Martinez Olivier Massiot Ralf Muhlberger Tanguy Nedelec Makoto Nonaka Pierre Pompidor Richard Raban Shazia Sadiq

Chantal Soulé-Dupuy Dalila Tamzalit Olivier Teste

Genoveva Vargas-Solar

Tuyet-Trinh Vu