## Preface

This volume contains the proceedings of the Sixth Fuji International Symposium on Functional and Logic Programming (FLOPS 2002), held in Aizu, Japan, September 15–17, 2002, hosted by the University of Aizu, and colocated with the First Asian Symposium on Partial Evaluation Semantics-Based Program Manipulation (ASIA-PEPM 2002), which was held on September 12–14.

FLOPS is a forum for research on all issues concerning functional programming and logic programming. In particular, it aims to stimulate the crossfertilization as well as the integration of the two paradigms. The previous FLOPS meetings took place in Fuji-Susono (1995), Shonan (1996), Kyoto (1998), Tsukuba (1999), and Tokyo (2001). The proceedings of FLOPS '99 and FLOPS 2001 were published by Springer-Verlag as Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Vols. 1722 and 2024, respectively.

There were 27 submissions, and these came from Australia (1), Brazil (1), China (1), Denmark (2), Germany  $(1\frac{1}{2})$ , Italy (1), Japan (6), Korea (1), Portugal (2), Russia  $(\frac{2}{3})$ , Spain (6), Sweden (1), the UK  $(2\frac{1}{3})$ , and the USA  $(\frac{1}{2})$ . Each paper was reviewed by four reviewers. The program committee meeting was conducted electronically for a period of two weeks in May 2002. As a result of active discussions, 15 papers (55.55%) were selected for presentation, one of them to be delivered as a one-hour tutorial. In addition to the selected papers, this volume contains full papers by the three invited speakers, namely Kokichi Futatsugi, Peter Stuckey, and Philip Wadler.

On behalf of the program committee, the program chairs would like to thank the invited speakers who agreed to give talks and contribute papers, all those who submitted papers, and all the referees for their careful work in the reviewing and selection process. The support of our sponsors is also gratefully acknowledged. In addition to the University of Aizu and Universidad Complutense de Madrid, we are indebted to the Japan Society for Software Science and Technology (JSSST), Special Interest Group on Programming, and the Association for Logic Programming (ALP). Finally, we would like to thank the members of the local arrangements committee, notably Mizuhito Ogawa and Taro Suzuki, for their invaluable support throughout the preparation and organization of the symposium.

July 2002

Zhenjiang Hu Mario Rodríguez-Artalejo

# Symposium Organization

#### **Program Chairs**

Zhenjiang Hu	University of Tokyo, Japan
Mario Rodríguez-Artalejo	Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

### **Program Committee**

María Alpuente	Technical University of Valencia, Spain	
Wei-Ngan Chin	National University of Singapore	
Pierre Deransart	INRIA-Rocquencourt, France	
Moreno Falaschi	University of Udine, Italy	
Michael Hanus	University of Kiel, Germany	
Jan Maluszynski	University of Linköping, Sweden	
Aart Middeldorp	University of Tsukuba, Japan	
Gopalan Nadathur	University of Minnesota, USA	
Susumu Nishimura	Kyoto University, Japan	
Catuscia Palamidessi	Pennsylvania State University, USA	
Francesca Rossi	University of Padova, Italy	
Harald Sondergaard	University of Melbourne, Australia	
Kwangkeun Yi	KAIST, Korea	
Kazunori Ueda	Waseda University, Japan	
	•••	

#### Local Arrangements Chair

Taro Suzuki

University of Aizu, Japan

### List of Referees

The following referees helped the program committee in evaluating the papers. Their assistance is gratefully acknowledged.

Elvira Albert	Dale Miller
Ola Angelsmark	Yasuhiko Minamide
Sergio Antoy	Claudio Mirolo
Guillaume Arnaud	Eugenio Moggi
Demis Ballis	Angelo Montanari
Woongsik Choi	Lee Naish
Manuel Clavel	Susana Nieva
Marco Comini	Ulf Nilsson
Bart Demoen	Mizuhito Ogawa
Wlodek Drabent	Fernando Orejas
Hyun-joon Eo	Salvatore Orlando
Santiago Escobar	Ricardo Peña
Gérard Ferrand	Carla Piazza
Robert Glück	John Power
Frédéric Goualard	Femke van Raamsdonk
Masahito Hasegawa	María José Ramírez
Hideya Iwasaki	Chiaki Sakama
Peter Jonsson	Tom Schrijvers
Pascual Julián	Clara Segura
Hyun-goo Kang	Peter J. Stuckey
Naoki Kobayashi	Kenjiro Taura
Ludovic Langevine	Germán Vidal
Francisco J. López-Fraguas	Marie-Catherine Vilarem
Salvador Lucas	Fer-Jan de Vries
Mircea Marin	David Wolfram
Narciso Martí-Oliet	Hongseok Yang
Frédéric Mesnard	Y.L. Zhang