### **Preface**

Static analysis is a research area aimed at developing principles and tools for verification and semantics-based manipulation of programs and high-performance implementation of programming languages. The series of Static Analysis Symposia is a forum for the presentation and discussion of advances in the area.

This volume contains the papers accepted for presentation at the Ninth International Static Analysis Symposium (SAS 2002), which was held September 17-20, 2002 in Madrid, Spain. Previous SAS symposia were held in Paris, France (LNCS 2126), Santa Barbara, CA, USA (LNCS 1824), Venice, Italy (LNCS 1694), Pisa, Italy (LNCS 1503), Paris, France (LNCS 1302), Aachen, Germany (LNCS 1145), Glasgow, UK (LNCS 983), Namur, Belgium (LNCS 864), following the international workshop WSA in Padova, Italy (LNCS 724), Bordeaux, France (Bigre Vol. 81-82) and JTASPEFL/WSA, Bordeaux, France (Bigre Vol. 74).

In response to the call for papers, 86 contributions were submitted from 12 different countries. Following on-line discussions, the Program Committee met in Madrid on June 22, 2002, and selected 32 papers, basing this choice on their scientific quality and relevance to the symposium. Each paper was reviewed by at least three Program Committee members or external referees. In addition to the contributed papers, this volume includes abstracts of invited talks by Thomas Reps (University of Wisconsin, USA), Robert Hall (AT&T Labs Research, USA), and Javier Esparza (University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom).

On behalf of the Program Committee, the Program Chairs would like to thank all the authors who submitted papers and all the external referees for their careful work in the reviewing process. The support of the several funding agencies, listed later in the volume, which provided part of the funds for the organization of the conference is also gratefully acknowledged.

On this occasion, SAS was held concurrently with the 2002 International Workshop on Logic-Based Program Development and Transformation and the 2002 APPIA-GULP-PRODE Joint Conference on Declarative Programming as well as several workshops. We would like to express our gratitude to the members of the Local Organizing Committees of all the conferences co-located with SAS 2002 and the members of the organizing departments and institutions involved for the invaluable help and enthusiasm provided throughout the preparation and organization of the joint event.

# Organization

### **Program Committee**

Manuel Hermenegildo (Chair) Technical University of Madrid, Spain Germán Puebla (Co-chair) Technical University of Madrid, Spain

Radhia Cousot École Polytéchnique, France Saumya Debray The University of Arizona, USA

Manuel Fahndrich Microsoft Research, USA
Roberto Giacobazzi University of Verona, Italy
Chris Hankin Imperial College, UK
Giorgio Levi University of Pisa, Italy
Kim Marriott Monash University, Australia

Alan Mycroft Cambridge University, United Kingdom Ganesan Ramalingam IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA Martin Rinard Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Shmuel Sagiv Tel-Aviv University, Israel

Reinhard Wilhelm Universität des Saarlandes, Germany

## Organizing Committee

SAS 2002 was organized by the following members of the School of Computer Science of the Technical University of Madrid:

Germán Puebla (Local Chair) Jose Manuel Gómez

Manuel Hermenegildo (Local Co-chair) Pedro López
Astrid Beascoa José Morales
Francisco Bueno Oscar Portela
Jesús Correas Claudio Vaucheret

#### Referees

Scott Armenian Jesús Correas Roberto Bagnara Patrick Cousot Roberto Barbuti Pierpaolo Degano Jörg Bauer Stephan Diehl

Bruno Blanchet Alessandra Di Pierro

Bard Bloom Nurit Dor Chiara Bodei Robert Ennals Daniel Cabeza Jérôme Feret Manuel Carro Gian L. Ferrari Michael Codish Gilberto Filé Alessandro Fin Steve Fink

Riccardo Focardi Jeffrey S. Foster Simon Frankau Maurizio Gabbrielli John Gallagher

María García de la Banda

Samir Genaim
Deepak Goyal
Roberta Gori
Dave Grove
Orna Grumberg
René R. Hansen
Nevin Heintze
Pat M. Hill
Mike Hind
Yoram Hirshfeld
Charles Hymans
Gerda Janssens

Bertrand Jeannet Neil Johnson Andy King Uday Khedker Peeter Laud Michael Leuschel Francesca Levi Annie Liu

Francesco Logozzo Pedro López-García

Andrea Maggiolo-Schettini

Roman Manevich Julio Mariño Damien Massé Isabella Mastroeni Laurent Mauborgne

Nancy Mazur Fred Mesnard Massimo Merro Antoine Miné David Monniaux

Susana Muñoz-Hernández

Nicholas Nethercote Joachim Niehren Hans de Nivelle Robert O'Callahan Andreas Podelski Christian Probst Francesco Ranzato

Xavier Rival
David Sands
Peter Schachte
David Scott

Francesca Scozzari
Helmut Seidl
Peter Sewell
Ran Shaham
Richard Sharp
Roberto Segala
Jeremy Singer
Harald Søndergaard
Fausto Spoto

Vugranam. C. Sreedhar

Martin Sulzmann Peter Stuckey Henrik Theiling Stephan Thesing Eben Upton Pawel Urzyczyn Wim Vanhoof Claudio Vaucheret

Herbert Wiklicky Sebastian Winkel Jessie Xu Eran Yahav Enea Zaffanella

Lenore Zuck

Sven Verdoolaege

# **Sponsoring Institutions**

The SAS 2002 conference was supported by the following organizations:  $\frac{1}{2}$ 

- Spanish Ministry of Science and Technology.
- Technical University of Madrid (UPM).
- Department of Computer Science, UPM.
- Department of Industrial Engineering, UPM.
- European Commission Information Society Technologies Programme.
- CoLogNet, the European Network of Excellence in Computational Logic.

The SAS 2002 conference was organized in cooperation with the European Association for Programming Languages and Systems (EAPLS).