Preface

As distinct from other security and cryptography conferences, the Information Security Conference (ISC) 2002 brought together individuals involved in a wide variety of different disciplines of information security to foster the exchange of ideas. The conference is an outgrowth of the Information Security Workshop, first held in Ishikawa, Japan 1997. ISC 2002 was held in Sao Paulo, Brazil, on September 30–October 2, 2002.

The Program Committee considered 81 submissions of which 38 papers were accepted for presentation. These proceedings contain revised versions of the accepted papers. The papers provide a representative sample of both the variety and the truly international scope of information security research conducted currently. The topics addressed range from e-commerce protocols to access control and trust management, and to cryptography and cryptographic algorithms.

Many people deserve our gratitude for their contribution to the success of the conference. We would like to thank the General Chair, Routo Terada, for overseeing the local arrangements, including registration and maintaining the conference website, and for the smooth running of the conference. We are grateful to Robbie Ye for his expert help in processing the electronic submissions, reviews and acceptance notifications. Robbie's enthusiasm and energy greatly simplified the Program Committee's task of conducting the on-line evaluation of the submitted papers under tight time constraints.

In evaluating the papers submitted we were fortunate to receive the help of a distinguished Program Committee. We wish to thank the committee for doing an excellent job in reviewing papers and providing useful feedback to authors. In addition to the advice of the Program Committee, we also benefited from the expert help of external reviewers, including our colleagues: Jaouhar Ayadi; Dirk Balfanz, Rakesh Bobba, Dan Boneh, M. Cassassa-Mont, C.I. Dalton, Anand Desai, Glenn Durfee, Laurent Eschenauer, David Goldberg, Guang Gong, Anwar Hasan, Hector Ho-Fuentes, Adrian Kent, H. Khurana, R. Koleva, Thiago C. Martins, Muriel Medard, Brian Monahan, Narendar, Mads Rasmussen, Joe Rushanan, David Soldera, Routo Terada, Duncan Wong, Min Wu, Robbie Ye, Muxiang Zhang, and Feng Zhu.

Most of all, we thank all the authors who submitted papers to this conference. Without their submissions, this conference could not have been a success.

July 2002

Agnes Hui Chan Virgil Gligor

Information Security Conference 2002

September 30 – October 2, 2002, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Conference Chair

Routo Terada, University of Sao Paulo (Brazil)

Program Co-chair

Agnes Hui Chan, Northeastern University (USA) Virgil D. Gligor, University of Maryland – College Park (USA)

Program Committee

Yolanta Beres	HP Labs (UK)
Ricardo Dahab	
Drew Dean	
Yair Frankel	
Peter Gutmann	
John Ioannidis	
Charlie Kaufman	
Jay Lala	
Carl Landwehr	
Teresa Lunt	
Doug Maughan	
Gary McGraw	
Cathy Meadows	
Rebecca Mercuri	
Radia Perlman	Sun Microsystems (USA)
Radha Poovendran	University of Washington (USA)
Gang Qu	
Greg Rose	
Jonathan Trostle	