Preface

This volume contains the papers selected for presentation at the Thirteenth Annual International Symposium on Algorithms and Computation (ISAAC 2002) to be held in Vancouver, Canada on November 21-23, 2002. This is the first time that ISAAC has ventured into North America, as it is traditionally held in the Asia-Pacific region.

ISAAC is an annual international symposium that covers the very broad areas of algorithms and computing in general. The scope of this symposium includes both theoretical and applied research from these fields. The main aim of the symposium is to promote the exchange of ideas in this active research community. The specific themes targeted for ISAAC 2002 were Computational Geometry, Algorithms and Data Structures, Approximation Algorithms, Randomized Algorithms, Graph Drawing and Graph Algorithms, Combinatorial Optimization, Computational Biology, Computational Finance, Cryptography, and Parallel and Distributed Computing.

In response to our call for papers, we received close to 160 submissions. The challenging task of selecting the papers for presentation was performed by the members of our program committee, their support staff, and referees. All of them deserve special thanks for their hard work in the difficult task of selecting a mere 54 papers from the high-quality submissions. Unfortunately, due to the time constraints imposed by a three-day conference, we were forced to turn away many excellent papers.

John Iacono will receive the traditional best paper award for his paper entitled Key Independent Optimality. Our three invited speakers are Luc Devroye from McGill University who will speak on Random Tries, János Pach from New York University who will speak on Monotone Drawings of Planar Graphs, and Nicholas Pippenger from the University of British Columbia who will speak on the Expected Acceptance Counts for Finite Automata with Almost Uniform Input.

No conference can succeed without exceptional local organization. For the often overlooked and thankless task of finding a suitable venue and banquet location, dealing with the logistics of registration, organizing lunches and coffee, etc., we would like to thank the the organizing committee, Nadja Rence, and Olga Stachova for all their efforts above and beyond the call of duty. We thank our sponsors Simon Fraser University, the Pacific Institute of Mathematical Sciences, the institute for Mathematics of Information Technology and Complex Systems, and Bajai Inc. for their generous support. Finally, we thank all the authors and participants. We hope this edition of ISAAC will be a success.

August 2002 Prosenjit Bose
Pat Morin

Organization

Organizing Committee

Binay Bhattacharya (Simon Fraser University, Canada)

Prosenjit Bose (Carleton University, Canada)

Arvind Gupta (Simon Fraser University, Canada)

Tiko Kameda (Simon Fraser University, Canada)

Program Committee

Prosenjit Bose, Program Chair (Carleton University, Canada)

Tetsuo Asano (JAIST, Japan)

Binay Bhattacharya (Simon Fraser University, Canada)

Hans Bodlaender (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)

Rudolf Fleischer (HKUST, Hong Kong)

Naveen Garg (IIT Delhi, India)

Arvind Gupta (Simon Fraser University, Canada)

Wen-Lian Hsu (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)

David Kirkpatrick (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Danny Krizanc (Wesleyan University, USA)

Ming Li (University of Waterloo, Canada)

Michael Molloy (University of Toronto, Canada)

Pat Morin (Carleton University, Canada)

Ian Munro (University of Waterloo, Canada)

Lata Narayanan (Concordia University, Canada)

Rajeev Raman (University of Leicester, UK)

Sunil Shende (Rutgers University, USA)

Hisao Tamaki (Meiji University, Japan)

Roberto Tamassia (Brown University, USA)

Denis Thérien (McGill University, Canada)

Takeshi Tokuyama (Tohoku University, Japan)

Referees

Jochen Alber Therese Biedl
Richard Anstee Patricia Bouyer
François Anton Alex Brodsky
Petra Berenbrink David Bryant
Anne Berry Claude Crepeau

VIII Organization

Henri Darmon Will Evans Paolo Ferragina Tom Friedetzky

Leszek Gasieniec Daya Ram Gaur Dhrubajyoti Goswami Joachim Gudmundsson

Hovhannes Harutyunyan Laurie Hendren Lisa Higham

Dawei Hong
Tsan-sheng Hsu
John Iacono
Klaus Jansen
Juha Kaerkkainen
Michael Kaufmann
Rohit Khandekar

Hirotada Kobayashi Ekkehard Koehler Jan Kratochvil Matthias Krause Ramesh Krishnamurti

Ralf Klasing

Dietrich Kuske Stefan Langerman PeiZong Lee Hon Fung Li Chi-Jen Lu

Hsueh-I Lu Wei-Fu Lu Cris Moore Jaroslav Opatrny Andrzej Proskuroski

Pavel Pudlak

Jaikumar Radhakrishnan Md. Saidur Rahman Rajeev Raman Suneeta Ramaswami

S. S. Ravi Ran Raz Udi Rotics Pranab Sen Jiri Sgall

Akiyoshi Shioura
Hiroki Shizuya
Michiel Smid
Jack Snoeyink
Ting-Yi Sung
Chaitanya Swamy
Richard B. Tan
Jan Arne Telle
Pascal Tesson
Mikkel Thorup
Yosihito Toyama
Jacques Vaisey
Heribert Vollmer

Heribert Vollmer Alan Wagner René Weiskircher Anthony Whitehead Gerhard Woeginger

David Wood

17 additional anonymous referees

Sponsors

Simon Fraser University

Pacific Institute of Mathematical Sciences (PIMS)

Mathematics of Information Technology and Complex Systems (MITACS) Bajai Inc.