Preface

The series of annual Asian Computing Science Conferences (ASIAN) was initiated in 1995 by AIT, INRIA, and UNU/IIST to provide a forum for researchers in computer science from the Asian region and to promote interaction with researchers from other regions. The first six conferences were held, respectively, in Bangkok, Singapore, Katmandu, Manila, Phuket, and Penang. The proceedings have been published in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science Series of Springer-Verlag.

This year, the main themes chosen for ASIAN 2002 were:

- Internet Computing and Modeling,
- Grid, Peer-to-Peer, and Cluster Computing.

The program committee selected 17 papers out of 30 submissions, and these papers show very well the richness of this field of scientific investigations. We have indeed papers on topics ranging from scientific cluster computing to advanced networking applications for the general public, and from network protocol design and evaluation to the architecture of the Grid.

The invited speakers of ASIAN 2002 were Alessandro Bassi (University of Tennessee), Brigitte Plateau (Institut Polytechnique de Grenoble), and Shinji Shimojo (Osaka University). The program committee thanks them for accepting its invitation.

The conference was held in Hanoi, Vietnam. We are much obliged to the Asian Institute of Technology of Hanoi, and its director Prof. Nguyen Cong Thanh, for coordinating the local arrangements.

Many thanks are due to our sponsoring institutions: the Asian Institute of Technology (Thailand), INRIA (France), and Waseda University (Japan).

Finally, I wish to thank warmly the program committee and the additional referees, for their efficient handling of the papers under unusual time constraints.

October 2002 Alain Jean-Marie

Program Committee

Chadi Barakat (INRIA, France)

Denis Caromel (University Nice Sophia/INRIA/CNRS-I3S/IUF, France)

Frederic Desprez (ENS Lyon, France)

Alain Jean-Marie (University Montpellier 2, France), Chair

Kanchana Kanchanasut (AIT, Thailand)

Zhen Liu (IBM Yorktown Heights, USA)

Phong Nguyen (ENS Paris, France)

CongDuc Pham (INRIA/University Lyon 1, France)

Brigitte Plateau (IMAG Grenoble, France)

Shinji Shimojo (Osaka University, Japan)

Kian-Lee Tan (NUS, Singapore)

Yong-Meng Teo (NUS, Singapore)

Putchong Uthayopas (Kasetsart University, Thailand)

Kenichi Yoshida (University Tsukuba, Japan)

Li Zhang (IBM Yorktown Heights, USA)

General Chairs

Kanchana Kanchanasut (AIT, Thailand)

Kazunori Ueda (Waseda University, Japan)

Local Organization Chair

Prof. Nguyen Cong Thanh (Director, Asian Institute of Technology, Vietnam)

Local Organization Committee

Nguyen Thi Bich Hoa (AIT, Vietnam)

Patcharee Basu (AIT, Thailand)

Natchana Poonthaweelap (AIT, Thailand)

Steering Committee

Shigeki Goto (Waseda University, Japan)

Stéphane Grumbach (INRIA, France)

Joxan Jaffar (NUS, Singapore)

R.K. Shyamasundar (TIFR Bombay, India)

Gilles Kahn (INRIA, France)

Kazunori Ueda (Waseda University, Japan)

Kanchana Kanchanasut (AIT, Thailand)

Zhou Chaochen (UNU/IIST, Macau)

VIII Orginization

Referees

Tigist Alemu Rabea Boulifa Yvan Calas Eddy Caron Serge Chaumette Philippe Chrétienne Arnaud Contes

 ${\bf Mongkol\ Ekpanyapong}$

Eric Fleury

Kazutoshi Fujikawa Jerôme Galtier Kaname Harumoto Ludovic Henrio Fabrice Huet Junzo Kamahara
Frédéric Koriche
Eric Madelaine
Yutaka Nakamura
Martin Quinson
Yves Roudier

Abhik Roychoudhurey P.S. Thiagarajan Mabel Tidball Julien Vayssiere

Marie-Catherine Vilarem Roland Yap Hock Chuan

Leong Hon Wai