Preface

The annual conference of the European Association for Computer Science Logic, CSL 2003, was held jointly with the 8th Kurt Gödel Colloquium, 8. KGC, at the Vienna University of Technology on 25–30 August 2003.

The conference series CSL started as a program of international workshops on Computer Science Logic, and then in its sixth meeting became the annual conference of the EACSL. This conference was the 17th meeting and 12th EACSL conference.

The KGC is the biennial conference of the Kurt Gödel Society. It has taken place in various formats and has been devoted to special topics in logic, such as computational logic, set theory, algebraic logic, and history of logic.

The CSL 2003 and 8. KGC were organized by the Kurt Gödel Society jointly with the Institut für Algebra und Computermathematik and the Institut für Computersprachen, Vienna University of Technology.

The CSL 2003 and 8. KGC joint program committee had the difficult task of choosing among 112 mostly high-quality submissions. Each paper was referred by at least two reviewers and then discussed by the whole program committee. In the final stage, during a three day electronic discussion, the program committee selected 39 papers for presentation at the conference and publication in these proceedings. Unfortunately, many high-quality papers had to be rejected due to the limitations set by the conference duration.

The program committee chose as invited speakers Bruno Buchberger, Dov Gabbay, Helmut Veith, Nikolai Vorobjov, and Andrei Voronkov. Additionally, Sergei Artemov was invited jointly by CSL 2003 and 8. KGC and the European Summer School in Logic Language and Information (ESSLLI 2003) for the key note address of both events.

In addition to the main conference program, CSL 2003 and 8. KGC featured four tutorials given by Ahmed Bouajjani (*Verification of Infinite State Systems*), Georg Moser and Richard Zach (*The Epsilon Calculus*), Nikolai Vorobjov (*Effective Quantifier Elimination over Real Closed Fields*), Igor Walukiewicz (*Winning Strategies and Synthesis of Controllers*).

The last day of CSL 2003 and 8. KGC was jointly held with the 2nd annual workshop of the European Research Training Network GAMES (Games and Automata for Synthesis and Validation), organized by Erich Grädel.

We thank the program committee and all the referees for the work in reviewing the papers. We are grateful to Norbert Preining for taking care of the main organizational tasks and we thank the remaining members of the local organizing team, Arnold Beckmann, Agata Ciabattoni, Christian Fermüller, Rosalie Iemhoff, and Sebastiaan Terwijn.

VI Preface

We would like to thank the following institutions for supporting the meeting: the European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), the Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Science and Culture, the City Council of Vienna, the Vienna University of Technology, and the companies IBM and Siemens.

June 2003

Matthias Baaz and Johann Makowsky

Program Committee

Matthias Baaz Vienna University of Technology (Chair) Arnold Beckmann Vienna University of Technology Lev Beklemishev Steklov Institute, Moscow/Utrecht Univ. Agata Ciabattoni Vienna University of Technology Kousha Etessami University of Edinburgh Chris Fermüller Vienna University of Technology Didier Galmiche LORIA - UHP Nancy Harald Ganzinger Max Plank Institut Saarbrücken Erich Grädel Aachen University Petr Hajek Czech Academy of Science Martin Hyland University of Cambridge Reinhard Kahle Universidade Nova de Lisboa Helene Kirchner LORIA CNRS. Nancu Daniel Leivant Indiana University Bloomington Johann Makowsky Technion-IIT Haifa (Co-chair) Jerzy Marcinkowski Wroclaw University Franco Montagna University of Siena Robert Nieuwenhuis Tech. Univ. Catalonia Barcelona Michel Parigot CNRS University of Paris 7 Jeff Paris Manchester University Helmut Schwichtenberg Munich University Jerzy Tiuryn Warsaw University

Additional Referees

Klaus Aehlig José Alferes Rajeev Alur Carlos Areces Albert Atserias Ralph Back Ulrich Berger Dietmar Berwanger Lars Birkedal Bruno Blanchet Steve Bloch Stefano Borgo Glen Bruns Marco Cadoli Witold Charatonik Petr Cintula Horatiu Cirstea

Veronique Cortier Victor Dalmau Rod Downey **Jacques Duparc** Roy Dyckhoff Mauro Ferrari N. Francez Carsten Führmann Brunella Gerla Silvio Ghilardi Patrice Godefroid Rajeev Gore Bernhard Gramlich Martin Grohe O. Grumberg Therese Hardin Jerry den Hartog

Hugo Herbelin M. Hermann William Hesse Wim Hesselinx Pascal Hitzler Michael Huth Rosalie Iemhoff Neill Immerman Mark Jerrum Felix Joachimski Marcin Jurdzinski Hans Jürgen Ohlbach Lukasz Kaiser Michael Kohlhase Boris Konev Jan Krajicek Lars Kristiansen

Jean-Louis Krivine Orna Kupferman Dietrich Kuske Oliver Kutz **Olivier** Laurent Salvatore La Torre Martin Lange Dominique Larchey Alexander Leitsch Pierre Lescanne Luigi Liquori Christof Loeding Markus Lohrey Byron Long Carsten Lutz P. Madhusudan Savi Maharaj Yevginiv Makarov Jean-Yves Marion Narciso Marti-Oliet Maarten Marx K. Meer Daniel Merv Stephan Merz George Metcalfe Dale Miller Oskar Mis

Virgile Mogbil **Tobias Niopkow** Hans de Nivelle Damian Niwinski Gethin Norman Jean-Marc Notin Pawel Olszta V. van Oostrom Fernando Orejas Geoffrev Ostrin Martin Otto J. van de Pol Chris Pollett Christophe Raffalli Alexander Rabinovich E. Ravve Maarten de Rijke Christophe Ringeissen Philipp Rohde Marie-Christine Rousset Paul Roziere V. Rybakov Luigi Santocanale Renate Schmidt Manfred Schmidt-Schauß Peter Selinger Kurt Sieber

Harold Simmons Alex Simpson V. Sofronie-Stokkermans V. Stoltenberg-Hansen Martin Strecker Thomas Streicher Wieslaw Szwast Lidia Tendera Wolfgang Thomas Alwen Tiu Jacobo Toran Christian Urban Alvaro del Val Helmut Veith Laurent Vigneron Albert Visser Peter Vojtas Benjamin Werner Uwe Waldmann I. Walukiewicz Heinrich Wansing Andreas Weiermann ToMasz Wierzbicki Lucian Wischik Alberto Zanardo Jeffrey Zucker

Local Organizing Committee

Matthias Baaz, Chair Arnold Beckmann Agata Ciabattoni Christian Fermüller Rosalie Iemhoff Norbert Preining Sebastiaan Terwijn