Preface

A dictionary interpretation of an 'Evolvable System' would be "anything formed of parts placed together or adjusted into a connected whole" that can be "gradually worked out or developed." When we then consider our subtitle 'From Biology to Hardware', we are plunged into a wonderful world of possibilities mixing the leading edge of hardware technology with our best understanding of natural and biological processes.

For the majority of the papers in this volume, the 'System' is some sort of electronics that needs designing, and the 'gradual development' is an algorithm capturing some of the essentials of Darwinian evolution. However, our wider definition of 'Evolvable' is partly explored in papers taking some of the abstract principles of nervous systems, immune systems, and of multicellular development and self-repair. There is a fascinating mix of the here-and-now of engineering applications and problem solving, with radical projects for future systems of a kind not seen before. As the field develops, we expect it to include a wider inspiration from nature at large, and other kinds of 'Hardware': for example with mechanical, fluid, few-electron, or chemical components, perhaps designed at nano-scales.

Nature is not a box of ready-made solutions to fulfil our engineering aspirations. Within these pages, great creativity can be seen in ingeniously transducing and adapting ideas from nature for our technological ends. Many of the papers contribute to a general understanding of how this can work, rather than showing how one specific problem can be solved.

This was the third international conference of the series started in 1996 (with an earlier workshop in 1995; see volumes 1062, 1259, and 1478 of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series). We thank the scrupulous reviewers, and above all the authors, for enabling this collection of papers to be of a quality that can be viewed as a landmark in this nascent field.

We are very grateful to Xilinx Inc., Cyberlife, and the EvoElec working group of EvoNet for their generous financial support. We much appreciate the IEE's promotion of the conference. Finally we thank whole-heartedly the University of Sussex, the University of Birmingham, and Napier University.

Enjoy!

April 2000

Julian Miller, Adrian Thompson Peter Thomson, and Terence C. Fogarty

Organization

ICES 2000 was organized by the ICES International Steering Committee.

International Steering Committee

Terence C. Fogarty (South Bank University, UK) Tetsuya Higuchi (Electrotechnical Laboratory, Japan) Hiroaki Kitano (Sony Computer Science Laboratory, Japan) Julian Miller (University of Birmingham, UK) Moshe Sipper (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland)

Adrian Thompson (University of Sussex, UK)

Organizing Committee

General chair:	Terence C. Fogarty (South Bank University, UK)
Program co-chair:	Julian Miller (University of Birmingham, UK)
Program co-chair:	Adrian Thompson (University of Sussex, UK)
Local chair:	Peter Thomson (Napier University, UK)

Program Committee

David Andre, University of California at Berkeley, USA Juan Manuel Moreno Arostegui, University Polytechnic of Catalonia, Spain Wolfgang Banzhaf, University of Dortmund, Germany Gordon Brebner, University of Edinburgh, UK Stefano Cagnoni, University of Parma, Italy Prahabas Chongstitvatana, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand Carlos A. Coello, LANIA, Mexico Fulvio Corno, Turin Polytechnic, Italy Peter Dittrich, University of Dortmund, Germany Marco Dorigo, Free University of Brussels, Belgium Rolf Drechsler, Albert-Ludwigs-University, Germany Marc Ebner, Eberhard-Karls-University Tubingen, Germany Martyn Edwards, UMIST, UK Stuart J. Flockton, Royal Holloway, UK Dario Floreano, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland Terence C. Fogarty, South Bank University, UK David B. Fogel, Natural Selection, Inc., USA Max Garzon, University of Memphis, USA

Darko Grundler, Univesity of Zagreb, Croatia Alister Hamilton, Edinburgh University, UK Ken Hayworth, Jet Propulsion Lab, USA Enrique Herrera, University of Granada, Spain Jean-Claude Heudin, Pôle University Léonard de Vinci, France Tetsuya Higuchi, Electrotechnical Laboratory, Japan Tomofumi Hikage, NTT, Japan Tony Hirst, Open University, UK Lorenz Huelsbergen, Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies, USA Hitoshi Iba, The University of Tokyo, Japan Norbert Imlig, NTT, Japan Masaya Iwata, ETL, Japan Didier Keymeulen, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA Tatiana Kalganova, Napier University, UK Yukinori Kakazu, Hokkaido University, Japan Hiroaki Kitano, Sony Computer Science Laboratory, Japan John R. Koza, Stanford University, USA William B. Langdon, CWI, The Netherlands Paul Layzell, University of Sussex, UK Yun Li, University of Glasgow, UK Henrik Hautop Lund, University of Aarhus, Denmark Evelyne Lutton, INRIA, France Patrick Lysaght, University of Strathclyde, UK Daniel Mange, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland Pierre Marchal, CSEM, Switzerland Jean-Arcady Meyer, Ecole Normale Superieure, France Julian Miller, University of Birmingham, UK Claudio Moraga, University of Dortmund, Germany Jan J. Mulawka, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland Masahiro Murakawa, University of Tokyo, Japan Kazuyuki Murase, Fukui University, Japan Norberto Eiji Nawa, ATR, Japan Andres Perez-Uribe, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland Marek Perkowski, Porland Center for Advanced Technology, USA Riccardo Poli, University of Birmingham, UK Edward Rietman, Bell Laboratories, USA Hidenori Sakanashi, ETL, Japan Mehrdad Salami, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia Eduardo Sanchez, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland Ken Sharman, University of Glasgow, UK Moshe Sipper, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland Giovanni Squillero, Turin Politechnic, Italy Adrian Stoica, Jet Propulsion Lab, USA Uwe Tangen, GMD, Germany Andrea G. B. Tettermanzi, Milan University, Italy

Adrian Thompson, Sussex University, UK Peter Thomson, Napier University, UK Marco Tomassini, University of Lausanne, Switzerland Jim Torrensen, University of Oslo, Norway Brian Turton, University of Wales, UK Andy Tyrrell, University of York, UK Vesselin Vassilev, Napier University, UK Lewis Wolpert, University College London, UK Roger Woods, Queen's University of Belfast, UK Xin Yao, Australian Defense Force Academy, Australia Ali M S Zalzala, Heriot-Watt University, UK Ricardo Salem Zebulum, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA

Sponsoring Institutions

Xilinx Inc. Cyberlife EvoNet: the Network of Excellence in Evolutionary Computing Institute of Electrical Engineers, UK University of Sussex, UK University of Birmingham, UK Napier University, UK