## **Preface**

This volume contains the proceedings of the conference on *Computer Aided Verification*, CAV 2004, held in Boston, Massachusetts, USA, July 13–17, 2004. CAV 2004 was the 16th in a series of conferences dedicated to the advancement of the theory and practice of computer-assisted formal analysis methods for software and hardware systems. The conference covers the spectrum from theoretical results to concrete applications, with an emphasis on practical verification tools and the algorithms and techniques that are needed for their implementation. The conference has traditionally drawn participation from researchers as well as practitioners in both academia and industry.

CAV 2004 was colocated with the ACM International Symposium on Software Testing and Analysis (ISSTA 2004), and was partially sponsored by the ACM SIGSOFT. The colocation reflects the increasing synergy between research on verification and testing, and emerging applications of formal verification to software analysis. Joint CAV-ISSTA events included a distinguished plenary lecture by David Harel and a special session exploring various approaches to the specification and verification of concurrent software organized by Shaz Qadeer. The program of the conference consisted of 32 regular papers and 16 tool papers, selected from a total of 144 submissions. The conference was preceded by a tutorial on processor verification, on July 12, 2004, with three invited lectures by Randal E. Bryant, David L. Dill and Warren A. Hunt, Jr. The conference also included invited talks by Mary Jean Harrold and Thomas W. Reps. Two workshops were associated with CAV 2004:

- BMC 2004: Second International Workshop on Bounded Model Checking
- GDV 2004: Games in Design and Verification

We would like to thank all the program committee members and the subreferees for their excellent work in evaluating the submissions and the selection of the program. Our thanks also go to the steering committee members and the organizers of CAV 2003 for their helpful advice. Special thanks go to George Avrunin, the ISSTA General Chair, and Erin Dolan of ACM, for their help with the local organization. We would like to acknowledge the generous sponsorship of Cadence Design Systems, IBM Research, Intel Research, Microsoft Research and the John Von Neumann Minerva Center for Verification of Reactive Systems. Their support helped us reduce the registration fee for the graduate students.

The CAV community is deeply saddened by the sudden demise of Dr. Rob T. Gerth. Rob was a highly regarded researcher with many notable contributions to the theory and practice of formal verification. For CAV 2004, we had invited Rob to join the program committee as well as to give a tutorial on processor verification. This LNCS volume containing the CAV 2004 proceedings is dedicated to Rob, and includes a special presentation, commemorating his scientific accomplishments and collaborations.

## Program Committee

Rajeev Alur (University of Pennsylvania, USA, co-chair)

David Basin (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

Armin Biere (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

Dennis Dams (Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies, USA)

David L. Dill (Stanford University, USA)

E. Allen Emerson (University of Texas at Austin, USA)

Kousha Etessami (University of Edinburgh, UK)

Steven German (IBM Research, USA)

Mike Gordon (University of Cambridge, UK)

Aarti Gupta (NEC Labs America, USA)

Klaus Havelund (NASA Ames, USA)

Holger Hermanns (Saarland University, Germany)

Alan Hu (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Bengt Jonsson (Uppsala University, Sweden)

Andreas Kuehlman (Cadence Berkeley Labs, USA)

Salvatore La Torre (University of Salerno, Italy)

Oded Maler (Verimag, France)

Pete Manolios (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)

Ken McMillan (Cadence Berkeley Labs, USA)

Anca Muscholl (University of Paris 7, France)

Chris Myers (University of Utah, USA)

Doron Peled (University of Warwick, UK, co-chair)

Fabio Somenzi (University of Colorado at Boulder, USA)

Amir Pnueli (New York University, USA)

Shaz Qadeer (Microsoft Research, USA)

Jun Sawada (IBM Research, USA)

Frits Vaandrager (University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands)

Pierre Wolper (University of Liege, Belgium)

Sergio Yovine (Verimag, France)

## Steering Committee

Edmund M. Clarke (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)

Robert P. Kurshan (Cadence, USA)

Amir Pnueli (New York University, USA)

Mike Gordon (University of Cambridge, UK)

## Referees

Parosh Abdulla Tamarah Arons Christel Baier
Nina Amla Cyrille Artho Ittai Balaban
Suzana Andova Eugene Asarin Howard Barringer

Jason Baumgartner Bernd Becker Michael Benedikt Saddek Bensalem Sergev Berezin Mikhail Bernadsky Jesse Bingham Roderick Bloem Johan Blom Bernard Boigelot Dragan Bosnacki Ahmed Bouajjani Marius Bozga Tevfik Bultan Donald Chai Jacob Chang Marsha Chechik Ling Cheung Alessandro Cimatti Scott Cotton Thao Dang Conrado Daws Johann Deneux Jyotirmoy Deshmukh Peter Dillinger Xiaogun Du Elena Dubrova Avijit Dutta Marco Faella Manuel Fahndrich Ansgar Fehnker Xiushan Feng David Fink Bernd Finkbeiner Carsten Fritz Marc Geilen Blaise Genest Philippe Gerner Alain Girault Amit Goel Gregor Goessler Peter Habermehl Malek Haroud

John Hatcliff

Marc Herbstritt Gerard Holzmann Jozef Hooman Michael Huth Franjo Ivancic Paul Jackson Sadegh Jahanpour Petr Jancar Geert Janssen Bertrand Jeannet Sven Johr Rajeev Joshi Vineet Kahlon Huthasana Kalvanam Joost-Pieter Katoen Nathan Kitchen Felix Klaedtke Nils Klarlund Christos Kloukinas Matthias Kuntz Orna Kupferman Shuvendu Lahiri Yassine Lakhnech Frederic Lang Ruggiero Lanotte Joyce Lauer Ranko Lazic Axel Legav Martin Leucker Bing Li Scott Little Rupak Majumdar Shawn Manley Heiko Mantel Marco Maratea Eric Mercer Markus Mueller-Olm Aniello Murano Madan Musuvathi

David N. Jansen

Kedar Namjoshi

Dejan Nickovic

Kelvin Ng

Margherita Napoli

Marcus Nilsson Iulian Ober Alfredo Olivero Joel Quaknine Domenico Parente Gennaro Parlato Viresh Paruthi Corina Pasareanu Mark Pichora Nir Piterman Andreas Podelski Ramanujam Kavita Ravi Theo Ruys Gerardo Schneider Viktor Schuppan Sanjit Seshia Ilya Shlyakhter Eric Smith Oleg Sokolsky Sudarshan Srinivasan Ian Stark Martin Steffen Colin Stirling Marielle Stoelinga Val Tannen P.S. Thiagarajan Tayssir Touili Richard Trefler Stavros Tripakis Yaroslav Usenko Antti Valmari Helmut Veith Miroslav Velev Willem Visser Daron Vroon Thomas Wahl David Walter Thomas Wilke Aleksander Zaks Yunshan Zhu Lenore Zuck Rob van Glabbeek