Preface

Static analysis is a research area aimed at developing principles and tools for verification, certification, semantics-based manipulation, and high-performance implementation of programming languages and systems. The series of Static Analysis symposia has served as the primary venue for presentation and discussion of theoretical, practical, and application advances in the area.

This volume contains the papers accepted for presentation at the 11th International Static Analysis Symposium (SAS 2004), which was held August 26–28 in Verona, Italy. In response to the call for papers, 63 contributions were submitted from 20 different countries. Following on-line discussions, the Program Committee met in Verona on May 06, and selected 23 papers, basing this choice on their scientific quality, originality, and relevance to the symposium. Each paper was reviewed by at least 3 PC members or external referees. In addition to the contributed papers, this volume includes contributions by outstanding invited speakers: a full invited paper by Thomas Henzinger (University of Califorina at Berkeley), and abstracts of the talks given by the other invited speakers, Sheila McIlraith (University of Toronto), Ehud Shapiro (Weizmann Institute) and Yannis Smaragdakis (Georgia Institute of Technology).

On the behalf of the Program Committee, the Program Chair would like to thank all the authors who submitted papers and all external referees for their careful work in the reviewing process. The Program Chair would like to thank in particular Samir Genaim, who did an invaluable, excellent job in organizing the Program Committee meeting and the structure of this volume. We would like to express our gratitude to the *Dipartimento di Informatica* and to the *Università degli Studi di Verona*, in particular to Prof. Elio Mosele (president of the university), who handled the logistical arrangements and provided financial support for organizing this event.

SAS 2004 was held concurrently with LOPSTR 2004, International Symposium on Logic-Based Program Synthesis and Transformation; PEPM 2004, ACM SIGPLAN Symposium on Partial Evaluation and Program Manipulation; and PPDP 2004, ACM SIGPLAN International Conference on Principles and Practice of Declarative Programming. There were also several workshops in the area of programming languages. We would like to thank Sandro Etalle (LOPSTR PC Chair), Nevin Heintze and Peter Sestoft (PEPM PC Chairs), Eugenio Moggi (PPDP General Chair), Fausto Spoto (Organizing Chair), and David Warren (PPDP PC Chair) for their help in the organization aspects. Special thanks to all the members of the Organizing Committee who worked with enthusiasm in order to make this event possible and to ENDES, specifically to Anna Chiara Caputo, for the great job she did in the local organization.

Organization

Program Committee

Thomas Ball Microsoft, USA

Radhia Cousot Ècole Polytechnique, France Roberto Giacobazzi (Chair) Università di Verona, Italy Chris Hankin Imperial College London, UK

Thomas Jensen IRISA, France

Jens Knoop Technische Universität Wien, Austria

Giorgio Levi Università di Pisa, Italy

Laurent Mauborgne École Normale Supérieure, France

Andreas Podelski Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Germany

German Puebla Technical University of Madrid, Spain

Ganesan Ramalingam IBM, USA

Francesco Ranzato Università di Padova, Italy

Martin Rinard Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA Andrei Sabelfeld Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Mary Lou Soffa University of Pittsburgh, USA
Harald Søndergaard University of Melbourne, Australia
Reinhard Wilhelm Universität des Saarlandes, Germany

Steering Committee

Patrick Cousot École Normale Supérieure, France

Gilberto Filé Università di Padova, Italy David Schmidt Kansas State University, USA

Organizing Committee

Mila Dalla Preda Samir Genaim Isabella Mastroeni Massimo Merro Giovanni Scardoni Fausto Spoto Damiano Zanardini

Referees

Elvira Albert Massimo Merro M. Anton Ertl Antoine Miné Anders Moller Roberto Bagnara Roberto Barbuti David Monniaux Joerg Bauer Carlo Montangero Michele Bugliesi Damen Mssé V.C. Sreedhar Markus Müller-Olm Paul Caspi Ulrich Neumerkel Patrick Cousot Jens Palsberg Alexandru D. Salcianu Filippo Portera Mila Dalla Preda Franz Puntigam

Ferruccio Damiani Xavier Rival
Bjorn De Sutter Enric Rodríguez-Carbonell

Bjoern Decker Sabina Rossi
Pierpaolo Degano Salvatore Ruggieri
Nurit Dor Andrey Rybalchenko
Manuel Fahndrich Rene Rydhof Hansen

Jérôme Feret Oliver Rüthing Gilberto Filé Mooly Sagiv Giovanni Scardoni Steve Fink Bernd Finkbeiner Dave Schmidt Bernhard Scholz Cormac Flanagan Maurizio Gabbrielli Markus Schordan Samir Genaim Francesca Scozzari Roberta Gori Clara Segura David Grove Helmut Seidl

Daniel Hedin Alexander Serebrenik Vincent Simonet Dan Hirsch Charles Hymans Fabio Somenzi Daniel Kaestner Fausto Spoto John Kodumal Zhendong Su Andreas Krall Francesco Tapparo Ashish Tiwari Viktor Kuncak Kung-Kiu Lau Thomas Wies Francesca Levi Sebastian Winkel

Donglin Liang Zhe Yang
Andrea Maggiolo Schettini Enea Zaffanella
Isabella Mastroeni Damiano Zanardini
Ken McMillan Andreas Zeller