Preface

This volume contains the papers selected for presentation at the 4th International Conference on Mathematics of Program Construction (MPC'98), which was held June 15-17, 1998 on the island Marstrand near Göteborg in Sweden.

The general theme of this series of conferences is the use of crisp, clear mathematics in the discovery and design of algorithms and in the development of corresponding software or hardware. The conference theme reflects the growing interest in formal, mathematically based methods for the construction of software and hardware. The goal of the MPC conferences is to report on and significantly advance the state of the art in this area. Previous conferences were held in 1989 at Twente, The Netherlands, organized by the Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, in 1992 at Oxford, United Kingdom, and in 1995 at Kloster Irsee, Germany, organized by Augsburg University. The proceedings of these conferences were published as LNCS 375, 669, and 947, respectively.

The program committee received 57 submissions, from which 17 were selected for presentation at the conference. Invited lectures were presented by David Harel, John Hughes, and Burghard von Karger.

Acknowledgements

I would like to express my gratitude to the members of the program committee and their referees for their care in reviewing and selecting from the submitted papers. I am also grateful to the members of the organization committee. The conference was sponsored by the NFR, the Swedish Natural Science Research Council.

April 1998

Johan Jeuring

Organization

MPC'98 was organized by the department of Computing Science of Chalmers University of Technology and University of Göteborg.

Program Committee

Ralph-Johan Back Roland Backhouse Richard Bird Eerke Boiten Dave Carrington Robin Cockett David Gries Lindsay Groves Wim Hesselink Zhenjiang Hu Barry Jay Johan Jeuring Dick Kieburtz Christian Lengauer Lambert Meertens Sigurd Meldal Bernhard Möller Chris Okasaki Jose Oliveira Ross Paterson	Finland The Netherlands UK UK Australia Canada USA New Zealand The Netherlands Japan Australia The Netherlands (Chair) USA Germany The Netherlands USA Germany USA Germany USA
	0
Mary Sheeran	Sweden
Doug Smith	USA

Organization Committee

Patrik Jansson	Chalmers University of Technology
Johan Jeuring	Utrecht University
Marie Larsson	Chalmers University of Technology
Mary Sheeran	Chalmers University of Technology

Referees

Y. Akama	M. Auguston	J. Barros
K. Asai	L. Barbosa	G. Barthe

A. Bijlsma	P. Jansson	J. Plosila
M. Buechi	M. Josephs	A. Poetzsch-Heffter
M. Butler	E. Kazmierczak	G. Renardel de Lavalette
P. Casteran	J. Knoop	P. Resende
M. Chakravarty	V. Kriauciukas	B. Sanders
W. Chin	N. Lesley	D. Sands
C. Colby	A. Liu	T. Santen
J. Collard	J. Liu	E. Sekerinski
T. Coquand	T. Lock	K. Sere
S. Curtis	W. Luk	B. Sufrin
J. Derrick	J. Lilius	D. Swierstra
R. Duke	N. Madhav	J. Udding
T. Emerson	N. Madrid	I. Ulidowski
D. Espinosa	B. Mahony	M. Utting
C. Fidge	A. McIver	V. Vasconcelos
G. Fisher	R. McPhee	F. de Vries
S. Fitzpatrick	M. Mendler	W. Vogler
H. van Gageldonk	A. Mikhajlova	M. Walicki
S. Gorlatch	O. de Moor	N. Ward
M. Haveraaen	A. Moran	C. Wedler
I. Hayes	C. Morgan	J. von Wright
R. Hehner	R. Nickson	E. Zehendner
M. Heisel	P. Olveczky	
C. Herrmann	O. Owe	

Sponsoring Institutions

NFR, the Swedish Natural Science Research Council.