Preface

The papers in this volume were presented at SWAT '98, the Sixth Scandinavian Workshop on Algorithm Theory. The Workshop continues the tradition of previous SWAT Workshops, and the Workshops on Algorithms and Data Structures, WADS, with which it alternates. The Call for Papers sought contributions presenting original research on algorithms and data structures in all areas, including computational geometry, parallel and distributed computing, graph theory, computational biology, and combinatorics. The program committee chose 28 of the 56 submitted papers for presentation. In addition, invited lectures were presented by Andrew V. Goldberg (NEC Research Institute), Johan Håstad (KTH Stockholm), and David Zuckerman (University of Texas at Austin).

SWAT '98 was held in Stockholm, July 8-10, and was organized in cooperation with Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan (the Royal Institute of Technology) and its department of Numerical Analysis and Computing Science, Nada. The organizing committe consisted of Jens Lagergren (KTH Stockholm) and Lars Ivansson (KTH Stockholm).

The program committee wishes to thank all referees who aided us in evaluating the papers.

Finally, we are very grateful to the Swedish Natural Science Research Council and The Swedish Research Council for Engineering Sciences for sponsoring the workshop, and Janne Carlsson the President of the Royal Institute of Technology.

Stockholm, April 1998

Stefan Arnborg

Program Committee

Stefan Arnborg (KTH Stockholm, chairman)
Rusins Freivalds (University of Latvia)
Rolf Karlsson (Lund University)
Sanjeev Khanna (Bell Labs)
Valerie King (University of Victoria)
Jens Lagergren (KTH Stockholm)
Christos Levcopoulos (Lund University)
Peter Bro Miltersen (University of Aarhus)
Thomas Ottmann (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg)
David Peleg (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Martti Penttonen (University of Joensuu)
Alexander C. Russell (University of Texas at Austin)
Aravind Srinivasan (The National University of Singapore)

Referees

N. Amenta G. Andersson K. Apsitis L. Arvestad J. Basch J. Chen S. Choi H. I. Christensen K. Clarkson J. Eckerle S. Edelkamp L. Engebretsen K. Eriksson M. Forsell P. Fränti D. Geidmanis

J. Gudmundsson S. Guha M. Hammar S. Hanke A. Heinz T. Husfeldt L. Ivansson J. Jansson J. Kaneps V. Kann B. M. Kapron V. Kasturi J. Katajainen M. Kiwi D. Krznaric J. Larsson

V. Leppänen V. Liberatore A. Lingas B. Lisper G. Narasimhan B. Nilsson R. Rajaraman S. Ravi Kumar S. Schuierer M. Smid D. Taimina J. A. Telle S. Ulfberg A. Östlin