Preface

The papers in this volume were selected for presentation at the *Fourth Annual International Computing and Combinatorics Conference* (COCOON'98), held on August 12–14, 1998, in Taipei. The topics cover most aspects of theoretical computer science and combinatorics related to computing.

Submissions to the conference this year was only conducted electronically. Thanks to the excellent software developed by the system team of the Institute of Information Science, we were able to make virtually all communications through the World Wide Web.

A total of 69 papers was submitted in time to be considered, of which 36 papers were accepted for presentation at the conference. In addition to these contributed papers, the conference also included four invited presentations by Christo Papadimitriou, Michael Fishcher, Fan Chung Graham and Rao Kosaraju. It is expected that most of the accepted papers will appear in a more complete form in scientific journals. Moreover, selected papers will appear in a special issue of Theoretical Computer Science.

We thank all program committee members, their support staff and referees for excellent work within demanding time constraints. We thank all authors who submitted papers for consideration. We are especially grateful to our colleagues who worked hard and offered widely differing talents to make the conference both possible and enjoyable.

August 1998

Wen-Lian Hsu and Ming-Yang Kao Program Co-chairs COCOON'98

Organization

COCOON'98 is organized by the Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan, ROC and in cooperation with Institute of Information and Computing Machinery (IICM), Taiwan, ROC.

Program Committee

Dana Angluin (Yale U., USA) Ricardo Baeza-Yates (U. Chile, Chile) Allan Borodin (U. Toronto, Canada) Francis Chin (U. Hong Kong, Hong Kong) Anne Condon (U. Wisconsin, USA) Joan Feigenbaum (AT&T Labs, USA) Mordecai J. Golin (U. Science and Technology, Hong Kong) Xin He (SUNY Buffalo, USA) Jan-Ming Ho (Academia Sinica, ROC) Michael Houle (U. Newcastle, Australia) Wen-Lian Hsu (Academia Sinica, ROC, co-chair) Xiaodong Hu (Academy of Science, PRC) Frank Hwang (Chiao Tung U., ROC) Toshihide Ibaraki (Kyoto U., Japan) Hiroshi Imai (Tokyo U., Tokyo) Ravi Janardan (U. Minnesota, USA) Ming-Yang Kao (Yale U., USA, co-chair) Philip Klein (Brown U., USA) Andrzej Lingas (Lund U., Sweden) Richard J. Lipton (Princeton U., USA) Rolf Möehring (Technische Universität Berlin, Germany) Maurice Nivat (U. Paris, France) Sartaj Sahni (U. Florida, USA) Uwe Schöning (Universität Ulm, Germany) Paul Spirakis (U. Patras, Greece) Tandy Warnow (U. Pennsylvania, USA) Louxin Zhang (U. Singapore, Singapore)

Executive Committee

Organizing:	Wen-Lian Hsu (Academia Sinica, ROC) Ming-Tat Ko (Academia Sinica, ROC)
Local arrangement:	Jan-Ming Ho (Academia Sinica, ROC) Ming-Tat Ko (Academia Sinica, ROC) Ya-Chiung Lee (Academia Sinica, ROC)
Web:	Tze-Heng Ma (Academia Sinica, ROC) Kuo-Hui Tsai (Academia Sinica, ROC) Wen-Jyi Sen (Academia Sinica, ROC) Chiu-Feng Wang (Academia Sinica, ROC) Da-Wei Wang (Academia Sinica, ROC)
Finance: Publicity and Publication:	Ting-Yi Sung (Academia Sinica, ROC) Tsan-sheng Hsu (Academia Sinica, ROC)

Sponsoring Institutions

ACM Taipei/Taiwan Chapter. National Science Council, Taiwan, ROC.