Preface

It was our great pleasure to hold the 2nd International Symposium on Automated Technology on Verification and Analysis (ATVA) in Taipei, Taiwan, ROC, October 31–November 3, 2004. The series of ATVA meetings is intended for the promotion of related research in eastern Asia. In the last decade, automated technology on verification has become the new strength in industry and brought forward various hot research activities in both Europe and USA. In comparison, eastern Asia has been quiet in the forum. With more and more IC design houses moving from Silicon Valley to eastern Asia, we believe this is a good time to start cultivating related research activities in the region.

The emphasis of the ATVA workshop series is on various mechanical and informative techniques, which can give engineers valuable feedback to fast converge their designs according to the specifications. The scope of interest contains the following research areas: model-checking theory, theorem-proving theory, state-space reduction techniques, languages in automated verification, parametric analysis, optimization, formal performance analysis, real-time systems, embedded systems, infinite-state systems, Petri nets, UML, synthesis, tools, and practice in industry.

As a young symposium, ATVA 2004 succeeded in attracting 69 submissions from all over the world. All submissions were rigorously reviewed by three reviewers and discussed by the PC members through the network. The final program included a general symposium and three special tracks: (1) Design of secure/high-reliability networks, (2) HW/SW coverification and cosynthesis, and (3) hardware verification. The general symposium consisted of 24 regular papers and 8 short papers. The three special tracks together accepted 7 papers. The final program also included three keynote speeches by Bob Kurshan, Rajeev Alur, and Pei-Hsin Ho; and three invited speeches by Jean-Pierre Jouannaud, Tevfik Bultan, and Shaoying Liu. The symposium was also preceded by three tutorials by Bob Kurshan, Rajeev Alur, and Pei-Hsin Ho.

We want to thank the National Science Council, Ministry of Education, and Academia Sinica of Taiwan, ROC. Without their support, ATVA 2004 would not have come to reality. We thank the Department of Electrical Engineering, Center for Information and Electronics Technologies (CIET), SOC Center, and Graduate Institute of Electronic Engineering (GIEE) of National Taiwan University for their sturdy support, and we thank Synopsys, Inc. for sponsoring ATVA 2004. We thank all the tutorial–keynote speakers, invited speakers, committee members, and reviewers of ATVA 2004. Finally, we thank Mr. Rong-Shiung Wu, for his help in maintaining the webpages and compiling the proceedings, and Mr. Lin-Zan Cai, for his help in all the paperwork.

August 2004 Farn Wang

Organization

Steering Committee

E.A. Emerson (USA) Oscar H. Ibarra (USA) Insup Lee (USA) Doron A. Peled (UK) Farn Wang (Taiwan) Hsu-Chun Yen (Taiwan)

Organizing Chair

Hsu-Chun Yen

Program Chair

Farn Wang

Program Committee

Tommaso Bolognesi (Italy) Tevfik Bultan (USA) Sungdeok Cha (Korea) Yung-Ping Cheng (Taiwan) Jin-Young Choi (Korea) Jing-Song Dong (Singapore)

Jing-Young Choi (Korea) Jing-Song Dong (Singapore)
Jifeng He (China) Teruo Higashino (Japan)
Pao-Ann Hsiung (Taiwan) Chung-Yang Huang (Taiwan)

Oscar H. Ibarra (USA)
Huimin Lin (China)
Scott D. Stoller (USA)
Bow-Yaw Wang (Taiwan)
Hsu-Chun Yen (Taiwan)
Insup Lee (USA)
Doron A. Peled (UK)
Yih-Kuen Tsay (Taiwan)
Farn Wang (Taiwan)
Tomohiro Yoneda (Japan)

Special Tracks

1. Design of Secure/High-Reliability Networks, Chair: Teruo Higashino

Additional PC members:

Ana R. Cavalli (France) Tai-Yi Huang (Taiwan) Masakatsu Nishigaki (Japan) Shoji Yuen (Japan)

2. HW/SW Coverification and Cosynthesis, Chair: Pao-Ann Hsiung

Additional PC members:

Rong-Guey Chang (Taiwan) Tai-Yi Huang (Taiwan) Jung-Yi Kuo (Taiwan) Alan Liu (Taiwan)

Win-Bin See (Taiwan)

3. Hardware Verification, Co-chairs: Chung-Yang Huang, Bow-Yaw Wang Additonal PC members:

Tai-Yi Huang (Taiwan) Masakatsu Nishigaki (Japan)

Reviewers

Madhukar Anand Constantinos Bartzis Jing Chen Ting-Shuo Chou Edward T.H. Chu Zhe Dang

Arvind Easwaran Xiang Fu Dimitra Giannakopoulou

Kiyoharu Hamaguchi Ping Hao Hiromi Hiraishi Geng-Dian Huang Kuang-Li Huang Ranjit Jhala Li Jiao Jesung Kim Moonzoo Kim Masaaki Kondo Rom Langerak Dongdai Lin Stephane Maag Xinxin Liu Zhiming Liu Franco Mazzanti Chris Myers Kozo Okano Usa Sammapun Oleg Sokolsky Hong Pan Jin Sun Yu-Che Tsai Kenji Taguchi Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya Razvan Voicu Liqiang Wang Ping Yang Tuba Yavuz-Kahveci Rui Xue

Karen Yorav Fang Yu Jian Zhang

Sponsoring Institutions

National Science Council, Taiwan, ROC

Ministry of Education, Taiwan, ROC

Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, ROC

National Taiwan University (NTU), Taiwan, ROC

Center for Information and Electronics Technologies (CIET), NTU, Taiwan, ROC

SOC Center, NTU, Taiwan, ROC

Graduate Institute of Electronic Engineering, NTU, Taiwan, ROC

Synopsys, Inc.