Preface

This volume contains the proceedings of the 6th International Conference on Information and Communications Security (ICICS 2004), Torremolinos (Málaga), Spain, 27–29 October 2004. The five previous conferences were held in Beijing, Sydney, Xian, Singapore and Huhehaote City, where we had an enthusiastic and well-attended event. The proceedings were released as volumes 1334, 1726, 2229, 2513 and 2836 of the LNCS series of Springer, respectively.

During these last years the conference has placed equal emphasis on the theoretical and practical aspects of information and communications security and has established itself as a forum at which academic and industrial people meet and discuss emerging security challenges and solutions. We hope to uphold this tradition by offering you yet another successful meeting with a rich and interesting program.

The response to the Call for Papers was overwhelming, 245 paper submissions were received. Therefore, the paper selection process was very competitive and difficult – only 42 papers were accepted. The success of the conference depends on the quality of the program. Thus, we are indebted to our Program Committee members and the external referees for the great job they did. These proceedings contain revised versions of the accepted papers. Revisions were not checked and the authors bear full responsibility for the content of their papers.

Other persons deserve many thanks for their contribution to the success of the conference. Prof. José M. Troya was the Conference Chair, and Prof. Eiji Okamoto was General Co-chair. We sincerely thank both of them for their total support and encouragement, and for their contribution to all organizational issues. Our special thanks to José A. Onieva, one of the major driving forces in the organization. He did a great job in the successful promotion of the conference, management of the WebReview application and assistance in the editorial process for the accepted papers. We also thank José A. Montenegro and Isaac Agudo for their help in those tasks. Without the hard work by these colleagues and the other members of the local organization team, this conference would not have been possible.

Finally, we thank all the authors who submitted papers and the participants from all over the world who chose to honor us with their attendance.

October 2004 Javier López Sihan Qing

ICICS 2004

6th International Conference on Information and Communications Security

Málaga, Spain October 27–29, 2004

Organized by
Computer Science Department
University of Málaga
(Spain)

Conference Chairman

José M. Troya University of Málaga, Spain

Program Co-chair

Sihan Qing Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Program Co-chair, General Co-chair

Javier López University of Málaga, Spain

General Co-chair

Eiji Okamoto University of Tsukuba, Japan

Program Committee

Tuomas Aura Microsoft Research, UK Tom Berson Anagram Laboratories, USA Jeremy Bryans University of Newcastle, UK Alex Biryukov Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium Colin Boyd Queensland Univ. of Technology, Australia Chin-Chen Chang National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan European Microsoft Innov. Center, Germany Joris Claessens George Davida University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA Ed Dawson Queensland Univ. of Technology, Australia Robert Deng Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore Yvo Desmedt University College London, UK Josep Domingo Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain Pierre-Alain Fouque École Normale Supérieure, France Yair Frankel TechTegrity LLC, USA

Dieter Gollmann Yongfei Han Goichiro Hanaoka Ki-Yoong Hong Sokratis Katsikas Kwangjo Kim Chi-Sung Laih Wenbo Mao Masahiro Mambo Fabio Massacci Catherine Meadows Chris Mitchell Guevara Noubir Rene Peralta Giuseppe Persiano Josef Pieprzyk David Pointcheval Jean-Jacques Quisquater Kouichi Sakurai Miguel Soriano Routo Terada Victor K. Wei Vijay Varadharajan Moti Yung Yulian Zheng

Jianying Zhou

TU Hamburg-Harburg, Germany ONETS, China University of Tokyo, Japan Secuve, Korea University of the Aegean, Greece Information and Comm. University, Korea National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan HP Labs. Bristol, UK Tohoku University, Japan Università di Trento, Italy Naval Research Laboratory, USA Royal Holloway, UK Northeastern University, USA Yale University, USA Università di Salerno, Italy Macquarie University, Australia École Normale Supérieure, France Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium Kyushu University, Japan Universidad Politécnica de Catalunya, Spain University of Sao Paulo, Brazil Chinese Univ. Hong Kong, China Macquarie University, Australia Columbia University, USA University of North Carolina, USA Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore

External Referees

Michel Abdalla
Habtamu Abie
Mohammed Anish
Nuttapong Attrapadung
Mauro Barni
Lejla Batina
Giampaolo Bella
Siddika Berna Ors
Enrico Blanzieri
Andrea Boni

Dario Catalano Christophe De Canniere

Roberto Caso
Jordi Castellà
Jung-Hui Chiu
Andrew Clark
Yang Cui
Claudia Diaz
Jiang Du

An Braeken

Mauro Brunato

Marcel Fernandez

Ernest Foo Jordi Forne Cedric Fournet Martin Gagne Paolo Giorgini Andy Gordon Louis Granboulan

Fabrizio Granelli Stefanos Gritzalis Joshua Goodman

Juanma Gonzalez-Nieto Jaime Gutierrez

DongGu Han Matt Henricksen Yvonne Hitchcock Yoshiaki Hori Luigi Lo Iacono John Iliadis Kenji Imamoto

QingGuang Ji Jianchun Jiang Ioanna Kantzavelou

Tansel Kaya Hyung Kim

Shinsaku Kiyomoto

Tetsutaro Kobayashi Satoshi Koga Spyros Kokolakis Hristo Koshutanski Hartono Kurnio Kaoru Kurosawa

Costas Lambrinoudakis

Joseph Lano Dimitrios Lekkas

Dequan Li
Gaicheng Li
Jung-Shian Li
Guolong Lin
Liping Li

Anna Lysyanskaya Hengtai Ma

Antonio Maña Carlo Marchetti Gwenaelle Martinet Antoni Martínez

Bill Millan

Kunihiko Miyazaki Anish Mohammed Costas Moulinos Jose A. Montenegro

Haris Mouratidis Frédéric Muller Bill Munro Jose L. Muñoz Anderson C.A.

Svetla Nikova Masayuki Numao Koji Okada

Nascimento

Jose A. Onieva Juan J. Ortega Thea Peacock Josep Pegueroles

Kun Peng

Bart Preneel Wei Qian

Nataliya Rassadko

Jason Reid Michael Roe Rodrigo Roman Carsten Rudolph Tatsiana Sabel Ryuichi Sakai Taiichi Saito Francesc Sebé Stefaan Seys SeongHan Shin Leonie Simpson Igor Shparlinski Ron Steinfeld Makoto Sugita Toshihiro Tabata Keisuke Takemori Keisuke Tanaka

Vrizlynn Thing Theodoros Tzouramanis

ZhiMin Sun

Liuying Tang

Yoshifumi Ueshige

Chao Wang
Huaxiong Wang
Shuhong Wang
Yin Wang
Weiping Wen
Duncan S. Wong
Hongjun Wu
Mariemma Yague
Kira Yamada
Ching-Nung Yang
Robbie Ye

Ching-Nung Yang Robbie Ye Nicola Zannone Rui Zhang Yongbin Zhou Xukai Zou Feng Zhu Alf Zugenmaier