# **Preface**

This was the first year that the European Software Process Improvement Conference – EuroSPI – had a separate research track with its own proceedings. The EuroSPI conference is in its eleventh year, and has become the main meeting place in Europe for the software industry and academia to discuss software process improvement. The conference deals with software process improvement in a broad sense, investigating organizational issues as well as methods and tools for software process improvement.

EuroSPI is an initiative financed by a consortium of Nordic research centers and user networks (SINTEF, DELTA and STTF), ASQF, a German quality assurance association, and ISCN in Ireland, the coordinating network partner.

The research papers describe innovative and significant work in software process improvement, which is relevant to the software industry. The papers are readable for a scientific and industrial audience, and support claims with appropriately described evidence or references to relevant literature.

Thirty-one papers were submitted in this year's research track, and each paper was sent to three or four members of the program committee or additional reviewers. Papers were evaluated according to originality, significance of the contribution, quality of the written and graphical presentation, research method applied, and appropriateness of comparison to relevant research and literature. Almost 100 reviews were received and 18 papers were selected for presentation in the research track, giving a rejection rate of 42%. Many high-quality submissions had to be rejected because of limited space in the conference program.

The selected papers cover a wide area in software process improvement, from improving agile development methods, techniques for software process improvement, and knowledge management in software companies to effort estimation and global software development.

I would like to thank the paper authors for providing papers of high quality, and the program committee and additional reviewers for critiques, praise and advice on how to make the papers even better.

For further information about future EuroSPI conferences, see www.eurospi.net.

August 2004

Torgeir Dingsøyr

# **EuroSPI 2004 Conference Organization**

#### **General Chair**

Dr. Richard Messnarz, ISCN, Ireland

#### Local Chair

Nils Brede Moe, SINTEF ICT, Norway

#### **Scientific Programme Committee Chair**

Dr. Torgeir Dingsøyr, SINTEF ICT, Norway

## **Industrial Programme Committee Chairs**

Jørn Johansen, DELTA, Denmark Mads Christiansen, DELTA, Denmark Risto Nevalainen, STTF, Finland

## **Industry Chair**

Dr. Bernd Hindel, ASQF, Germany

#### **Exhibition Chair**

Robert Treffny, ASQF, Germany

#### **Tutorial Chair**

Dr. Richard Messnarz, ISCN, Ireland

## **Research Track Program Committee**

Pekka Abrahamsson, VTT Electronics, Finland Vincenzo Ambriola, University of Pisa, Italy Aybuke Aurum, University of New South Wales, Australia Stefan Biffl, Vienna University of Technology, Austria Miklos Biro, University of Budapest, Hungary Christian Bunse, Fraunhofer IESE, Germany Marcus Ciolkowski, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany Karl Cox, NICTA, Australia Kevin C. Desouza, University of Illinois, USA

#### VIII Organization

Taz Daughtrey, James Madison University, USA

Howard Duncan, Dublin City University, Ireland

Tore Dybå, SINTEF, Norway

Jan Pries-Heje, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Natalia Juristo, Polytechnical University of Madrid, Spain

Karl Heinz Kautz, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark

Jyrki Kontio, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland

Dieter Landes, Coburg University of Applied Sciences, Germany

Mikael Lindvall, Fraunhofer Center, USA

Patricia McQuaid, California Polytechnic State University, USA

Jürgen Münch, Fraunhofer IESE, Germany

Matthias Müller, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Markku Oivo, University of Oulu, Finland

Elixabete Ostolaza, European Software Institute, Spain

Ita Richardson, University of Limerick, Ireland

Gunther Ruhe, University of Calgary, Canada

Per Runeson, Lund Institute of Technology, Sweden

Kurt Schneider, University of Hannover, Germany

Martin Shepperd, Bournemouth University, UK

Magne Jørgensen, Simula Research Laboratory, Norway

Tor Stålhane, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Timo Varkoi, Tampere University of Technology, Finland

Claes Wohlin, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden

### **Additional Reviewers**

Ulrike Becker-Kornstaedt, USA

M. Letizia Jaccheri, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Daniel Karlström, Lund Institute of Technology, Sweden

Ana M. Moreno, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain

Knut H. Rolland, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Maribel Sanchez-Segura, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain