Preface

These are the proceedings of the fifth international conference, Formal Methods in Computer-Aided Design (FMCAD), held 15–17 November 2004 in Austin, Texas, USA. The conference provides a forum for presenting state-of-the-art tools, methods, algorithms, and theory for the application of formalized reasoning to all aspects of computer-aided system design, including specification, verification, synthesis, and testing.

FMCAD's heritage dates back 20 years to some of the earliest conferences on the subject of formal reasoning and computer-aided design. Since 1996, FMCAD has assumed its present form, held biennially in North America, alternating with its sister conference CHARME in Europe. We are delighted to report that our research community continues to flourish: we received 69 paper submissions, with many more high-quality papers than we had room to accept. After a rigorous review process, in which each paper received at least three, and typically four or more, independent reviews, we accepted 29 papers for the conference and inclusion in this volume. The conference also included invited talks from Greg Spirakis of Intel Corporation and Wayne Wolf of Princeton University.

A conference of this size requires the contributions of numerous people. On the technical side, we are grateful to the program committee and the additional reviewers for their countless hours reviewing submissions and ensuring the intellectual quality of the conference. We would also like to thank the steering committee for their wisdom and guidance. On the logistical side, we thank Christa Mace for designing our website and attending to countless organizational tasks. And we thank our corporate sponsors – AMD, IBM, Intel, and Synopsys – for financial support that helped make this conference possible.

September 2004

Alan J. Hu Vancouver, British Columbia Andrew K. Martin Austin, Texas

Program Committee

Mark Aagaard (University of Waterloo, Canada)

Dominique Borrione (Laboratoire TIMA and Université Joseph Fourier, France)

Randy Bryant (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)

Jerry R. Burch (Synopsys, USA)

Ed Clarke (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)

Nancy Day (University of Waterloo, Canada)

David Dill (Stanford University, USA)

Hans Eveking (Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany)

Masahiro Fujita (University of Tokyo, Japan)

Daniel Geist (IBM, Israel)

Steven German (IBM, USA)

Ganesh Gopalakrishnan (University of Utah, USA)

Mike Gordon (Cambridge University, UK)

Susanne Graf (VERIMAG, France)

Ravi Hosabettu (Sun Microsystems, USA)

Alan J. Hu, Co-chair (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Warren Hunt (University of Texas, USA)

Steve Johnson (Indiana University, USA)

Robert B. Jones (Intel, USA)

Thomas Kropf (Bosch, Germany)

Andreas Kuehlmann (Cadence, USA)

Tim Leonard (Intel, USA)

Andy Martin, Co-chair (IBM, USA)

Ken McMillan (Cadence, USA)

Tom Melham (University of Oxford, UK)

Paul S. Miner (NASA, USA)

John O'Leary (Intel, USA)

Laurence Pierre (University of Nice, France)

Carl Pixley (Synopsys, USA)

Shaz Qadeer (Microsoft Research, USA)

Sriram Rajamani (Microsoft Research, USA)

David Russinoff (Advanced Micro Devices, USA)

Jun Sawada (IBM, USA)

Eli Singerman (Intel, Israel)

Satnam Singh (Microsoft, USA)

Anna Slobodova (Intel, USA)

Enrico Tronci (Università di Roma "La Sapienza", Italy)

Matthew Wilding (Rockwell Collins, USA)

Jin Yang (Intel, USA)

Tomohiro Yoneda (National Institute of Informatics, Japan)

Additional Reviewers

Alfred Koelbl Martin Schickel Jason Baumgartner Malte Krieger William Bevier Saniit A. Seshia Ritwik Bhattacharya Robert Krug Ohad Shacham Per Bjesse Flavio Lerda Radu I. Siminiceanu Jens Levihn Robert de Simone Menouer Boubekeur Annette Bunker Ed Smith Hanbing Liu Pankaj Chauhan Tony Ma Marielle Stoelinga Jared Davis Jean-Christophe Madre Rob Sumners Arthur Flatau Freddy Mang Matyas Sustik Kiran Gallapally In-Ho Moon Muralidhar Talupur Eric Gascard Silvia Mueller Michael Theobald Mark Greenstreet Tayssir Touili Traian Muntean David Greve Alex Tsow Chris Myers Alex Groce Ziv Nevo Rachel Tzoref Volker Nimbler Anubhav Gupta Serita Van Groningen John Harrison Joel Ouaknine Tatvana Veksler Tamir Heyman Sudhindra Pandav Viswanath Vinod Pei-Hsin Ho Sandip Ray Yue Yang Priyank Kalla Erik Reeber Karen Yorav Sharon Keidar Sitvanit Ruah Reto Zimmermann

Steering Committee

Raihan Kibria

Mark D. Aagaard Warren A. Hunt, Jr. Andrew K. Martin Alan J. Hu Steven D. Johnson John W. O'Leary

Ingo Schaefer