Preface

Static Analysis is a research area aimed at developing principles and tools for high-performance implementation and verification of programming languages. The series of Static Analysis Symposia is a forum for presentation and discussion of advances in the area.

This volume contains the papers presented at the Seventh International Static Analysis Symposium (SAS 2000) which was held on June 29–July 1, 2000 at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Previous symposia were held in Venice, Pisa, Paris, Aachen, Glasgow, and Namur.

The program committee met at Purdue University in March 2000 and selected 20 papers from 52 submissions on the basis of four reviews per paper. The program committee members were not allowed to author or co-author a submission. In addition to the 20 contributed papers, this volume contains two invited papers by Daniel Jackson and Andreas Podelski. At the symposium, there was also an invited talk by Matthias Felleisen and a tutorial by Roy Dz-ching Ju.

Special thanks to Wanjun Wang for helping me from start to finish.

April 2000

Jens Palsberg

General Chair

David Schmidt Kansas State University, USA

Program Committee

Patrick Cousot	École Normale Supérieure, Paris	
Gilberto Filé	Padova University, Italy	
Roberto Giacobazzi	Università di Verona, Italy	
C. Barry Jay	University of Technology, Sydney	
Thomas Jensen	IRISA/CNRS, France	
Neil D. Jones	DIKU, Denmark	
Jens Palsberg (chair)	Purdue University, USA	
David Sands	Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden	
David Schmidt	Kansas State University, USA	
Scott Smith	Johns Hopkins University, USA	
Bernhard Steffen	University of Dortmund, Germany	
Pascal Van Hentenryck	Brown University, USA	
Joe Wells	Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland	

The program committee thanks the following people for their assistance in evaluating the submissions:

Torben Amtoft	Kevin Hammond	Corrado Priami
Roberto Bagnara	John Hatcliff	Elisa Quintarelli
Frederic Besson	Sebastian Hunt	Francesco Ranzato
Bruno Blanchet	Michael Huth	Laura Ricci
Chiara Bodei	Fairouz Kamareddine	Olivier Ridoux
Michele Bugliesi	Gabriele Keller	Oliver Rüthing
Jan Cederquist	Andy M. King	Andrei Sabelfeld
Mike Codish	Jens Knoop	Davide Sangiorgi
Agostino Cortesi	Cosimo Laneve	Francesca Scozzari
Mads Dam	Francesca Levi	Helmut Seidl
Dennis Dams	Hans-Wolfgang Loidl	Christian Skalka
Giorgio Delzanno	Renaud Marlet	Ugo Solitro
Marc Eluard	Damien Massé	Harald Sondergaard
Moreno Falaschi	Laurent Michel	Fausto Spoto
Riccardo Focardi	Markus Müller-Olm	Allen Stoughton
Pascal Fradet	Oliver Niese	Jean-Pierre Talpin
Rajiv Gupta	Thomas Noll	Phil Trinder
Jörgen Gustavsson	Corina Pasareanu	Tiejun Wang
Jörgen Gustavsson Christian Haack	Corina Pasareanu Detlef Plump	Tiejun Wang