Preface

This volume contains the proceedings of the 21st International Conference on Application and Theory of Petri Nets. The aim of the Petri net conferences is to create a forum for discussing progress in the application and theory of Petri nets. Typically, the conferences have 100–150 participants – one third of these coming from industry while the rest are from universities and research institutions. The conferences always take place in the last week of June.

The conference and a number of other activities are co-ordinated by a steering committee with the following members: G. Balbo (Italy), J. Billlington (Australia), G. De Michelis (Italy), C. Girault (France), K. Jensen (Denmark), S. Kumagai (Japan), T. Murata (USA), C. A. Petri (Germany; honorary member), W. Reisig (Germany), G. Roucairol (France), G. Rozenberg (The Netherlands; chairman), and M. Silva (Spain).

Other activities before and during the 2000 conference included tool presentations and demonstrations, a meeting on "Interchange Formats", extensive introductory tutorials, two advanced tutorials on "Hardware Design" and "Timed and Hybrid Automata", and two workshops on "Software Engineering" and "Practical Use of High-Level Nets". The tutorial notes and workshop proceedings are not published in these proceedings, but copies are available from the organisers.

The 2000 conference was organised by the CPN Group at the University of Aarhus, Denmark. We would like to thank the organisers (see next page) and their teams.

We would like to thank very much all those who submitted papers to the Petri net conference. We received a total of 57 submissions from 20 different countries. This volume comprises the papers that were accepted for presentation. Invited lectures were given by Jordi Cortadella, Philippe Darondeau, Gregor Engels, Serge Haddad, Kim Guldstrand Larsen, and Ole Lehrmann Madsen.

The submitted papers were evaluated by a programme committee. The programme committee meeting took place in Aarhus, Denmark. We would like to express our gratitude to the members of the programme committee, and to all the referees who assisted them. The names of these are listed on the following pages.

Finally, we would like to mention the excellent co-operation with Springer-Verlag, and to thank Janne Christensen and Teresa Hampton who handled all the submissions, and Uffe H. Engberg for preparing this volume.

April 2000

Mogens Nielsen Dan Simpson

Organising Committee

Kurt Jensen (Chair) Søren Christensen (Chair) Helle Holm-Nielsen (Secretary)

Programme Committee

Wil van der Aalst (The Netherlands) Gianfranco Balbo (Italy) Luca Bernardinello (Italy) Eike Best (Germany) Jonathan Billington (Australia) Wilfried Brauer (Germany) Ginafranco Ciardo (USA) José-Manuel Colom (Spain) Luis Gomes (Portugal) Serge Haddad (France) Kunihiko Hiraishi (Japan) Mogens Nielsen (Denmark; co-chair; theory)

Referees

Alessandra Agostini Marco Ajmone Marsan Stanislaw Ambroszkiewicz S. Arun-Kumar Pierre Azema Joao-Paulo Barros Marek Bednarczyk Marco Bernardo Andrea Bobbio Andrzej Borzyszkowski Marc Boyer Garv Bundell Nadia Busi Javier Campos Giovanni Chiola Armando-Walter Colombo Giorgio De Michelis Susanna Donatelli Javier Esparza Joaquin Ezpeleta

Tools Demonstration

Kjeld Høyer Mortensen (Chair)

Leo Ojala (Finland) Wojciech Penczek (Poland) Karsten Schmidt (Germany) Sol Shatz (USA) Dan Simpson (UK; co-chair; applications) P. S. Thiagarajan (India) Robert Valette (France) Antti Valmari (Finland) Alex Yakovlev (UK) Wlodek Zuberek (Canada)

Carlo Ferigato Hans Fleischhack Adrianna Foremniak Giuliana Franceschinis Jörn Freiheit Rossano Gaeta Maike Gajewski Fernando Garcia-Vallés Qi-Wei Ge Jaco Geldenhuvs Claude Girault Steven Gordon Marco Gribaudo Keijo Heljanko Nisse Husberg Jean-Michel Ilie Ryszard Janicki Pawel Janowski Guv Juanole Tommi Junttila

Ekkart Kindler Fabrice Kordon Maciej Koutny Lars M. Kristensen Charles Lakos Sari Leppänen Glenn Lewis Johan Lilius Kamal Lodava Thomas Mailund Marko Mäkelä José Merseguer Axel Martens Toshiyuki Miyamoto Patrice Moreaux Madhavan Mukund Tad Murata Morikazu Nakamura Klaus-Peter Neuendorf Peter Niebert Atsushi Ohta Enric Pastor Emmanuel Paviot-Adet Sibvlle Peuker Jean-Francois Peyre G. Michele Pinna Denis Poitrenaud Antti Puhakka R. Ramanujam Laura Recalde Wolfgang Reisig Stephan Roch

Nicoletta Sabadini John Saldhana Heinz Schmidt Claus Schroeter Stefan Schwoon Christophe Sibertin-Blanc Carla Simone Rafal Somla Peter Starke Maciej Szreter Shigemasa Takai Enrique Teruel Mikko Tiusanen Kohkichi Tsuji Teemu Tynjälä Robert van der Toorn Jaap van der Woude Kimmo Varpaaniemi Francois Vernadat Isabelle Vernier **Tobias Vesper** Heikki Virtanen Hagen Völzer Marc Voorhoeve Toshimasa Watanabe Michael Weber Heike Wehrheim Harro Wimmel Jozef Winkowski Xiande Xie Haiping Xu Hideki Yamasaki