## **Preface**

ACISP 2000, the Fifth Australasian Conference on Information Security and Privacy, was held in Brisbane, Australia, 10–12 July, 2000. The conference was sponsored by the Information Security Research Centre at Queensland University of Technology, the Australian Computer Society, Telstra, Boeing Australia Limited, SecureGate Limited, and RSA Security Pty Ltd. We are grateful to all these organizations for their support of the conference.

The conference brought together researchers, designers, implementors, and users of information security systems. The aim of the conference is to have a series of technical refereed and invited papers to discuss all different aspects of information security. The program committee invited seven distinguished speakers: Mike Burmester, G.R. Blakley, Bob Blakley, Brian Denehy, Roger Lyle, John Snare, and Alan Underwood. Mike Burmester from Royal Holloway College, University of London presented a paper entitled "A Survey of Key Distribution"; G.R. Blakley from Texas A&M University and Bob Blakley from the IBM Tivoli Security Business Unit presented a paper entitled "All Sail, No Anchor, I: Cryptography, Risk, and e-Commerce"; Brian Denehy from SecureGate Limited presented a paper entitled "Secure Networks or Network Security – Approaches to Both"; Roger Lyle from Standards Australia and John Snare from Telstra presented a paper entitled "Perspectives on Australia's New Information Security Management Standard"; and Alan Underwood from the Australian Computer Society presented a paper entitled "Professional Ethics in a Security and Privacy Context – The Perspective of a National Computing Society".

There were 81 technical papers submitted to the conference from an international authorship. These papers were referred by the program committee and 37 papers were accepted for the conference. We would like to thank the authors of all papers which were submitted to the conference, both those whose work is included in these proceedings, and those whose work could not be accommodated.

The papers included in the conference came from a number of countries including 13 from Australia, six from Japan, five from the USA, four from Singapore, three from Korea, two from Greece, and one each from the UK, Germany, Norway, and Yugoslavia. These papers covered topics in network security, public key cryptography, cryptographic implementation issues, electronic commerce, key recovery, public key infrastructure, Boolean functions, intrusion detection, codes, digital signatures, secret sharing, and protocols.

The conference included a panel session entitled "Future Directions in Secure E-Commerce". This panel was chaired by William Caelli and included leaders in technology, law, and public policy related to the security issues and problems of electronic commerce.

We would like to thank all the people involved in organizing this conference. In particular we would like to thank members of the program committee for their

#### VI Preface

effort in reviewing papers and designing an excellent program. Special thanks to members of the organizing committee for their time and effort in organizing the conference, especially Ernest Foo, Gary Gaskell, Betty Hansford, Liz Lipowitz, Mark Looi, Lauren May, and Christine Orme. Finally we would like to thank all the participants at ACISP 2000.

May 2000

Ed Dawson Andrew Clark Colin Boyd

# Australasian Conference on Information Security and Privacy ACISP 2000

Sponsored by
Information Security Research Centre, QUT, Australia
Australian Computer Society
Telstra
Boeing Australia Limited
SecureGate Limited
RSA Security Pty Ltd

#### General Chair

Ed Dawson Queensland University of Technology, Australia

## Organizing Chair

Mark Looi Queensland University of Technology, Australia

### **Program Chairs**

Colin Boyd Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Ed Dawson Queensland University of Technology, Australia

# **Program Committee**

Mark Ames Telstra, Australia Texas A&M University, USA Bob Blakley Mike Burmester Royal Holloway College, UK William Caelli Queensland University of Technology, Australia Dieter Gollmann Microsoft Research, UK Yongfei Han SecurEworld, Singapore Wenbo Mao Hewlett-Packard Laboratories. UK SangJae Moon Kyungpook National University, Korea Winfried Müller University of Klagenfurt, Austria Eiji Okamoto University of Wisconsin, USA Josef Pieprzyk University of Wollongong, Australia Bart Preneel Catholic University Leuven, Belgium Steve Roberts Witham Pty Ltd, Australia John Rogers Department of Defence, Australia Greg Rose Qualcomm, Australia Rei Safavi-Naini University of Wollongong, Australia

#### VIII Program Committee

Stafford Tavares Vijay Varadharajan Henry Wolfe Yuliang Zheng Ed Zuk Queen's University, Canada University of Western Sydney, Australia University of Otago, New Zealand Monash University, Australia Rotek Consulting, Australia

#### Referees

Mark Ames Paul Ashley G.R. Blakley Colin Boyd Mike Burmester William Caelli Nathan Carey Gary Carter Liqun Chen Choo Chong Cher Jong U. Choi Andrew Clark Ed Dawson Ernest Foo Gary Gaskell Mickey Gittler Dieter Gollmann Juanma Gonzalez Nieto Yongfei Han Mark Looi Greg Maitland Wenbo Mao Keith Martin William Millan George Mohay Marco Casassa Mont SangJae Moon Yi Mu Winfried Müller Eiji Okamoto Dong-Gook Park Ji-Hwan Park Chris Pavlovski Josef Pieprzyk Bart Preneel

Jason Reid

Vincent Rijmen Steve Roberts John Rogers Greg Rose Rei Safavi-Naini Andrew Salleh Leonie Simpson David Soldera Willy Susilo Stafford Tavares Vijay Varadharajan Kapali Viswanathan Huaxiong Wang Henry Wolfe Chuan Wu Yuliang Zheng Ed Zuk