Preface

The MoDELS (Model Driven Engineering, Languages, and Systems) conference is a continuation of the successful series of \ll UML \gg conferences. This volume contains the final versions of the technical papers presented at MoDELS 2005 in Montego Bay, Jamaica, October 2–7, 2005.

The \ll UML \gg series began in 1988 at Mulhouse, France when the Unified Modeling Language was relatively new. Since then the conferences have been annually, with an increase in both attendance and the breadth of the work presented at the conferences. The appearance of new research areas and topics in prior conferences was the motivation for renaming the conference to reflect the broader mission the conferences were enabling. Among the new areas taking their place alongside UML and related standards, such as Model Driven Architecture (MDA), are model refactoring, aspect oriented modeling, and model quality control.

The call for papers for MoDELS 2005 resulted in the submission of 215 abstracts and 166 papers. Each submission was reviewed by at least 3 referees assigned from the set of 51 Program Committee members. After several rounds of discussion within the Program Committee, 46 papers (40 scientific papers and 6 experience papers) were selected for publication. The Program Committee also selected a paper for the Best Paper MoDELS 2005 Award. The paper is by Friedrich Steimann and is titled "Domain Models are Aspect Free."

The review process was managed using the VirtualChair reviewing system, developed by Vahid Garousi at Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada.

In addition to the presentations of the papers, the MoDELS 2005 scientific program included 2 keynote talks, "Model Driven Development for Distributed Real-Time and Embedded Systems", given by Douglas C. Schmidt (Vanderbilt University), and "Domain-Specific Modeling: No One Size Fits All" by Juha-Pekka Tolvanen (MetaCase). The conference also included 10 workshops, 6 tutorials, a Doctoral Symposium, an Educators Symposium, and a Poster/Demo Session.

We would like to thank all of the people who submitted papers and proposals for workshops and tutorials, as well as the excellent Program Committee members who reviewed these submissions. We also thank the invited speakers, the other members of the conference committees, the individuals who helped with the website and publicity, and the members of the Local Organizing Committee who helped make the conference run smoothly and made the local arrangements. Finally, we thank the sponsors for their generous support of MoDELS 2005.

Lionel Briand, Geri Georg, Stuart Kent, Ezra Mugisa, Clay Williams

Organization

Executive Commitee

General Chair	Stuart Kent (Microsoft, UK)
Conference Co-chairs	Geri Georg (Colorado State U., USA)
	Ezra Mugisa (U. of the West Indies, Jamaica)
Program Chair	Lionel Briand (Carleton U., Canada and Simula
	Research Labs, Norway)
Experience Track Chair	Clay Williams (IBM Watson Research Center,
	USA)
Tutorial Chair	Gianna Reggio (U. of Genoa, Italy)
Workshop Chair	Jean-Michel Bruel (U. of Pau, France)
Panel Chair	Siobhán Clarke (Trinity College, Ireland)
Publication Chair	Vahid Garousi (Carleton U., Canada)

Organizing Team

Publicity Co-chairs

Local Arrangements Chair Doctoral Symposium Chair Poster Chair Tool Exhibition Chair

Web Site Chair Registration Chair Treasurer Paper Submission Chair

Program Committee

Mehmet Aksit (Netherlands) Omar Aldawud (USA) Ambrosio Toval Alvarez (Spain) Erik Arisholm (Norway) Colin Atkinson (Germany) Thomas Baar (Switzerland) Doo-Hwan Bae (Korea) Antonia Bertolino (Italy) Jean-Michel Bruel (France) Christian Bunse (Germany)

João Araújo (New U. of Lisbon, Portugal)
Emanuel Grant (U. of North Dakota, USA)
Charmaine DeLisser (U. of Tech., Jamaica)
Jeff Gray (U. of Alabama at Birmingham, USA)
Felix Akinladejo (U. of Tech., Jamaica)
Gunjan Mansingh (U. of the West Indies, Jamaica)
Sudipto Ghosh (Colorado State U., USA)
Robert France (Colorado State U., USA)
Robert France (Colorado State U., USA)
Vahid Garousi (Carleton U., Canada)

Alessandra Cavarra (UK) Betty H.C. Cheng (USA) Steve Cook (UK) Stphane Ducasse (Switzerland) Gregor Engels (Germany) Sudipto Ghosh (USA) Martin Gogolla (Germany) Hassan Gomaa (USA) Jean Hartmann (USA) Hong Mei (China) VIII Organization

Heinrich Hussmann (Germany) Ashish Jain (USA) Jean-Marc Jézéquel (France) Philippe Kruchten (Canada) Yvan Labiche (Canada) Timothy C. Lethbridge (Canada) Jonathan I. Maletic (USA) Tom Mens (Belgium) Richard Mitchell (UK) Ana Moreira (Portugal) Pierre-Alain Muller (France) Oscar Nierstrasz (Switzerland) Ivan Porres (Finland) Alexander Pretschner (Switzerland) Kerry Raymond (Australia) Gianna Reggio (Italy)

Jaffar-Ur Rehman (Pakistan) Laurent Rioux (France) Bernhard Rumpe (Germany) Peter H. Schmitt (Germany) Andy Schuerr (Germany) Mark Schulte (USA) Bran Selic (Canada) Liu Shaoying (Japan) Perdita Stevens (UK) Tong Sun (USA) Francois Terrier (France) Jos Warmer (Netherlands) Ben Watson (USA) Thomas Weigert (USA) Jon Whittle (USA)

Sponsors



ACM Special Interest Group on Software Engineering (www.acm.org)



IEEE Computer Society
(www.computer.org)

Corporate Donors





Digicel

Microsoft Corporation (www.microsoft.com)

IBM (www.ibm.com)

Digicel Jamaica (www.digiceljamaica.com)



Springer (www.springeronline.com)

Academic Supporters



Colorado State University



Carleton University (www.carleton.ca)

Colorado State University (www.colostate.edu)

University of North Dakota (www.und.edu)



University of the West Indies at Mona (www.mona.uwi.edu)

University of Technology, Jamaica (www.utech.edu.jm)

Additional Referees

Marcus Alanen Ilham Alloui Carsten Amelunxen Bente Anda João Araújo Gabriela Arévalo Richard Atterer Bjrn Axenath Manuel Barrio Devasis Bassu Benoit Baudry Hanna Bauerdick Nicolas Belloir Alexandre Bergel Gregory P. Bischoff Nieves Brisaboa Antonio Bucchiarone Fabian Buettner Donggang Cao Eric Cariou Maura Cerioli Alexey Cherchago Kyoung-Sik Choi Yunja Choi Sorana Cimpan Michael L. Collard Philippe Desfray Natalia Dragan Keith Duddy Francisco Duran

X Organization

Pascal Dürr James Dzidek Marina Egea Jo M. Fernandes Franck Fleurey Frédéric Fondement Alexander Förster Jaime Gomez Miguel Goulão Orla Greevy Hans Groenniger Nabil Hameurlain Ulrich Hannemann Michel Hassenforder Jan Hendrik Hausmann Manuel Hilty Karsten Hoelscher Paul Holleis Jang-Eui Hong Gang Huang Johannes Jakob Eshref Januzaj Sang-Uk Jeon Huzefa Kagdi Harmen Kastenberg Stuart Kent Alexander Königs Holger Krahn Matthias Kranz

Ivan Kurtev Yves Le Traon Johan Lilius Arne Lindow Hui Liu Moussa Lo Marc Lohmann Francisco Javier Lucas Christoph Lueth Haohai Ma David Mak Esperanza Marcos Eve McGregor Victor Nicola Joaqun Nicolás Erika Olimpiew Ying Pan Christian Peper Jean-Marc Perronne Luigia Petre Andrea Polini Raghu Reddy Tobias Rötschke Enrico Rukzio Jose Saez Belen Vela Sanchez Stefan Sauer Tim Schattkowsky Martin Schindler

Markus Schmidt Daniel Schneider Michael Shepherd Devon Simmonds Jocelyn Simmonds Bonita Simoes Karsten Sohr Eunjee Song Hasan Szer Jim Steel Gerson Sunyé Andrew Sutton Bedir Tekinerdogan Bernard Thirion Laurent Thiry Trung Dinh Trong Hervé Verjus Cristina Vigueras Hendrik Voigt Alan Cameron Wills Gerald Winter Kyoung-A Yoon Rabih Zbib Lu Zhang Haiyan Zhao Tewfik Ziadi Paul Ziemann