Preface

This volume contains the proceedings of the 11th International Conference on Concurrency Theory (CONCUR 2000) held in State College, Pennsylvania, USA, during 22-25 August 2000.

The purpose of the CONCUR conferences is to bring together researchers, developers, and students in order to advance the theory of concurrency and promote its applications. Interest in this topic is continuously growing, as a consequence of the importance and ubiquity of concurrent systems and their applications, and of the scientific relevance of their foundations. The scope covers all areas of semantics, logics, and verification techniques for concurrent systems. Topics include concurrency related aspects of: models of computation, semantic domains, process algebras, Petri nets, event structures, real-time systems, hybrid systems, decidability, model-checking, verification techniques, refinement techniques, term and graph rewriting, distributed programming, logic constraint programming, object-oriented programming, typing systems and algorithms, case studies, tools, and environments for programming and verification.

The first two CONCUR conferences were held in Amsterdam (NL) in 1990 and 1991. The following ones in Stony Brook (USA), Hildesheim (D), Uppsala (S), Philadelphia (USA), Pisa (I), Warsaw (PL), Nice (F), and Eindhoven (NL). The proceedings have appeared in Springer LNCS, as Volumes 458, 527, 630, 715, 836, 962, 1119, 1243, 1466, and 1664.

Of the 72 regular papers submitted this year, 34 were accepted for presentation and are included in the present volume. The conference included also talks by four invited speakers: Ed Brinksma (Universiteit Twente, NL), Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli (UC at Berkeley, USA), Natarajan Shankar (SRI International, USA), and Eugene Stark (SUNY at Stony Brook, USA). Additionally, there were four invited tutorials by Rajeev Alur (University of Pennsylvania, USA), Rocco De Nicola (Università di Firenze, I), Philippa Gardner (University of Cambridge, UK), and C. R. Ramakrishnan (SUNY at Stony Brook, USA).

The conference had four satellite events:

- EXPRESS'00 (7th International Workshop on Expressiveness in Concurrency), organized by Luca Aceto and Björn Victor, held on 21 August 2000.
- GETCO 2000 (2nd Workshop on Geometric and Topological Methods in Concurrency Theory), organized by Eric Goubault, Maurice Herlihy, and Martin Raussen, held on 21 August 2000.
- YOO (Why Object-Orientation) organized by Arend Rensink, held on 26 August 2000.
- MTCS 2000 (First Workshop on Models for Time-Critical Systems) organized by Flavio Corradini and Paola Inverardi, held on 26 August 2000.

I would like to thank my conference co-chair, Dale Miller, the members of the program committee and their subreferees, the workshop chair, Uwe Nestmann, and the workshop organizers. I also would like to thank the invited speakers and

invited tutorial speakers, the authors of submitted papers, and all the participants of the conference. Special thanks go to Vladimiro Sassone for providing the software that helped to handle the submissions and the electronic PC meeting. Finally, I would like to thank the Department of Computer Science and Engineering of the Pennsylvania State University for sponsoring the event and providing many facilities.

I also would like to express all my gratitude and love to my husband Dale Miller and to our baby daughter, Nadia Alexandra Miller, for their patience with a wife and mom who was even busier than usual.

June 2000

Catuscia Palamidessi

CONCUR Steering Committee

Jos Baeten (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, NL, Chair)

Eike Best (Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg, D)

Kim Larsen (Aalborg Universitet, DK)

Ugo Montanari (Università di Pisa, I)

Scott Smolka (State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA)

Pierre Wolper (Université de Liège, B)

Program Committee

Samson Abramsky (University of Edinburgh, UK)

Jos C.M. Baeten (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, NL)

Eike Best (Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg, D)

Michele Boreale (Università di Firenze, I)

Steve Brookes (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)

Luca Cardelli (Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK)

Ilaria Castellani (INRIA Sophia-Antipolis, F)

Philippe Darondeau (INRIA Rennes, F)

Thomas Henzinger (University of California at Berkeley, USA)

Radha Jagadeesan (Loyola University Chicago, USA)

Marta Kwiatkowska (University of Birmingham, UK)

Dale Miller (Penn State University, USA, Co-chair)

Robin Milner (University of Cambridge, UK)

Uwe Nestmann (BRICS, DK)

Catuscia Palamidessi (Penn State University, USA, Co-chair)

Prakash Panangaden (McGill University, CA)

John Reppy (Bell Labs, USA)

Vladimiro Sassone (Università di Catania, I)

Moshe Y. Vardi (Rice University, USA)

Wang Yi (Uppsala Universitet, S)

Referees

Samson Abramsky Luca Aceto Luca de Alfaro Rajeev Alur Roberto Amadio Suzana Andova André Arnold Thomas Arts Eric Badouel Jos Baeten Paolo Baldan Marek A. Bednarczyk Giampaolo Bella Eike Best Chiara Bodei Frank de Boer Roland Bol Michele Boreale Michel Le Borgne Dragan Bošnački Ahmed Bouajjani Amar Bouali Gérard Boudol Olivier Bournez Stephen Brookes Roberto Bruni Glenn Bruns Benoît Caillaud Luca Cardelli Ilaria Castellani Rance Cleaveland Andrea Corradini Flavio Corradini Jean-Michel Couvreur Pedro R. D'Argenio Philippe Darondeau Pierpaolo Degano Raymond Devillers Henning Dierks André Engels Javier Esparza Gianluigi Ferrari Hans Fleischhack Riccardo Focardi

Cédric Fournet David de Frutos-Escrig Fabio Gadducci Paul Gastin Simon Gay Stefania Gnesi Jan Friso Groote Vineet Gupta Dilian Gurov Keijo Heljanko Matthew Hennessy Jesper G. Henriksen Thomas Henzinger Holger Hermanns Thomas T. Hildebrandt Leszek Holenderski Kohei Honda Benjamin Horowitz Hans Hüttel Anna Ingólfsdóttir Purushothaman Iyer Radha Jagadeesan Bengt Jonsson Jan Jürjens Joost-Pieter Katoen Josva Kleist Maciei Koutny K. Jelling Kristoffersen Marta Kwiatkowska Barbara König Anna Labella Patrick Lam Rom Langerak Diego Latella Björn Lisper Michele Loreti Gavin Lowe Bas Luttik Rupak Majumdar Freddy Y. C. Mang Will Marrero Narciso Marti-Oliet

Richard Mayr

Massimo Merro

Kees Middelburg Dale Miller Robin Milner Marius Minea Madhayan Mukund Uwe Nestmann Rocco De Nicola Mogens Nielsen Thomas Noll Gethin Norman Catuscia Palamidessi Prakash Panangaden Dave Parker Joachim Parrow Doron Peled Wojciech Penczek Antoine Petit Paul Pettersson Anna Philippou Sophie Pinchinat Alban Ponse Rosario Pugliese Michel A. Reniers Arend Rensink John Reppy Elvinia Riccobene Mark Ryan Andrei Sabelfeld Steve Schneider Phil Scott Roberto Segala Robert de Simone Eugene Stark Gheorghe Stefănescu Maciej Szreter Jean-Pierre Talpin P. S. Thiagarajan Emilio Tuosto Andrea Valente Moshe Vardi Biörn Victor Marc Voorhoeve Michal Walicki Heike Wehrheim

VIII Referees

Harro Wimmel Wang Yi Nobuko Yoshida

Wieslaw Zielonka Pascal Zimmer