Preface

The name of WDAG was changed to DISC (The International Symposium on DIStributed Computing) to reflect the expansion from a workshop to a symposium, as well as the expansion of the area of interest. DISC'98 builds on, and expands, the tradition of WDAG as a truly international symposium on all aspects of distributed computing. It is aimed to reflect the exciting and rapid developments in this field, and to help lead its continued exploration, by serving as a meeting point for researchers from various sub-fields.

Following 11 WDAGs, DISC'98 is the 12th in the series. This volume of DISC'98 contains the extended abstracts of the 28 papers presented at the symposium, held on September 24-26 1998, in Andros, Greece. Opening the volume are three extended abstracts based on three keynote lectures given at the symposium by Yoram Moses, Nicola Santoro, and Santosh Shrivastava.

The contributed papers were selected from 87 submissions, at a meeting of the program committee held in Athens, following an on-line discussion. The papers were read and evaluated by the program committee members, with the additional very helpful assistance of external reviewers when needed. It is expected that papers based on most of these extended abstracts will appear in scientific journals.

The program committee consisted of: Yair Amir (Johns Hopkins University), Tushar Chandra (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center), Bernadette Charron-Bost (CNRS, Ecole Polytechnique), Alfredo de Santis (University of Salerno), Faith Fich (University of Toronto), Ajei Gopal (IBM, Pervasive Computing), Yuh-Jzer Joung (National University of Taiwan), Shay Kutten – Chair (Technion, and IBM T.J. Watson Research Center), Marios Mavronicolas (University of Cyprus), Louise Moser (University of California, Santa Barbara), Noam Nisan (Hebrew University and IDC), Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv University), Peter Ruzicka (Comenius University), Nicola Santoro (Carleton University), Marc Shapiro (INRIA), Alex Shvartsman (University of Connecticut), and Paul Spirakis (Patras University and Computer Technology Institute).

The local arrangement (both for the committee meeting, and for the conference) were done by a team headed by Paul Spirakis (local arrangement chair) and Panagiota Fatourou (local arrangements co-chair) from Computer Technology Institute in Greece. They also took care of advertising the symposium, and the program committee chair would like to thank them for a wonderful job.

We would like to thank all the authors who submitted extended abstracts. There were interesting papers among those we could not accept, and their authors too share the contribution to enhancing DISC. We hope to see the continuing support of the next DISC, by everybody. We would also like to thank the invited speakers for joining us in Andros. The program chair would like to thank the program committee members who invested a lot of work and thought in the symposium.

We would like to thank ACM SIGACT for letting us use its automated submission server and its program committee server at sigact.acm.org, and Springer-Verlag for following the tradition and publishing our proceedings. It is a special pleasure to thank Esther Jennings and Rinat Regev for helping with operating the SIGACT server and Dana Fruchter for her help in putting together the final proceedings.

DISC thanks the following for their generous support:

The Greek Ministry of Education, the Greek General Secretary of Research and Technology, the University of Patras, Greek PTT (OTE), Intracom, and Intrasoft.

Continuation of the DISC events is supervised by the DISC Steering Committee, which, for 1998, consists of: Özalp Babaglu (U. Bologna), Bernadette Charron-Bost (E. Polytechnique), Vassos Hadzilacos (U. Toronto), Shay Kutten (Technion, and IBM), Marios Mavronicolas (U. Cyprus), Sam Toueg (Cornell) – Chair, and Shmuel Zaks (Technion) - Vice Chair.

July 1998

Shay Kutten DISC'98 Program Committee Chair

External Reviewers

The Program Committee wishes to thank the following persons, who acted as referees for DISC'98:

Y. Afek	M. Greenwald
D. Agrawal	R. Guerraoui
M. Aguilera	M. Herlihy
A. Allist	L. Higham
J. H. Anderson	G. Hunt
A. Baggio	J. James
G. Banavar	E. Jennings
C. Bastarrica	M. Kalantar
A. Basu	V. Kalogeraki
Y. Ben-Asher	D. Kaminsky
K. Berket	S. Katz
X. Blondel	I. Keidar
P. Boldi	C. Khoury
R. Borgstrom	R. R. Koch
S. Chari	E. Kushilevitz
O. Cheiner	F. Le Fessant
M. S. Chen	C. L. Lei
P. Dasgupta	G. Le Lann
A. K. Datta	S. Leonardi
S. Dandamudi	G. Lindstrom
O. Dedieu	T. J. Liu
C. Delporte-Gallet	D. Malkhi
S. Demurjian	B. Mans
S. Dolev	C. Mascolo
N. Dorta	F. Mattern
T. Eilam	P. M. Melliar-Smith
B. Englert	M. Moir
O. Etzion	B. Mukherjee
H. Fauconnier	P. Narasimhan
P. Flocchini	L. Narayanan
B. Folliot	G. Neiger
C. Fournet	R. Netzer
P. Fraigniaud	S. Onn
J. A. Garay	J. Parameswaran
0 0 '11	D. D.1

D. Peleg

C. Gavoille

M. Greenwald	J. Pershing
R. Guerraoui	F. Petit
M. Herlihy	G. Pierre
L. Higham	K. Potter-Kihlstrom
G. Hunt	S. Rajsbaum
J. James	A. Roncato
E. Jennings	E. M. Royer
M. Kalantar	E. Santos
V. Kalogeraki	A. Schiper
D. Kaminsky	H. Shachnai
S. Katz	D. Shaw
I. Keidar	G. Singh
C. Khoury	J. Stanton
R. R. Koch	R. Strom
E. Kushilevitz	D. Sturman
F. Le Fessant	R. B. Tan
C. L. Lei	G. Taubenfeld
G. Le Lann	G. Tel
S. Leonardi	L. A. Tewksbury
G. Lindstrom	S. Toueg
T. J. Liu	D. Touitou
D. Malkhi	Y. K. Tsay
B. Mans	G. Tsudik
C. Mascolo	M. Tuttle
F. Mattern	R. VanRenesse
P. M. Melliar-Smith	V. Villain
M. Moir	D. W. Wang
B. Mukherjee	F. Wang
P. Narasimhan	M. J. Ward
L. Narayanan	S. Weiss
G. Neiger	A. Wool
R. Netzer	D. Wu
S. Onn	L. C. Wuu
J. Parameswaran	S. Zaks