Preface

The Second International Conference on Data Warehousing and Knowledge Discovery (DaWaK 2000) was held in Greenwich, UK 4–6 September. DaWaK 2000 was a forum where researchers from data warehousing and knowledge discovery disciplines could exchange ideas on improving next generation decision support and data mining systems.

The conference focused on the logical and physical design of data warehousing and knowledge discovery systems. The scope of the papers covered the most recent and relevant topics in the areas of data warehousing, multidimensional databases, OLAP, knowledge discovery and mining complex databases. These proceedings contain the technical papers selected for presentation at the conference.

We received more than 90 papers from over 20 countries and the program committee finally selected 31 long papers and 11 short papers. The conference program included three invited talks, namely, "A Foolish Consistency: Technical Challenges in Consistency Management" by Professor Anthony Finkelstein, University College London, UK; "European Plan for Research in Data Warehousing and Knowledge Discovery" by Dr. Harald Sonnberger (Head of Unit A4, Eurostat, European Commission); and "Security in Data Warehousing" by Professor Bharat Bhargava, Purdue University, USA.

We would like to thank the DEXA 2000 workshop general chair (Professor Roland Wagner) and the organizing committee of the 11th International Conference on Database and Expert Systems Applications (DEXA 2000) for their support and cooperation. Many many thanks are due Ms Gabriela Wagner for providing a great deal of help and assistance. We are very indebted to all program committee members and outside reviewers who have very carefully and timely reviewed the papers. We would also like to thanks all the authors who submitted their papers to DaWaK 2000; they provided us with an excellent technical program.

Yahiko Kambayashi, General Chair Mukesh Mohania and A Min Tjoa, Program Committee Chairs Tok Wang Ling, Panel Chair

September 2000

Program Committee

General Chair:

Y. Kambayashi (Kyoto University Sakyo, Japan)

Program Chairs:

M. Mohania (University of South Australia)

A M. Tjoa (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)

Panel Chair:

T.W. Ling (National University of Singapore)

Program Committee:

- D. Agrawal (University California Santa Barbara)
- P. Atzeni (Università di Roma Tre, Italy)
- E. Baralis (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
- S.A. Becker (Florida Institute of Technology, USA)
- S. Berchtold (stb Software Technologie Beratung GmbH, Germany)
- B. Bhargava (Purdue University, USA)
- T. Catarci (Università degli Studi di Roma "La Sapienza", Italy)
- S. Chakravarthy (University of Florida, USA)
- P. Chamoni (University Duisburg, Germany)
- Q. Chen (HP Labs, USA)

Arbee L.P. Chen (National Tsing-Hua University, Taiwan)

- C.-M. Chen (Telcordia Technologies, USA)
- S. Choenni (National Aerospace Laboratory, The Netherlands)
- P.K. Chrysanthis (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
- G. Dong (Wright State University, USA)
- V. Estivill-Castro (The University of Newcastle, Australia)
- U. Fayyad (Microsoft, USA)
- S. Goel (Informix, USA)
- A. Gupta (Western Michigan University, USA)
- S. K. Gupta (Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India)
- M. Gyssens (University of Limburg, Belgium)
- J. Han (Simon Fraser University, Canada)
- J. Harrison (University of Queensland, Australia)
- K. Karlapalem (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China)
- S. Kaski (Helsinki University of Technology, Finland)
- H. Kawano (Kyoto University, Japan)
- L. Kerschberg (George Mason University, USA)
- M. Kitsuregawa (University of Tokyo, Japan)
- F. Korn (AT&T, USA)
- V. Kumar (University of Missouri-Kansas City, USA)
- L. V.S. Lakshmanan (Concordia University, Canada)
- D. Lee (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China)
- W. Lehner (IBM Almaden Research Center, USA)
- L. Libkin (Bell Labs, USA)

- Q. Li (City University of Hong Kong, China)
- T.W. Ling (National University of Singapore)
- H. Lu (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China)
- S. Madria (Purdue University, USA)
- H. Mannila (Microsoft, USA)
- S. Navathe (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
- R. Ng (University of British Columbia, Canada)
- W.-K. Ng (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
- S. Nishio (Osaka University, Japan)
- S. Paraboschi (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
- D.S. Parker (University of California, USA)
- S. Pramanik (Michigan State University, USA)
- C. Rainsford (Defence Science Technology Organisation, Australia)
- J. Roddick (University of South Australia)
- E. A. Rundensteiner (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA)
- D. Sacca (Università della Calabria, Italy)
- S. Samtani (Telcordia Technologies, USA)
- N.L. Sarda (Indian Institute of Technology Mumbai, India)
- M. Schrefl (University of South Australia, Australia)
- T. Sellis (National Technical University of Athens, Greece)
- K. Shim (Bell Labs, USA)
- I.-Y. Song (Drexel University, USA)
- J. Srivastava (University of Minnesota, USA)
- E. Teniente (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain)
- H. Toivonen (Nokia Research Center, Finland)
- M. Vincent (University of South Australia)
- B. Wuthrich (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China)
- J. Zytkow (University of North Carolina, USA)