# Preface

Ten years ago, the first European Symposium on Research in Computer Security was created in Toulouse. It had been initiated by the French AFCET Technical Committee on Information System Security, and mostly by its President, Gilles Martin, who deceased a few months before. Toulouse was a natural choice for its venue, since two of the most important French research teams in security were and still are in Toulouse: ONERA and LAAS-CNRS. At this first symposium, one third of the presented papers were from French authors, while half of the papers came from other European countries.

The second time ESORICS was held, also in Toulouse in November 1992, the number of accepted papers that came from France had decreased by half, equalling the number of US papers, while about two thirds of the papers came from other European countries. It was then recognised that ESORICS was really a European Symposium, and an international steering committee was established to promote the venue of ESORICS in other European countries. This led to the organisation of ESORICS 94 in Brighton, UK; ESORICS 96 in Rome, Italy; and ESORICS 98 in Louvain, Belgium. During these ten years, ESORICS has established its reputation as the main event in research on computer security in Europe.

With this series of biannual events, ESORICS gathers researchers and practitioners of computer security and gives them the opportunity to present the most recent advances in security theory or more practical concerns such as social engineering or the risks related to simplistic implementations of strong security mechanisms.

For its tenth anniversary, ESORICS is coming back to Toulouse, and its success will be reinforced by the conjunction with RAID 2000, the Symposium on Recent Advances in Intrusion Detection. Born as a workshop joined to ESO-RICS 98, RAID is now an annual event and the most important international symposium in its area. Let us hope that for the next ten years, ESORICS will again visit other European countries and give rise to other successful security spin-offs.

Yves Deswarte

#### VI Preface

Since the First European Symposium on Research in Computer Security in 1990, ESORICS has become an established international conference on the theory and practice of computer security and the main research-oriented security conference in Europe.

ESORICS 2000 received 75 submissions, all of which were reviewed by at least three programme committee members or other experts. At a two-day meeting of the programme committee all submissions were discussed, and 19 papers were selected for presentation at the conference.

Two trends in computer security became prominent since ESORICS 1998 and thus received special room in the programme: Cybercrime and the lack of dependability of the Internet, and the renaissance of formal methods in security analysis. The former is not reflected by research papers yet, but in order to facilitate discussion we included a panel discussion on "Cybercrime and Cybercops." The latter trend convinced us to allocate two sessions to this topic, namely, on protocol verification and security property analysis.

We gratefully acknowledge all authors who submitted papers for their efforts in maintaining the standards of this conference. It is also our pleasure to thank the members of the programme committee and the additional reviewers for their work and support.

> Frédéric Cuppens Michael Waidner

## **Program Committee**

Chair: Frédéric Cuppens	ONERA Centre de Toulouse, France
Vice-Chair: Michael Waidner	IBM Research, Switzerland

N. Asokan	Nokia Research Center, Finland
Elisa Bertino	University of Milan, Italy
Joachim Biskup	University of Dortmund, Germany
Bernd Blobel	University of Magdeburg, Germany
Ulf Carlsen	Protective Technology, Norway
Marc Dacier	IBM Research, Switzerland
Yves Deswarte	LAAS-CNRS, France
Gérard Eizenberg	ONERA Centre de Toulouse, France
Jean-Charles Fabre	LAAS-CNRS, France
Simon Foley	University College Cork, Ireland
Pierre Girard	GEMPLUS, France
Dieter Gollmann	Microsoft Research, UK
Roberto Gorrieri	University of Bologna, Italy
Joshua Guttman	MITRE, USA
Jeremy Jacob	University of York, UK
Sushil Jajodia	George Mason University, USA
Dirk Jonscher	Crédit Suisse, Switzerland
Sokratis Katsikas	University of the Aegean, Greece
Helmut Kurth	ATSEC GmbH, Germany
Carl Landwehr	Mitretek, USA
Ludovic Mé	Supélec, France
Catherine Meadows	Naval Research Laboratory, USA
John Mitchell	Stanford University, USA
Emilio Montolivo	Fondazione Ugo Bordoni, Italy
Jean-Jacques Quisquater	Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Peter Ryan	SRI, UK
Pierangela Samarati	University of Milan, Italy
Jacques Stern	École Supérieure Normale, France

## **Additional Reviewers**

Cy Ardoin (Mitretek Systems, USA), Vittorio Bagini (Fondazione Ugo Bordoni, Italy), Michele Boreale (University of Firenze, Italy), Paul Bourret (ONERA Centre de Toulouse, France), Marco Bucci (Fondazione Ugo Bordoni, Italy), Cecilia Catalano (Fondazione Ugo Bordoni, Italy), Bruno Crispo (SRI, UK), Antonio Durante (University of Bologna, Italy), Elena Ferrari (University of Milano, Italy), Riccardo Focardi (University of Venezia, Italy), Pierre-Alain Fouque (ENS, France), Philip Ginzboorg (Nokia Research Center, Finland), Louis Granboulan (ENS, France), Helena Handschuh (GEMPLUS, France), Jonathan Herzog (MITRE, USA), Klaus Julisch (IBM Research, Switzerland), Marc-Olivier

#### VIII Program Committee

Killijian (LAAS-CNRS, France), Helger Lipmaa (Nokia Research Center, Finland), Eric Marsden (LAAS-CNRS, France), Fabio Martinelli IAT-CNR, Italy), Renato Menicocci (Fondazione Ugo Bordoni, Italy), Richard Murphy (Mitretek Systems, USA), Valtteri Niemi (Nokia Research Center, Finland), Peng Ning (George Mason University, USA), Kaisa Nyberg (Nokia Research Center, Finland), David Pointcheval (ENS, France), Guillaume Poupard (ENS, France), Roberto Segala (University of Bologna, Italy), Francisco Javier Thayer (MITRE, USA), Andreas Wespi (IBM Research, Switzerland), Ningning Wu (George Mason University, USA), Charles Youman (George Mason University, USA), Lenore Zuck (MITRE, USA).

### **Organisation** Committee

Claire Saurel	ONERA Centre de Toulouse, Co-Chair
Gilles Trouessin	CNAMTS CESSI, Co-Chair
Jérôme Carrère	ONERA Centre de Toulouse
Francine Decavèle	ONERA Centre de Toulouse
Brigitte Giacomi	ONERA Centre de Toulouse
Marie-Thérèse Ippolito	LAAS-CNRS
Rudolphe Ortalo	NEUROCOM
Roger Payrau	ONERA Centre de Toulouse