Preface

Uncertainty is an increasingly important research topic in many areas of computer science. Many formalisms are being developed, with much interest at the theory level directed at developing a better understanding of the formalisms and identifying relationships between formalisms, and at the technology level directed at developing software tools for formalisms and applications of formalisms.

The main European forum for the subject is the European Conference on Symbolic and Quantitative Approaches to Reasoning and Uncertainty (EC-SQARU). Following the success of the previous ECSQARU conferences, held in Marseilles (1991), Granada (1993), Fribourg (1995), and Bonn (1997), the fifth conference in the series was held at University College London in July 1999.

This volume contains papers accepted for presentation at ECSQARU'99. In addition to the main conference, two workshops were held. The first was on Decision Theoretic and Game Theoretic Agents, chaired by Simon Parsons and Mike Wooldridge, and the second was on Logical and Uncertainty Models for Information Systems, chaired by Fabio Crestani and Mounia Lalmas. Selected papers from the workshops are also included in these proceedings.

We are indebited to the programmme committee for their effort in organising the programme, to the invited speakers, and to the presenters of the tutorials. Furthermore, we gratefully acknowledge the contribution of the many referees who were involved in the reviewing process. Finally we would like to thank the Department of Computer Science at University College London for administrative support.

Programme Committee

The programme committee was chaired by Anthony Hunter (University College London), and comprised Dov Gabbay (King's College London), Finn Jensen (Aalborg University), Rudolf Kruse (University of Magdeburg), Simon Parsons (Queen Mary, University of London) Henri Prade (IRIT, Toulouse), Torsten Schaub (University of Potsdam), and Philippe Smets (ULB, Bruxelles).

Reviewers

The programme committee is very grateful for all the hard work contributed by the reviewers. Hopefully, we have not missed anyone from the following list: Bruce D'Ambrosio, Florence Bannay, Salem Benferhat, Philippe Besnard, Hugues Bersini, Christian Borgelt, Rachel Bourne, Stefan Brass, Laurence Cholvy, Roger Cooke, Adnan Darwiche, Yannis Dimopoulos, Jurgen Dix, Didier Dubois, Uwe Egly, Linda van der Gaag, Joerg Gebhardt, Siegfried Gottwald, Rolf Haenni, Jean-Yves Jaffray, Radim Jirousek, Ruth Kempson, Uffe Kjaerulf, Frank Klawonn, Aljoscha Klose, Juerg Kohlas, Paul Krause, Gerhard Lakemeyer, Mounia Lalmas, Jerome Lang, Kim G. Larsen, Norbert Lehmann, T. Y. Lin, Thomas Linke, Khalid Mellouli, Jerome Mengin, J.-J. Ch. Meyer, Sanjay Modgil, Yves Moinard, Serafin Moral, Detlef Nauck, Ann Nicholson, Pascal Nicolas, Dennis

VI Preface

Nilsson, Kristian G. Olesen, Rainer Palm, Zdzislaw Pawlak, Vincent Risch, Regis Sabbadin, Camilla Schwind, Prakash P. Shenoy, Milan Studeny, Heiko Timm, Hans Tompits, Marco Valtorta, and Cees Witteven.

April 1999

Anthony Hunter and Simon Parsons