Preface

Formal methods are coming of age. Mathematical techniques and tools are now regarded as an important part of the development process in a wide range of industrial and governmental organisations. A transfer of technology into the mainstream of systems development is slowly, but surely, taking place.

FM'99, the First World Congress on Formal Methods in the Development of Computing Systems, is a result, and a measure, of this new-found maturity. It brings an impressive array of industrial and applications-oriented papers that show how formal methods have been used to tackle real problems.

These proceedings are a record of the technical symposium of FM'99: along-side the papers describing applications of formal methods, you will find technical reports, papers, and abstracts detailing new advances in formal techniques, from mathematical foundations to practical tools.

The World Congress is the successor to the four Formal Methods Europe Symposia, which in turn succeeded the four VDM Europe Symposia. This succession reflects an increasing openness within the international community of researchers and practitioners: papers were submitted covering a wide variety of formal methods and application areas.

The programme committee reflects the Congress's international nature, with a membership of 84 leading researchers from 38 different countries. The committee was divided into 19 tracks, each with its own chair to oversee the reviewing process. Our collective task was a difficult one: there were 259 high-quality submissions from 35 different countries.

Each paper was reviewed within a track, the track chairs resolved conflicts between reviewers, and the recommendations of each track chair were considered by the executive programme committee. This resulted in 92 papers being accepted, along with 15 abstracts describing work in progress and industrial applications.

We thank all those members of the programme and organising committees for their hard work, carried out under necessarily short deadlines. Thanks are due also to our able administrators, Maureen York and Anna Curtis; they did an excellent job and they deserve our gratitude for their contribution.

Finally, thanks to all those who submitted papers and attended the Congress: it is your hard work that has made it such a timely and important event.

July 1999

Jeannette Wing Jim Woodcock Jim Davies

Technical Tracks

The tracks that structure the technical symposium may be divided into three groups. First, there are application areas:

- Avionics
- Co-design
- Open information systems
- Safety
- Security
- Telecommunications

Second, there are processes and techniques:

- Composition and synthesis
- Integration
- Model checking
- Software architecture

- Object orientation
- Program verification
- Refinement
- Testing

Finally, there are groups of users and researchers:

- European Association for Theoretical Computer Science
- Foundations of System Specification
- Formal Description of Programming Concepts
- Abstract State Machines

- European Theory and Practice of Software
- Algebraic Methods in Software Technology
- OBJ / CafeOBJ / Maude
- The B method

Our five distinguished invited speakers are Tony Hoare of the University of Oxford, Cliff Jones of the University of Manchester, Amir Pnueli of the Weizmann Institute, Joseph Sifakis of Verimag, John Rushby of SRI International, and Michael Jackson, independent consultant.

Symposium Committee

Keijiro Araki, Japan Egidio Astesiano, Italy Albert Benveniste, France Didier Bert, France Dines Bjørner, Denmark Robin Bloomfield, UK Dominique Bolignano, France

Egon Börger, Italy Jonathan Bowen, UK Wilfried Brauer, Germany

Ed Brinksma, NL Manfred Broy, Germany Andrew Butterfield, Ireland

Jacques Cazin, France
Edmund Clarke, USA
Dan Craigen, Canada
Jorge Cuéllar, Germany
Aristides Dasso, Argentina

 $\begin{array}{c} {\rm Jim~Davies,~UK} \\ {\rm Tim~Denvir,~UK} \end{array}$

Jin Song Dong, Singapore

Steve Dunne, UK

Hartmut Ehrig, Germany John Fitzgerald, UK

Laure Pauline Fotso, Cameroon Birgitte Fröhlich, Austria

Kokichi Futatsugi, Japan David Garlan, USA

Marie-Claude Gaudel, France

Chris George, Macau
David Gries, USA
Henri Habrias, France
Armando Haeberer, Brazil
Nicolas Halbwachs, France
Kirsten Mark Hansen, Denmark

Anne Haxthausen, Denmark Ian Hayes, Australia

Rick Hehner, Canada Valérie Issarny, France Rene Jacquart, France Randolph Johnson, USA Bengt Jonsson, Sweden Leonid Kalinichenko, Russia

Kanchana Kanchanasut, Thailand

Kyo Chul Kang, Korea Marite Kirikova, Latvia Derrick Kourie, South Africa

Souleymane Koussoube, Burkina Faso

Reino Kurki-Suonio, Finland Axel van Lamsweerde, Belgium Jean-Claude Laprie, France Peter Gorm Larsen, Denmark

Shaoying Liu, Japan Peter Lucas, Austria

Micheal Mac an Airchinnigh, Ireland

Tom Maibaum, UK Zohar Manna, USA Lynn Marshall, Canada Kees Middelburg, NL Markus Montigel, Austria Peter Mosses, Denmark Friederike Nickl, Germany Nikolai Nikitchenko, Ukraine

Ernst-Rüdiger Olderog, Germany José Nuno Oliveira, Portugal

Fernando Orejas, Spain Paritosh Pandya, India Jan Peleska, Germany

Roger Noussi, Gabon

Frantisek Plásil, Czech Republic

Igor Prívara, Slovakia Hans Rischel, Denmark Ken Robinson, Australia Teodor Rus, USA

Augusto Sampaio, Brazil Georgy Satchock, Belarus Kaisa Sere, Finland

Natarajan Shankar, USA
Joseph Sifakis, France
Doug Smith, USA
Radu Soricut, Rumania
Andrzej Tarlecki, Poland
T.H. Tse, Hong Kong
Bogdan Warinski, Rumania

Jeannette Wing, USA Jim Woodcock, UK Pamela Zave, USA Zhou Chaochen, Macau

VIII Congress Organisation

Congress General Chair Dines Bjørner

Programme Committee Co-chairs Jeannette Wing and Jim Woodcock

Organisation Committee Chair Rene Jacquart

Local Organisation and Publicity
Jacques Cazin

Congress Public Relations Officer
Jonathan Bowen

Congress Sponsors

AMAST France Telecom

Aérospatiale Airbus IFIP
Alcatel Space INRIA
CCIT IPSJ
CEPIS IRIT
CNES JSSST
CNRS LAAS

Cap Gemini Mairie de Toulouse Carnegie-Mellon University Matra Marconi Space

Conseil Regional Midi-Pyrenees ONERA

DGA Technical University of Delft
EATCS Technical University of Denmark
ESA Technical University of Graz
ETAPS Translimina

European Union University of Oxford

FACS University of Reading FME