### **Preface**

This volume consists of the refereed papers presented at the *Fifth International Conference on Logic Programming and Nonmonotonic Reasoning* (LPNMR'99) held at El Paso, Texas, in December 1999.

LPNMR'99 is the fifth in a series of international meetings on logic programming and nonmonotonic reasoning. Four previous meetings were held in Washington, U.S.A., in 1991, in Lisbon, Portugal, in 1993, in Lexington, U.S.A., in 1995, and in Dagstuhl, Germany, in 1997. The aim of the LPNMR conferences is to facilitate interactions between researchers interested in logic based programming languages and database systems and researchers who work in the areas of knowledge representation and nonmonotonic reasoning.

In addition to presentations of accepted papers the conference will feature talks by four invited speakers — *Marco Cadoli, Vladimir Lifschitz, David Mc Allester*, and *Leora Morgenstern*.

Many people contributed to the success of the LPNMR'99 conference. Special thanks are due to the program committee and the additional reviewers for careful evaluation of the submitted papers. We would also like to thank Gopal Gupta and Danny De Schreye for their efforts in coordinating the schedules of ICLP99 and LPNMR99, and Georg Gottlob, chair of the LPNMR steering committee, who provided continuous advise and support to the program chairs. The conference was financially supported by the University of Texas at El Paso and Compulog Net provided support for a European invited speaker.

December 1999

Michael Gelfond Nicola Leone Gerald Pfeifer

# Conference Organization

## **Program Co-Chairs**

Michael Gelfond (University of Texas at El Paso, USA) Nicola Leone (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)

### **Program Committee**

Jose Julio Alferes (Universidade de Evora, Portugal)

Chitta Baral (University of Texas at El Paso, USA)

Nicole Bidoit (Université de Bordeaux 1, France)

Jürgen Dix (University of Koblenz, Germany)

Thomas Eiter (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)

Fangzhen Lin (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China)

Jack Minker (University of Maryland, USA)

Anil Nerode (Cornell University, USA)

Ilkka Niemela (Helsinki University of Technology, Finland)

Dino Pedreschi (University of Pisa, Italy)

Pasquale Rullo (University of Calabria, Rende, Italy)

Chiaki Sakama (Wakayama University, Japan)

V.S. Subrahmanian (University of Maryland, USA)

Francesca Toni (Imperial College, London, U.K.)

Miroslaw Truszczynski (University of Kentucky at Lexington, USA)

Hudson Turner (University of Minnesota at Duluth, USA)

Moshe Y. Vardi (Rice University, USA)

Jia-Huai You (University of Alberta, Canada)

## **Publicity Chair**

Gerald Pfeifer (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)

#### **Additional Reviewers**

Roberto Barbuti	Stefan Brass	Krysia Broda
Francesco Buccafurri	Carlos Damasio	Alexander Dekhtyar
Phan Minh Dung	Uwe Egly	Wolfgang Faber
Sergio Greco	Jeff Horty	Katsumi Inoue

Tomi Janhunen Hirofumi Katsuno Thomas Lukasiewicz Victor Marek Iara Mora Luis Moniz Pereira Salvatore Ruggieri Dietmar Seipel Terry Swift Chris Johnson Vladimir Lifschitz Sofian Maabout Cristinel Mateis Mirco Nanni Gerald Pfeifer Fariba Sadri Hirohisa Seki Hans Tompits Kewen Wang Antonis Kakas Jorge Lobo Giuseppe Manco Yuji Matsumoto Luigi Palopoli Inna Pivkina Francesco Scarcello Patrik Simons Ulrich Zukowski