Preface

The biannual *Formal Methods in Computer Aided Design* conference (FMCAD 2000) is the third in a series of conferences under that title devoted to the use of discrete mathematical methods for the analysis of computer hardware and software. The work reported in this book describes the use of modeling languages and their associated automated analysis tools to specify and verify computing systems.

Functional verification has become one of the principal costs in a modern computer design effort. In addition, verification of circuit models, timing, power, etc., requires even more effort. FMCAD provides a venue for academic and industrial researchers and practitioners to share their ideas and experiences of using discrete mathematical modeling and verification. It is noted with interest by the conference chairmen how this area has grown from just a few people 15 years ago to a vibrant area of research, development, and deployment. It is clear that these methods are helping reduce the cost of designing computing systems. As an example of this potential cost reduction, we have invited David Russinoff of Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. to describe his verification of floating-point algorithms being used in AMD microprocessors. The program includes 30 regular presentations selected from 63 submitted papers.

The FMCAD conference has a long history dating back to 1984, when the earliest meetings on this topic occurred. A series of workshops sponsored by IFIP WG10.2 were held in Darmstadt (1984, org. Hans Eveking), Edinburgh (1985, org. George J. Milne and P.A. Subrahmanyam), Grenoble (1986, org. Dominique Borrione), Glasgow (1988, org. George J. Milne), Leuven (1989, org. Luc Claessen), and Miami (1990, org. P.A. Subrahmanyam). FMCAD originally had the name Theorem Provers in Circuit Design. TPCD meetings were held in Nijmegen (1992, org. Raymond T. Boute, Thomas Melham, and Victoria Stavridou) and Bad Herrenalb (1994, org. Thomas Kropf and Ramayya Kumar). Renamed Formal Methods in Computer Aided Design, the venue was changed to San Jose for the next two meetings (1996, org. Albert Camilleri and Mandayam Srivas, and 1998, org. Ganesh Goplakrishan and Phillip J. Windley). FMCAD 2000 was held in Austin. FMCAD alternates with the biannual conference on Correct Hardware Design and Verification Methods. CHARME originated with a research presentation of the ESPRIT group "CHARME" at Torino. Subsequent conferences were held at Arles (1993, org. George J. Milne and Laurence Pierre), Frankfort (1995, org. Hans Eveking and Paolo Camurati), Montreal (1997, org. Hon F. Li and David K. Probst), and Bad Herrenalb (1999, org. Thomas Kropf and Laurence Pierre).

VI Preface

The organizers are grateful to Advanced Micro Devices, Inc., Cadence Design Systems, Inc., Compaq Computer Corp., IBM Corp., Intel Corp., Prover Technology AB, Real Intent Corp., Synopsys, Inc., and Xilinx Inc., for their financial sponsorship, which considerably eased the organization of the conference.

Dan Elgin and Jo Moore are to be thanked for their tireless effort; they kept us on an organized and orderly path.

November 2000

Warren A. Hunt, Jr. Steven D. Johnson

Organization

FMCAD 2000 was organized and held in Austin, Texas, U.S.A., at Austin's Marriott at the Capitol. An ACL2 workshop and a tutorial and workshop on Formal Specification and Verification Methods for Shared Memory Systems were also held in conjunction with FMCAD 2000.

Program Committee

Conference Chairs: Warren A. Hunt, Jr. (IBM Austin Research Lab, USA) Steven D. Johnson (Indiana University, USA) Mark Aagaard (Intel Corporation, USA) Dominique Borrione (Laboratoire TIMA and Université Joseph Fourier, France) Randy Bryant (Carnegie Mellon University, USA) Albert Camilleri (Hewlett-Packard Co., USA) Eduard Cerny (Université de Montréal, Canada) Shiu-Kai Chin (Syracuse University, USA) Luc Claesen (LCI SMARTpen N.V. & K.U.Leuven, Belgium) Edmund Clarke (Carnegie Mellon University, USA) David L. Dill (Stanford University, USA) Hans Eveking (Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany) Limor Fix (Intel Corporation, Israel) Masahiro Fujita (University of Toyko, Japan) Steven German (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA) Ganesh Gopalakrishnan (University of Utah, USA) Mike Gordon (Cambridge University, UK) Yuri Gurevich (Microsoft Research, USA) Kieth Hanna (University of Kent, Great Britian) Alan Hu (University of British Columbia, Canada) Damir Jamsek (IBM Austin Research Lab, USA) Matt Kaufmann (Advanced Micro Devices, Inc., USA) Thomas Kropf (Robert Bosch GmbH and University of Tübingen, Germany) Andreas Kuehlmann (Cadence Design Systems, Inc., USA) John Launchbury (Oregon Graduate Institute, USA) Tim Leonard (Compaq Computer Corp., USA) Ken McMillan (Cadence Berkeley Labs, USA) Tom Melham (University of Glasgow, Scotland) Paul Miner (NASA Langley Research Center, USA) John O'Leary (Intel Corp., USA) Laurence Pierre (Université de Provence, France) Carl Pixley (Motorola, Inc., USA) Amir Pnueli (Technion, Israel) Rajeev Ranjan (Real Intent Corp., USA)

VIII Organization

David Russinoff (Advanced Micro Devices, Inc., USA) Mary Sheeran (Chalmers Univ. of Technology and Prover Technology, Sweden) Anna Slobodova (Compaq Computer Corp., USA) Mandayam Srivas (SRI International, USA) Victoria Stavridou (SRI International, USA) Ranga Vemuri (University of Cincinnati, USA) Matthew Wilding (Rockwell Collins, Inc., USA) Phillip J. Windley (Brigham Young University, USA)

Additional Referees

Tamarah AronsR.Annette BunkerM.Venkatesh ChoppellaN.Bruno DutertreN.Dana FismanR.Rob GerthSrDavid GreveV.Dirk HoffmannH.

Ravi Hosabettu Michael D. Jones Nazanin Mansouri Nir Piterman Rajesh Radhakrishnan Sriram Rajamani Vanderlei Rodrigues Hassen Saidi Elad Shahar Robert Shaw Kanna Shimizu Robert Sumners Elena Teica Margus Veanes