### **Preface**

This volume contains 3 invited papers, 15 regular papers, and 22 poster papers that were selected for presentation at the Third International Conference on Discovery Science (DS 2000), which was held 4-6 December 2000 in Kyoto. The Program Committee selected the contributed papers from 48 submissions.

Three distinguished researchers accepted our invitation to present talks: Jeffrey D. Ullman (Stanford University), Joseph Y. Halpern (Cornell University), and Masami Hagiya (University of Tokyo).

The Program Committee would like to thank all those who submitted papers for consideration and the invited speakers. I would like to thank the Program Committee members, the Local Arrangements Committee members, and the Steering Committee members for their splendid and hard work. Finally, special thanks go to the PC Assistant Shoko Suzuki for her assistance in the development of web pages and the preparation of these proceedings.

September 2000

Shinichi Morishita

## Organization

Discovery Science 2000 is organized as part of the activities of the Discovery Science Project sponsored by Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research in the Priority Area from the Ministry of Education, Science, Sports and Culture (MESSC) of Japan, in cooperation with the Japanese Society for Artificial Intelligence, and with SIG of Data Mining, Japan Society for Software Science and Technology.

#### Conference Chair

Setsuo Arikawa Kyushu University

#### **Program Committee**

Shinichi Morishita (Chair) University of Tokyo Hiroki Arimura Kyushu University

Roberto Bayardo IBM Almaden Research Center Charles Elkan University of California, San Diego

Peter A. Flach University of Bristol Koichi Furukawa Keio University Randy Goebel University of Alberta Yukiyoshi Kameyama Kyoto University Naoki Katoh Kyoto University Ross D. King University of Wales Nada Lavrac Jozef Stefan Institute University of Dortmund Katharina Morik

Hiroshi Motoda Osaka University University of British Columbia Raymond T. Ng

Koichi Niijima Kyushu University

Claude Sammut University of New South Wales Taisuke Sato Tokyo Institute of Technology Etsuya Shibayama Tokyo Institute of Technology

Bell Laboratories Kyuseok Shim Ayumi Shinohara Kyushu University Carl H. Smith University of Maryland Osamu Watanabe Tokyo Institute of Technology Limsoon Wong Kent Ridge Digital Labs

## Local Arrangements Committee

Masahiko Sato (Chair) Kyoto University Yukiyoshi Kameyama Kyoto University Hiroyuki Kawano Kyoto University Sadao Kurohashi Kyoto University Ayumi Shinohara Kyushu University

# Steering Committee

Setsuo Arikawa (Chair) Kyushu University
Yasumasa Kanada University of Tokyo
Akira Maruoka Tohoku University
Satoru Miyano University of Tokyo
Masahiko Sato Kyoto University

Taisuke Sato Tokyo Institute of Technology