Preface

This volume of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series contains all the papers accepted for presentation at the 11th IFIP/IEEE International Workshop on Distributed Systems: Operations & Management (DSOM 2000), which was held at the Thompson Conference Center, The University of Texas, Austin, Texas, USA, from 4 to 6 December, 2000.

DSOM 2000 is the eleventh workshop in a series of annual workshops and it follows in the footsteps of highly successful previous meetings, the most recent of which were held in Zurich, Switzerland (DSOM'99), Delaware, USA (DSOM'98) and Sydney, Australia (DSOM'97). The goal of the DSOM workshops is to bring together researchers in the areas of network, systems and services management, from both industry and academia, to discuss recent advances and foster future growth in this field. In contrast to the larger management symposia, such as IM (Integrated Management) and NOMS (Network Operations and Management Symposium), the DSOM workshops are organized as single-track programs in order to stimulate interaction among participants.

The specific focus of DSOM 2000 is "Services Management in Intelligent Networks", reflecting the current interest and development in the field of distributed, networked application services, their definition, operation and management. Most of the papers presented at the workshop address some important aspect of this broad problem area. This year we have departed slightly from the traditional DSOM format. We have introduced two sessions devoted to the presentation and discussion of papers that describe work-in-progress.

The level of interest in DSOM has been growing steadily over the years. This year we were fortunate to receive 65 high quality papers from 14 countries, of which 21 were selected for the seven technical sessions. In addition, we received 19 work-in-progress papers, of which 12 were selected.

This workshop owes its success to all the members of the technical program committee, who did an excellent job of encouraging their colleagues in the field to submit high quality papers, and who devoted a lot of their time to help create an outstanding technical program. We thank them sincerely. We are also very grateful to the volunteer reviewers who gave generously of their time to make the review process effective. The DSOM 2000 website and the automated paper submission and review system were developed and hosted at POSTECH, Korea, under the supervision of James Hong and Sook-Hyun Ryu. We are thankful to them for providing this facility. And finally, we would like to express our thanks to Alexander Keller for helping us edit and put together this volume.

October 2000

Anthony Ambler Seraphin B. Calo Gautam Kar

Organization

General Chair

Seraphin B. Calo IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, U.S.A.

Technical Program Co-chairs

Anthony Ambler University of Texas at Austin, U.S.A.
Gautam Kar IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, U.S.A.

Liaisons

IFIP TC WG6.6: Wolfgang Zimmer, GMD First, Germany IEEE ComSoc: Douglas Zuckerman, Telcordia Technologies, U.S.A.

DSOM 2000 Supporters and Patrons

IBM Research Division, Yorktown Heights, New York, U.S.A.





IEEE, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

IFIP, International Federation for Information Processing





Tivoli Systems Inc., Austin, Texas, U.S.A.

Program Committee

Sebastian Abeck University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Nikos Anerousis Voicemate, U.S.A. Enrico Bagnasco CSELT, Italy

Suzanne Barber University of Texas, U.S.A.
Raouf Boutaba University of Waterloo, Canada

Marcus Brunner
Rob Davison
Rotin Feridun
Kurt Geihs

NEC Europe, Germany
British Telecom, U.K.
IBM Research, Switzerland
University of Frankfurt, Germany

German S. Goldszmidt $IBM\ T.J.\ Watson\ Research\ Center,\ U.S.A.$ Sigmund Handelman $IBM\ T.J.\ Watson\ Research\ Center,\ U.S.A.$

Heinz-Gerd Hegering University of Munich, Germany

Joseph Hellerstein IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, U.S.A.

James Hong POSTECH, Korea

Gabriel Jakobson GTE Laboratories, U.S.A. Irene Katzela Lucent Netcare, Canada

Ryutaro Kawamura NTT, Japan

Alexander Keller IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, U.S.A.

Yoshiaki Kiriha NEC, Japan

Emil Lupu Imperial College, U.K.

Hanan Lutfiyya University of Western Ontario, Canada

Kenneth Lutz $Telcordia\ Technologies,\ U.S.A.$ Thomas Magedanz $IKV++\ GmbH,\ Germany$

Jean-Philippe Martin-Flatin EPFL, Switzerland

Subrata Mazumdar Avaya Communication, U.S.A.

Branislav Meandzija General Instrument Corporation, U.S.A.

George Pavlou University of Surrey, U.K.

Aiko Pras University of Twente, The Netherlands
Pradeep Ray University of New South Wales, Australia

Jürgen SchönwälderTU Braunschweig, GermanyAdarshpal SethiUniversity of Delaware, U.S.A.Morris SlomanImperial College, U.K.Rolf StadlerColumbia University, U.S.A.

Burkhard Stiller

ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Columbia University, U.S.A.

Carlos B. Westphall Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil

Wolfgang Zimmer GMD FIRST, Germany

Simon Znaty EFORT. France

Douglas Zuckerman Telcordia Technologies, U.S.A.

Reviewers

The task of reviewing the papers submitted to DSOM 2000 was extremely important. It is therefore a great pleasure to thank all the reviewers listed below for their serious and detailed comments. The list includes both members of the DSOM Committees and volunteer reviewers. Their efforts were key in maintaining the high quality of the workshop.

Sebastian Abeck Anthony Ambler Nikos Anerousis

Karen Appleby
Juan-Ignacio Asensio
Enrico Bagnasco

Suzanne Barber Mark Bearden Raouf Boutaba David Breitgand

Marcus Brunner Seraphin B. Calo Ho-Yen Chang Rob Davison

Gabi Dreo Rodosek Toru Egashira Metin Feridun Luciano Gaspary Kurt Geihs

German S. Goldszmidt Lisandro Granville Abdelhakim Hafid Sigmund Handelman Heinz-Gerd Hegering Joseph Hellerstein

Christian Hoertnagl
James Won-Ki Hong
Gabriel Jakobson
Gautam Kar
George Karetsos
Olaf Kath

Ryutaro Kawamura Alexander Keller Jae-Young Kim Andreas Kind Yoshiaki Kiriha

Armin Kittel

Yao Liang

Jorge E. Lopez-de-Vergara

Emil Lupu Hanan Lutfiyya Kenneth Lutz Sheng Ma

Thomas Magedanz Ian Marshall

Jean-Philippe Martin-Flatin

Subrata Mazumdar Branislav Meandzija Marcos Novaes Yongseok Park George Pavlou Aiko Pras Xuesong Qiu Pradeep Ray

Jürgen Schönwälder Adarshpal Sethi Chien-Chung Shen Ana Cristina Silva Edson Silva Jr. Morris Sloman Ron A. M. Sprenkels

Rolf Stadler
Burkhard Stiller
Daniel Swinehart
Jorge Tellez
Szymon Trocha
Venu Vasudevan
Elvis Vieira

Carlos B. Westphall

Yong Zhang Xiaoliang Zhao Wolfgang Zimmer Simon Znaty

Douglas Zuckerman