Preface

The field of Cryptology witnessed a revolution in the late seventies. Since then it has been expanded into an important and exciting area of research. Over the last two decades, India neither participated actively nor did it contribute significantly towards the development in this field. However, recently a number of active research groups engaged in important research and developmental work have crystalized in different parts of India. As a result, their interaction with the international crypto community has become necessary. With this backdrop, it was proposed that a conference on cryptology – INDOCRYPT, be organized for the first time in India. The Indian Statistical Institute was instrumental in hosting this conference. INDOCRYPT has generated a large amount of enthusiasm amongst the Indians as well as the International crypto communities. An INDOCRYPT steering committee has been formed and the committee has plans to make INDOCRYPT an annual event.

For INDOCRYPT 2000, the program committee considered a total of 54 papers and out of these 25 were selected for presentation. The conference program also included two invited lectures by Prof. Adi Shamir and Prof. Eli Biham.

These proceedings include the revised versions of the 25 papers accepted by the program committee. These papers were selected from all the submissions based on originality, quality and relevance to the field of Cryptology. Revisions were not checked and the authors bear the full responsibility for the contents of the papers in these proceedings.

The selection of the papers was a very difficult and challenging task. I wish to thank all the Program Committee members who did an excellent job in reviewing the papers and providing valuable feedback to the authors. Each submission was reviewed by at least three (only a few by two) reviewers. The program committee was assisted by many colleagues who reviewed submissions in their areas of expertise. The list of external reviewers has been provided separately. My thanks go to them all.

My sincere thanks goes to Springer-Verlag, in particular to Mr. Alfred Hofmann, for the inclusion of the seminar proceedings in their prestigious series Lecture Notes in Computer Science. I am also indebted to Prof. Jacques Stern, Prof. Jennifer Seberry, and Prof. Cunsheng Ding for giving their valuable advise and suggestions towards making the publication of the proceedings of INDOCRYPT 2000 possible.

I gratefully acknowledge financial support from different organizations towards making INDOCRYPT 2000 a success. The contributors were AgniRoth (California, USA), Tata Conusltancy Service (Calcutta, India), CMC Limited (New Delhi, India), Cognizant Technology Solutions (Calcutta, India), Gemplus (Bangalore, India), Ministry of Information Technology (Govt. of India), and IDRBT (Hyderabad, India). I once again thank them all.

In organizing the scientific program and putting together these proceedings I have been assisted by many people. In particular I would like to thank Subhamoy Maitra, Sarbani Palit, Arindom De, Kishan Chand Gupta, and Sandeepan Chowdhury.

VI Preface

Finally I wish to thank all the authors who submitted papers, making this conference possible, and the authors of successful papers for updating their papers in a timely fashion, making the production of these proceedings possible.

December 2000

Bimal Roy

Program Co-chairs

Bimal Roy	Indian Statistical Institute, India	
Eiji Okamoto	University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA	
General Co-chairs		
Cunsheng Ding	Hong Kong University of Science & Technology,	

Hong Kong Institute of Mathematical Sciences, India

Organizing Committee Chair

Rajeev L. Karandikar

R. Balasubramaniam

Indian Statistical Institute, India

Program Committee

R. Balasubramaniam Rana Barua Don Beaver Thomas A. Berson Paul Camion Cunsheng Ding	Institute of Mathematical Sciences, India Indian Statistical Institute, India Certco, USA Anagram Laboratories, USA CNRS, France Hong Kong University of Science & Tecnology, Hong Kong
K. Gopalakrishnan	East Carolina University, USA
Tor Helleseth	University of Bergen, Norway
Thomas Johansson	University of Lund, Sweden
Charanjit S. Jutla	IBM, T. J. Watson Lab, USA
Rajeev L. Karandikar	Indian Statistical Institute, India
Kwang Jo Kim	Information & Communications University, Korea
Andrew M. Klapper	University of Kentucky, USA
Arjen Lenstra	Citibank, USA
Tsutomu Matsumoto	Yokohama National University, Japan
Alfred Menezes	University of Waterloo, Canada
Ron Mullin	University of Waterloo, Canada
Phong Nguyen	ENS, France
Eiji Okamoto	University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
Tatsuaki Okamoto	NTT Labs, Japan
Dingyi Pei	Chinese Academy of Science, China
Radha Poovendran	University of Maryland, USA
Bart Preneel	COSIC, Belgium
Bimal Roy	Indian Statistical Institute, India
Palash Sarkar	Indian Statistical Institute, India
P. K. Saxena	SAG, India
Jennifer Seberry K. Sikdar	University of Wollongong, Australia
Jacques Stern	Indian Statistical Institute, India ENS, France
C. E. Veni Madhavan	Indian Institute of Sciences, India
M. Vidyasagar	Tata Consultancy Services, India
Michael Wiener	Entrust Technologies, Canada

Organizing Committee

Aditya Bagchi	Indian Statistical Institute, India
V. P. Gulati	IDRBT, India
Rajeev L. Karandikar	Indian Statistical Institute, India
Subhamoy Maitra	Indian Statistical Institute, India
Mandar Mitra	Indian Statistical Institute, India
Sarbani Palit	Indian Statistical Institute, India
Bimal Roy	Indian Statistical Institute, India
M. Vidyasagar	Tata Consultancy Services, India
K. S. Vijayan	Indian Statistical Institute, India

List of External Reviewers

Aditya Bagchi S S Bedi A K Bhateja Carlo Blundo Johan Borst Antoon Bosselaers Dr Chris Charnes Suresh Chari Patrik Ekdahl Shai Halevi Fredrik Jnsson Mike Just Meena Kumari Subhamov Maitra Nasir D. Memon Serge Mister Mandar Mitra Anish Ch. Mukherjee Pinakpani Pal Sarbani Palit Matthew Parker Enes Pasalic Rajesh Pillai David Pointcheval Havard Raddum Pankaj Rohatgi Reihaneh Safavi-Naini Yuriy Tarannikov Serge Vaudenav Frederik Vercauteren Robert Zuccherato

Indian Statistical Institute. India SAG,India SAG, India Universita di Salerno, Italy. Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium University of Melbourne, Australia IBM, T. J. Watson Lab, USA Lund University, Lund, Sweden IBM, T. J. Watson Lab, USA Lund University, Lund, Sweden Entrust Technologies, Canada SAG, India Indian Statistical Institute, India Polytechnic University, New York, USA. Entrust Technologies, Canada Indian Statistical Institute, India Indian Statistical Institute, India Indian Statistical Institute, India Indian Statistical Institute, India University of Bergen, Norway Lund University, Lund, Sweden SAG, India ENS, France University of Bergen, Norway IBM, T. J. Watson Lab, USA University of Wollongong, Australia Moscow State University, Russia EPFL, France Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium Entrust Technologies, Canada