Preface

The papers in this volume were presented at PARA 2000, the Fifth International Workshop on Applied Parallel Computing. PARA 2000 was held in Bergen, Norway, June 18-21, 2000. The workshop was organized by Parallab and the Department of Informatics at the University of Bergen. The general theme for PARA 2000 was New paradigms for HPC in industry and academia focusing on:

- High-performance computing applications in academia and industry,
- The use of Java in high-performance computing,
- Grid and Meta computing,
- Directions in high-performance computing and networking,
- Education in Computational Science.

The workshop included 9 invited presentations and 39 contributed presentations. The PARA 2000 meeting began with a one-day tutorial on OpenMP programming led by Timothy Mattson. This was followed by a three-day workshop.

The first three PARA workshops were held at the Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Lyngby (1994, 1995, and 1996). Following PARA'96, an international steering committee for the PARA meetings was appointed and the committee decided that a workshop should take place every second year in one of the Nordic countries. The 1998 workshop was held at Umeå University, Sweden. One important aim of these workshops is to strengthen the ties between HPC centers, academia, and industry in the Nordic countries as well as worldwide. The University of Bergen organized the 2000 workshop and the next workshop in the year 2002 will take place at the Helsinki University of Technology, Espoo, Finland.

October 2000

Tor Sørevik Fredrik Manne Randi Moe Assefaw Hadish Gebremedhin

Organization

PARA 2000 was organized by the Department of Informatics at the University of Bergen and by Parallab.

Organizing Committee

Conference Chair: Petter Bjørstad (University of Bergen, Norway)
Local Organization: Assefaw Hadish Gebremedhin (University of

Bergen, Norway)

Fredrik Manne (University of Bergen, Norway) Randi Moe (University of Bergen, Norway) Synnøve Palmstrøm (University of Bergen,

Norway)

Tor Sørevik (University of Bergen, Norway) Aase Spieler (University of Bergen, Norway)

Steering Committee

Petter Bjørstad University of Bergen (Norway)

PARA 2000 Chairman

Jack Dongarra University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge

National Laboratory (USA)

Björn Engquist PDC, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm

(Sweden)

Kristjan Jonasson University of Iceland, Reykjavik (Iceland) Kari Laasonen Center for Scientific Computing, Espoo

(Finland)

Bo Kågström Umeå University and HPC2N (Sweden),

PARA'98 Chairman

Risto Nieminen Helsinki University of Technology, Espoo

(Finland)

Karstein Sørli SINTEF, Dept of Industrial Mathematics,

Trondheim (Norway)

Jerzy Waśniewski Danish Computing Centre for Research and

Education (UNI•C), Lyngby (Denmark),

PARA'94-'96 Chairman

VIII Organization

Sponsoring Institutions

The City of Bergen The Research Council of Norway (NFR) Sun Microsystems AS, Norway SGI Norge AS, Norway The University of Bergen