Preface

This volume contains the 28 papers presented at ESOP 2001, the Tenth European Symposium on Programming, which took place in Genova, Italy, April 4–6, 2001. The ESOP series began in 1986, and addresses both practical and theoretical issues in the design, specification, and analysis of programming languages and systems.

The call for ESOP 2001 encouraged papers addressing (but not limited to)

- Programming paradigms (including functional, logic, concurrent, and objectoriented) and their integration;
- Semantics with applications to the development of correct, secure, and efficient software and systems;
- Advanced type systems, program analysis, program transformation.

The volume begins with two invited contributions. The first contribution belongs to ETAPS as a whole, and accompanies the "unifying" ETAPS invited talk given by Luca Cardelli. The second contribution is from the ESOP invited speaker, John Mitchell. The remaining 26 papers were selected by the program committee from the 76 submissions, and include one short paper which accompanied a tooldemo presentation.

Each submission was reviewed by at least three referees, and papers were selected in the latter stages of a two week discussion phase. My thanks to the members of the program committee and other referees for their hard work. Thanks also to Christian Probst for help with the conference management software, and to Don Sannella for steering the ETAPS ship so smoothly.

January 2001 David Sands

Organization

Program Chair

David Sands Chalmers and Göteborg University, Sweden

Program Committee

Martín Abadi Bell Labs, USA

Radhia Cousot CNRS and École Polytechnique, France

Mads Dam KTH Kista, Sweden
Andrew D. Gordon Microsoft Research, UK
Robert Harper CMU Pittsburgh, USA

Nevin Heintze Bell Labs, USA
Daniel Le Métayer Trusted Logic, France

Florence Maraninchi Grenoble I/Verimag, France

Catuscia Palamidessi Penn State, USA

Mooly Sagiv Tel-Aviv University, Israel

David Sands Chalmers and Göteborg University, Sweden
Peter Sestoft KVL and ITU Copenhagen, Denmark
Harald Søndergaard The University of Melbourne, Australia

Additional Referees

Johan Agat Karine Altisen Pierre Berlioux Bruno Blanchet Valentin Bonnard Glenn Bruns Michele Bugliesi Luca Cardelli Giuseppe Castagna Jan Cederquist Thomas Colcombet Seth Copen Goldstein Agostino Cortesi Patrick Cousot Karl Crary Olivier Danvy Ewen Denney Nachum Dershowitz Nurit Dor Tyson Dowd Conal Elliot Martin Elsman Jérôme Feret Cedric Fournet Pascal Fradet Nissim Francez Lars-Ake Fredlund Stephen Freund Roberto Giacobazzi Pabla Giambiagi Kevin Glynn Gregor Goessler

Orna Grumberg

Dilian Gurov Jörgen Gustavsson Thomas Hallgren Gregoire Hamon John Hannan Fritz Henglein Charles Hymans Daniel Jackson Thomas Jensen Mark P. Jones Simon Jones Jan Juriens Per Kreuger John Lamping Cosimo Laneve Julia Lawall Peter Lee Bjorn Lisper Francesco Logozzo Renaud Marlet Andres Martinelli Damien Massé Laurent Mauborgne Antoine Miné David Monniaux Laurent Mounier Lee Naish Xavier Nicollin Thomas Noll

Martin Odersky Richard O'Keefe

Catherine Oriat

Dino Oliva

Gordon Pace Joachim Parrow Simon Peyton Jones Frank Pfenning François Pottier K. V. S. Prasad Elisa Quintarelli C.R. Ramakrishnan Francesco Ranzato Julian Rathke Jakob Rehof Jon Riecke Hanne Riis Nielson Claudio Russo Andrei Sabelfeld Francesca Scozzari Ran Shaham Vitaly Shmatikov Zoltan Somogvi Fausto Spoto Peter J. Stuckev Martin Sulzmann Mario Südholt Tommy Thorn Frank Valencia Biorn Victor Ramesh Viswanathan

Jan Vitek

Jose-Luis Vivas

Amiram Yehudai

Gianluigi Zavattaro

David Walker

Eran Yahav