### **Preface**

Since the late 1980s, the CAiSE conferences have provided a forum for the presentation and exchange of research results and practical experiences within the field of Information Systems Engineering. CAiSE 2001 was the 13th conference in this series and was held from 4th to 8th June 2001 in the resort of Interlaken located near the three famous Swiss mountains – the Eiger, Mönch, and Jungfrau.

The first two days consisted of pre-conference workshops and tutorials. The workshop themes included requirements engineering, evaluation of modeling methods, data integration over the Web, agent-oriented information systems, and the design and management of data warehouses. Continuing the tradition of recent CAiSE conferences, there was also a doctoral consortium. The pre-conference tutorials were on the themes of e-business models and XML application development.

The main conference program included three invited speakers, two tutorials, and a panel discussion in addition to presentations of the papers in these proceedings. We also included a special 'practice and experience' session to give presenters an opportunity to report on and discuss experiences and investigations on the use of methods and technologies in practice.

We extend our thanks to the members of the program committee and all other referees without whom such conferences would not be possible. The program committee, whose members came from 20 different countries, selected 27 high-quality research papers and 3 experience reports from a total of 97 submissions. The topics of these papers span the wide-range of topics relevant to information systems engineering – from requirements and design through to implementation and operation of complex and dynamic systems.

We also take this opportunity to thank all other individuals who helped make this conference possible. These include of course all authors, invited speakers, tutorial presenters, and panel members who found the interest and time in a busy schedule to prepare material and come to Interlaken. We also thank all the organizations who provided financial support. Last but not least, we thank all the individuals involved in the local conference organization whose efforts are mainly behind the scenes, but do not go unnoticed. Finally, we thank the participants and hope that they found the journey to Interlaken worthwhile and that they will be encouraged to return to CAiSE in future years.

March 2001 Moira Norrie

# CAiSE 2001 Organization

### **Advisory Committee**

Janis Bubenko Jr.

Kungl. Tekniska Högskolan, Stockholm, Sweden Arne Sölvberg

The Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim,
Norway

General Chair

**Program Chair** 

Moira Norrie ETH Zurich, Switzerland Klaus R. Dittrich University of Zurich, Switzerland

Panel and Tutorial Chair Workshop and Poster Chair Organizing Committee

Michel Leonard University of Geneva, Switzerland Stefano Spaccapietra EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland Carl A. Zehnder Andrea Lombardoni Beat Signer ETH Zurich, Switzerland

## Program Committee

Witold Abramowicz University of Poznan, Poland Hans-Jürgen Appelrath University of Oldenburg, Germany

Alex Borgida Rutgers University, USA

Sjaak Brinkkemper Baan Company R&D, The Netherlands

Janis Bubenko Royal Institute of Technology and Stockholm

University, Sweden

Silvana Castana University of Milan, Italy Panos Constantopoulos University of Crete, Greece

Jan Dietz Delft University of Technology, The Nether-

lands

Klaus Dittrich (Chair) University of Zurich, Switzerland Mariagrazia Fugini Politecnico di Milano, Italy Antonio Furtado PUC, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Andreas Geppert University of Zurich, Switzerland Martin Glinz University of Zurich, Switzerland Jean-Luc Hainaut University of Namur, Belgium Juhani Iivari University of Oulu, Finland Stefan Jablonski University of Erlangen, Germany Christian S. Jensen University of Aalborg, Denmark Manfred Jeusfeld Tilburg University, The Netherlands

Paul Johannesson Stockholm University and Royal Institute of

Technology, Sweden

Gerti Kappel Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria

Pericles Loucopoulos UMIST, United Kingdom

Kalle Lyytinen University of Jyväskylä, Finland

Neil Maiden City University, England

Michele Missikoff IASI-CNR, Italy

John Mylopoulos University of Toronto, Canada Oscar Nierstrasz University of Berne, Switzerland Andreas Oberweis University of Frankfurt, Germany

Antoni Olivè Polytechnical University of Catalunya, Spain

Andreas Opdahl University of Bergen, Norway

Norman Paton University of Manchester, United Kingdom

Barbara Pernici Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Alain Pirotte University of Louvain, Belgium
Klaus Pohl University of Essen, Germany
Colette Rolland University of Paris 1, France

Michel Scholl INRIA, France

Michael Schrefl Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria Amilcar Sernadas Technical University of Lisboa, Portugal Arne Sølvberg Norwegian Institute of Technology, Norway

Martin Staudt Swiss Life, Switzerland

Rudi Studer University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Costantinos Thanos CNR-IEI, Italy

### VIII Organization

Aphrodite Tsalgatidou Yannis Vassiliou

Yair Wand Benkt Wangler Tony Wasserman University of Athens, Greece

National Technical University of Athens,

Greece

University of British Columbia, Canada

University of Skoevde, Sweden Bluestone Software, USA

### **External Referees**

Joseph Barjis Per Backlund Stavros J Beis Roel van den Berg Terje Brasethvik Carlos Caleiro Jaelson Castro Dariusz Ceglarek Luiz Marcio Cysneiros Mohamed Dahchour Daniela Damm Ruxandra Domenig Michael Erdmann Paula Gouveia Marco Grawunder Åsa Grehag Tony Griffiths Luuk Groenewegen Volker Guth Naji Habra Arne Harren Jean Henrard Olaf Herden Michael Hess Patrick Heymans Holger Hinrichs

Bart-Jan Hommes Andreas Hotho Marijke Janssen Elisabeth Kapsammer Panos Kardasis Pawel Jan Klaczvñski Konstantin Knorr Manuel Kolp Minna Koskinen Gerhard Kramler Thorsten Lau Stephan Lechner Angeliki Lempesi Kirsten Lenz Mauri Leppnen Bin Liu Jianguo Lu Paul Mallens David Massart Paulo Mateus Massimo Mecella Torben B. Pedersen Nikos Prekas Guenter Preuner Jaime Ramos

Johannes Ryser

Motoshi Saeki Simonas Saltenis Carina Sandmann Guido Schimm Jürgen Schlegelmilch Kostas Sifakis Paulo Pinheiro da Silva Eva Söderström Anva Sotiropoulou Marcel Spruit Steffen Staab Nenad Stojanovic Mattias Strand Gerd Stumme Xiaomeng Su Heiko Tapken Thomas Thalhammer Dimitris Theotokis Halvard Traetteberg Anca Vaduva Costas Vassilakis Krzysztof Wêcel Harald Haibo Xiao

Arian Zwegers