Preface

The International Conference on Networking (ICN01) is the first conference in its series aimed at stimulating technical exchange in the emerging and important field of networking. On behalf of the International Advisory Committee, it is our great pleasure to welcome you to the International Conference on Networking. Integration of fixed and portable wireless access into IP and ATM networks presents a cost effective and efficient way to provide seamless end-to-end connectivity and ubiquitous access in a market where demands on Mobile and Cellular Networks have grown rapidly and predicted to generate billions of dollars in revenue. The deployment of broadband IP - based technologies over Dense Wavelength Division Multiplexing (DWDM) and integration of IP with broadband wireless access networks (BWANs) are becoming increasingly important. In addition, fixed core IP/ATM networks are constructed with recent move to IP/MPLS over DWDM. More over, mobility introduces further challenges in the area that have neither been fully understood nor resolved in the preceding network generation. This first Conference ICN01 has been very well perceived by the International networking community. A total of 300 papers from 39 countries were submitted, from which 168 have been accepted. Each paper has been reviewed by several members of the scientific Program Committee.

The program covers a variety of research topics which are of current interest, such as mobile and wireless networks, Internet, traffic control, QoS, switching techniques, Voice over IP (VoIP), optical networks, Differentiated and Integrated services, IP and ATM networks, routing techniques, multicasting and performance evaluation, testing and simulation and modeling. Together with four tutorials and four Keynote Speeches, these technical presentations will address the latest research results from the international industries and academia and reports on findings from mobile, satellite and personal communications on 3rd and 4th generation research projects and standardization.

We would like to thank the scientific program committee members and the referees. Without their support, the program organization of this conference would not have been possible. We are also indebted to many individuals and organizations that made this conference possible (Association "Colmar-Liberty", GdR CNRS ARP, Ministère de la Recherche, Université de Haute Alsace, Ville de Colmar, France Telecom, IEEE, IST, WSES). In particular, we thank the members of the Organizing Committee for their help in all aspects of the organization of this conference.

VI Preface

We wish that you will enjoy this International Conference on Networking at Colmar, France and that you will find it a useful forum for the exchange of ideas and results and recent findings. We also hope that you will be able to spend some times to visit Colmar, with its beautiful countryside and its major cultural attractions.

General Chair Pascal LORENZ University of Haute Alsace IUT de Colmar, France lorenz@ieee.org Technical Program Chair Guy OMIDYAR Center for Wireless Communications National University of Singapore, SG and Computer Sciences Corporation, USA gomidyar@cwc.nus.edu.sg

International Scientific Committee

- H. Abouaissa (France) University of Haute Alsace
- R. Addie (Australia) University of Southern Queensland
- K. Begain (UK) University of Bradford
- A. Benslimane (France) University of Belfort-Montbeliard
- B. Bing (Singapore) Ngee Ann Polytechnic
- A. Brandwajn (USA) University of California Santa Cruz
- J.P. Coudreuse (France) Mitsubishi
- J. Crowcroft (UK) University College London
- S. Fdida (France) LIP6
- E. Fulp (USA) Wake Forest University
- B. Gavish (USA) Vanderbilt University
- H. Guyennet (France) University of Franche-Comte
- Z. Hulicki (Poland) University of Cracow
- R. Israel (France) IEEE
- A. Jajszczyk (Poland) University of Mining & Metallurgy
- A. Jamalipour (Australia) University of Sydney
- S. Jiang (Singapore) National University of Singapore
- S. Karnouskos (Germany) GMD FOKUS
- G. Kesidis (USA) Pennsylvania State University
- D. Khotimsky (USA) Lucent Bell Labs
- D. Kofman (France) ENST Paris
- S. Kota (USA) Lockeed Martin
- D. Kouvatsos (UK) University of Bradford
- S. Kumar (USA) Ericsson
- G.S. Kuo (Taiwan) National Central University
- F. Le Faucheur (France) Cisco
- M. Lee (Korea) Dongshin University
- P. Lorenz (France) University of Haute Alsace
- Z. Mammeri (France) University of Toulouse
- N. Mastorakis (Greece) Military Institutions of University Education
- H. Mouftah (Canada) Queen's University
- G. Omidyar (USA) Computer Sciences Corp. (Program Chair)
- J.J. Pansiot (France) University of Strasbourg
- M. Potts (Switzerland) Martel
- G. Pujolle (France) University of Versailles-Saint-Quentin
- S. Rao (Switzerland) Ascom
- A. Reid (UK) British Telecom
- S. Ritzenthaler (France) Alcatel
- P. Rolin (France) ENST Bretagne
- D. Sadok (Brazil) Federal University of Pernambuco
- R. Saracco (Italy) CSELT
- G. Swallow (USA) Cisco
- H. Tobiet (France) Clemessy
- M. Trehel (France) University of Franche-Comte

VIII Organization

V.A. Villagra (Spain) - University of Madrid E. Vazquez Gallo (Spain) - University of Madrid O. Yang (Canada) - University of Ottawa