Preface

The papers in this volume were presented at the Seventh Annual International Computing and Combinatorics Conference (COCOON 2001), held August 20-23, 2001, in Guilin, China. The topics cover most aspects of theoretical computer science and combinatorics related to computing. The conference was held in cooperation with the Chinese Academy of Sciences and China Computer Federation.

Submissions to the conference this year were conducted entirely online. A total of 97 papers were submitted in time to be considered, of which 50 regular papers and 16 short papers were selected by an international program committee consisting of Eric Allender, Bernard Chazelle, Danny Chen, Jianer Chen, Francis Chin, Kyung-Yong Chwa, Rod Downey, Erich Grädel, Yuri Gurevich, Steven Homer, Toshihide Ibaraki, Tao Jiang, Ker-I Ko, D.T. Lee, Xuemin Lin, Maurice Nivat, R. Ravi, Rüdiger Reischuk, Seinosuke Toda, Jie Wang, Lusheng Wang, Guoliang Xue, and Mihalis Yannakakis.

The authors of submitted papers come from the following countries and regions: Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Canada, China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), Czech Republic, France, Germany, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, The Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, U.K., and U.S.A. Each paper was given to at least three Program Committee members, who in some cases were assisted by subreferees. In addition to the selected papers, the conference also included two invited presentations by Bernard Chazelle and Avi Wigderson.

To promote young researchers, the Hao Wang Award this year was given to a paper selected from papers written solely by authors who, at the time of submission, were either students or had received their doctoral degrees within the previous five years. I am happy to announce that the recipient of this award was Xiang-Yang Li for his paper "Generating Well-Shaped d-Dimensional Delaunay Meshes".

I would like to thank the program committee co-chair Yuri Gurevich for his strong support and all program committee members, their support staff, and subreferees for their excellent work within demanding time constraints. I would also like to thank all authors for submitting their papers to the conference. I am grateful to Steve Tate for letting me use the ACM SIGACT electronic submission service, Minghui Li for helping me create conference web pages, and Richard Cheek for providing system support. Finally, I would like to express my gratitude to Ding-Zhu Du, Xudong Hu, and all local organizers for their hard work in making this meeting possible and enjoyable.

August 2001

Jie Wang

Program Committee Chairs:

Yuri Gurevich, Microsoft Research, USA Jie Wang, University of Massachusetts Lowell, USA

Program Committee Members:

Eric Allender, Rutgers University, USA Bernard Chazelle, Princeton University, USA Danny Z. Chen, University of Notre Dame, USA Jianer Chen, Texas A&M University, USA Francis Chin, University of Hong Kong, China Kyung-Yong Chwa, Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology, Korea Rod Downey, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand Erich Grädel, Aachen University of Technology, Germany Steven Homer, Boston University, USA Toshihide Ibaraki, Kyoto University, Japan Tao Jiang, University of California at Riverside, USA Ker-I Ko, State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA D.T. Lee, Academy of Science, Taiwan Xuemin Lin, University of New South Wales, Australia Maurice Nivat, University of Paris, France R. Ravi, Carnegie Mellon University, USA Rüdiger Reischuk, University of Lübeck, Germany Seinosuke Toda, Nihon University, Japan Lusheng Wang, City University of Hong Kong, China Guoliang Xue, University of Vermont, USA Mihalis Yannakakis, Bell Labs, USA

Referees:

Dorit Aharonov	Guojun Li	C. K. Poon
Klaus Ambos-Spies	Xue Li	John Shepherd
Douglas Bridges	Yanjun Li	Amitabh Sinha
Marek Chrobak	Yifan Li	S. Skiena
Xiaotie Deng	Weifa Liang	Michael Trick
Bjarni Halldorsson	Shuang Luan	Klaus Wagner
Patrick Healy	Catherine McCartin	C.A. Wang
John Hine	Anil Nerode	Wenping Wang
Yingping Huang	Ojas Parekh	Xiaodong Wu
Xiaohua Jia	Chong-Dae Park	Baogang Xu
Ming-Yang Kao	Jung-Heum Park	Yuansheng Yang
Jochen Konemann	Kunsoo Park	Dongmo Zhang