Contents

	Illustrations	ix
	Acknowledgments	xi
	Introduction	I
	Prologue: The Lloyd George Coalition, 1918-22	12
I	The Aftermath of Coalition, 1922-23	28
2	Liberal Reunion, 1922–3	53
3	The First Labour Government, 1924	80
4	Lloyd George under Asquith, 1924–6	107
5	Lloyd George, Asquith and the General Strike, 1926	136
6	Lloyd George as Liberal Leader, 1, 1927-8	157
7	The Liberal 'Yellow Book'	183
8	Lloyd George as Liberal Leader, II, 1928–9	206
9	The Second Labour Government, I, 1929-30	240
10	The Second Labour Government, II, 1930-31	269
11	The Formation of the National Government, 1931	297
	Notes	316
	Bibliography	359
	Index	367