CONTENTS

		Page
Dedication		v
Biographica	l Notes on the Author	vii
Foreword		ix
Preface		xi
I	First Period: Foundation of the Benin Empire	1
II	Evian	5
III	The coming of Prince Oranmiyan and the opening of the Second Period (c. 1170 A.D.)	6
IV	The Second Period: Eweka I (c. 1200) Uwakhuahe and Ehenmihen	n 8
V	Ewędo (c. 1255)	9
VI	Oguola (c. 1280), Edoni (c. 1295) and Udagbędo (c. 1299)	11
VII	Ohen (c. 1334), Ęgbeka (c. 1370), Orobiru and Uwaifiokun	12
VIII	Ewuare the Great (c. 1440)	13
IX	Ezoti and Olua (c. 1473)	19
X	Ozolua (c. 1481)	22
XI	Esigie (1504)	26
XII	Orhogbua (c. 1550)	29
XIII	Ehengbuda (c. 1578)	30
XIV	Ohuan (c. 1606)	33
XV	Ahenzae (c. 1641), Akenzae (c. 1661) and Akengb (c. 1669)	ooi 34
XVI	Ahenkpaye (c. 1675), Akengbedo (c. 1684) and Oreoghene (c. 1689)	35
XVII	Ewuakpe (c. 1700)	37
XVIII	Ozuere (1712) and Akenzua I (1713)	39
XIX	Eresoyen (c. 1735)	40
XX	Akengbuda (c. 1750)	41
XXI	Obanosa (c. 1804)	42
XXII	Ogbębo and Osemwede (c. 1816)	43
XXIII	Adolo (1848)	46

XXIV	Ovonramwen (1888)	48
XXV	The surrender, trial and deportation of the King	51
XXVI	The new system of Government	59
XXVII	The death of Oba Ovonramwen	60
XXVIII	The third period: Eweka II (1914)	61
XXIX	Akenzua II (1933)	63
PPENDI	CES	
I	Benin Sovereigns	73
II	Edaiken of Uselu	74
III	Iyoba of Uselu	75
IV	Famous Uvbi (Princesses) of Benin	76
V	Benin titles	76
VI	Leaders of various State Councils, etc.	78
VII	The Ancient Form of Government	79
VIII	Ancient Wars	80
IX	Morning salutations	8
X	Days of the week	82
XI	The moats	83
XII	Fusion of tribes	8
XIII	Treaty with the British Government 26 March 1892	80
XIV	List of District Heads, Benin Division	8
XV	Chronological Table of Events	9
XVI	Governors, High Commissioners, etc.	9

A